We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We spent a few nights here on a stopover on the way to Maui. They have a few different size rooms which was odd to me for a Hyatt Place. The room we got was very small and cramped, and I could barely fit between the bed and the dresser. The hotel was clean and offered free breakfast which was nice. Valet parking can be expensive so we parked in the garage across the street which saved us a bit of cash and was still very convenient.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank chuckmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,142 - 2,148 of 3,205 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was NOT expecting much from a Hyatt Place especially in Waikiki but this place way exceeded my expectations. Overall friendly and good location to get in and out of Waikiki. It is next to the Zoo so if you know your way around there, you can get our of town OR if you want the night life, it is walking distance.

The front desk was a bit swamped and it slowed service a bit but they made things "right." I called and they said my room was ready, but when I got there, they had the wrong room, but we were allowed to check in to that room, took a shower, then when when we were at dinner, they moved our bags to the right room! More service than I expected.

The room as nice too...Two queens and a pull out. Not great view, but that was not what I was expecting. There are nice views to be had on the east/zoo side. The towels were plush and beds crisp and comfortable. The breakfast was awesome..Japanese and western style. The breakfast was so good, that it forced me to use the workout room, which was nice too.

Not great amenities in the hotel, but good short walking access to all you would need.

I WOULD stay there again. Not a luxury hotel, but when in Hawaii, I am running around.

Room Tip: East/Zoo side has the views if you are in the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TahmiJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Aloha TahmiJoh- Mahalo for the wonderful review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our a.m. Kitchen Skillet and comfortable Hyatt Grand bedding. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach on your next return the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach in March, 2013, and thought my room was fabulous. It was a huge room! It has a king bed, couch, and love seat. My room would have easily accommodated four adults with no crowding. A complimentary daily breakfast was included. The staff was extremely kind and courteous. I usually prefer staying right on the beach, but the price was so good here, the view from the side sufficed. The beach is a short walk with wonderful breezes. (If you have a good haircut, you will never need to dry your hair, and it will fall into place perfectly!) We have stayed at other wonderful hotels in the area, but this is the one I will chose to stay at again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JodyBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Aloha JodyBelle- Mahalo for the wonderful feedback! We sincerely appreciate you acknowledging our friendly team members, spacious guest room, and gorgeous views of Waikiki. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you have already chosen to stay with us again on your next return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

As a business traveler, I needed relatively low cost accommodations that had lots of amenities. Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach was better than expected. The hotel itself is in close proximity to pretty much everything.

I had a room where you could see the ocean off in the distance, the hotel itself is an easy few blocks from the beach. Heating/Cooling worked great and the room had a small balcony. Overall, it was roomy and comfortable and I could not hear noise from the other rooms.

Breakfast is free (Yeah!) and there is plenty to eat. Yes, it does get busy at the buffet line but you’ll still get plenty to eat. ABC stores, there is one on every corner in Waikiki but this one has one right around the corner that’s open late.

Parking - Valet is a $30 a night. Typically, I hate paying for parking but everyone charges for it in Waikiki and with the area being really crowded, it kind of makes a valet a necessity. This being said, I didn't tip the valets once and still received phenomenal service. They’re a great bunch of guys and really hardworking too. The only caveat is if you are headed out in the morning, there may be several folks waiting for their car.

If I come back to Waikiki, this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdvTravelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Aloha AdvTravelR- It gives us great pleasure to see that you have designated us as your 1st choice hotel in Waikiki. We pride ourselves on our consistent service efforts and value proposition. Our modern amenities, convenient location, and friendly staff are what makes our hotel stand out among the rest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Location a bit down the Waikiki strip. Room was typical Hyatt Place, very roomy. Free breakfast was excellent, good variety and nice pool outdoor location. Friendly helpful staff. Activities desk person had good knowledge of Honolulu and book exactly what I wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tkarpinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Checking in was quite the circus since a high school band (like 200 + people in the lobby) had also just arrived. But the receptionist got us into a great room and I found this to probably be one of the CLEANEST hotels I have ever stayed at, and I am REALLY picky. The linens were so soft and fresh, the room was a great size. Ours came with continental breakfast, which also was decent. Nick the bartender was especially helpful because we were running late for an outing and I wanted to fill up my Nalgene before going out (with tap water and ice from the ice machine) but had forgotten and didn't really want to trudge upstairs to do so since I had already had the valet go get my car. Nick was super nice and filled up both my Nalgene bottles from the bar. Super nice. Great hotel. Awesome staff. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelKiwi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

MelKiwi_10- Mahalo for sharing your great feedback with us. We pride ourselves on our pristine accommodations and exceptional service. It gives us great pleasure to read that Nick went above and beyond for you while you were here. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it has been on the beach! Although redecorated 2 years ago, the rooms look like they were redone last week. The decor is very nice and the rooms are beautiful. The room we had, an upgraded queen room (1408), was very large with the bed area separated from the wrap around sofa area by a narrow divider. The carpet looked brand new, the bed linens were crisp and white, and the bath towels were large and thick. The bath featured a very large, thick glass walk-in shower with the shower/toilet room separated by a door from the very pretty sink area. The only negative was that the sink area opened into the bedroom (no door) and one light switch turned on the sink area and shower/toilet area lights. So, if anyone turned on the light switch to use the toilet during the night, the bedroom lighted up. A large safe in the closet was appreciated. The hotel staff from curb to reception to housekeeping was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included. It was probably the best complementary breakfast I've had in a hotel with delicious fresh squeezed orange juice and numerous hot and cold breakfast items all well cooked and presented, and served in a beautiful setting on the open air swim pool deck of the hotel. The free Wi-Fi in our room was fast, and computers were available (free) in the lobby for printing boarding passes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelTalk4You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

TravelTalk4You- Mahalo for the wonderful feedback! We enjoyed reading how much you appreciated our well-appointed accommodations, contemporary decor and crisp linens. It is very flattering to read that you found our breakfast to be the best you've ever had when staying at a hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,685 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,242 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
508 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £149 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing