We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,792)
Filter reviews
3,792 results
Traveller rating
1,765
1,439
413
116
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,765
1,439
413
116
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free breakfast waikiki beach the breakfast area kimchi yogurt self parking abc store two blocks across the street diamond head ocean view honolulu zoo every morning sofa bed pineapple third floor short walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
2,651 - 2,656 of 3,792 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Smaller sized rooms, yes, but great value! Super close to the beach, Waikiki strip, ABC stores, restaurants, bus lines, the zoo, moped rentals (which are fantastic btw). Not much that wasn't in the hotel or a quick walk away.

The gentleman that checked us in was great! We had a complicated set of reservations since it was booked using rewards points and regular payment.

We ate at the gallery the first day we arrived and the food was great, pricey of course because you're in a hotel (#1) and in Hawaii (#2). That also contributes to the size of the rooms since space is so limited on the island, not sure why people coming about things that are out of one's control.

We don't like using housekeeping services so I can't comment on that but the one day we did need to stock up on everything, the housekeeper was extremely friendly and organzied.

The pool was fine, small yes but again that goes with space limitation. It was clean and the area was well kept.

Breakfast should not be anything one complains about. They have a variety of items daily and always well stocked along with friendly staff that have to clean up after adults who think they have maids!! There are birds present obviously because it is outside but if you don't drop your food or feed them they won't bother you, even if you do they only want the food (NOT YOU!) They have had the best selection I've seen for complimentary breakfast, another reason to not complain.

Our stay was fabulous and it upsets me to know that people are so meticulous and harsh in their reviews as if they are staying at a resort. Thank you for the great service, clean room, and wonderful honeymoon.

Mahalo.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank MrsH1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Ashlee G - Mahalo for taking the time to tell us about your recent honeymoon experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We enjoyed reading how much you appreciated our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet variety during your stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another fabulous experience again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Nice big rooms, very clean, front desk staff answer your questions but not overly personable.
Nice beach at top of street...bit of a walk from main street. Stayed at two other hotels in Waikiki and this had the second best room. Probably would stay again or maybe somewhere in the centre of town.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mm90028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed just one night in this hotel as a stop over. The room size was fantastic, and the rooms were clean and nice. A little corporate, but overall great.

Other reviewers complained about the speed and availability of elevators, but this was not a problem for me for such a short stay . I could see how it might get frustrating for longer stay/ or if travelling with children etc.

Staff very pleasant. Location great.

Date of stay: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Kelly F- Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach during your one-night layover in Waikiki!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here twice over the last two weeks and really enjoyed it.
The first time we were up on the 18th floor with a view of the ocean. Not being beachfront, there are a couple of buildings that partially obstruct the view, but we could see more than enough to get the Hawaiian 'vibe' going. The other advantage is that you can see down to the area where breakfast is served, cunningly timing things to go down when it is least busy. The second time we were on the city side with not much of a view, though a cheaper rate. Both of the rooms were big, clean and the bed very comfortable.
Breakfast was included in the cost and was pretty good. Other have mentioned the pigeons and they can be pretty full-on. Don't leave food on the table unguarded. The Hotel has tried putting shiny things around to deter them, but they do not seemed bothered. Short of a golf club being issued to everyone, I'm not sure of an easy solution. One of the staff (I think his name was Fred, apologies if incorrect) was a crack shot with a squirt bottle and there did not seem to be a problem when he was on patrol.
The staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions. Free and reliable WiFi was cool.
The location is excellent with the beach a few minutes walk away. The nearest section of beach also has a breakwater so pretty good for kids. Two of the Waikiki Trolley lines stop just up the road and I understand that one of the shuttles to Waikele stops outside.

Room tip: High floor ocean view well worth it
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SandscoIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

SandscolV- Mahalo for the great comments. We enjoyed reading about your previous stay with us. Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and convenient location in your review. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had Stayed in this hotel 2 years ago, i Think close to the opening and had a fantastic staying: booked city view room and got upgraded to ocean view room very large, without asking as a loyal GOLD passaport MEMBER. This time I Stayed 5 nights in august, booked an ocean view room and Was given a very small room on another tower. 2 people and the bags could Berely stay. Luckily we Stayed all day around but 250 dollars plus taxes is too much Even for waikiki for such a poor room. Hotel Was not full, Maybe because of hurricane, which didn't arrive. Breakfast a mess, Lot of people around in search of food, newspaper was received in the room one day yes another not. Dirty glasses in the room were never replaced. Stay away unless on discount price. No recognition for loyal clients. The best Was park valet: especially Paolo Was full of enthusiasm and Happy to serve. Maybe he should be the next general manager at hyatt....

Room tip: High floor away from elevator
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank italian_journalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

italian_journalist: It disappoints us to learn that your recent stay did not compare to your first time experience. It is our mission to make every guest experience an enjoyable one and we regret that your recent stay did not live up to that commitment. Please be assured that we value everyone one of our customers, and do everything to make sure their stay is as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews