We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,553)
Filter reviews
3,553 results
Traveller rating
1,644
1,358
393
104
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,644
1,358
393
104
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastwaikiki beachthe breakfast areakimchiyogurtself parkingacross the streettwo blocksocean viewabc storediamond headhonolulu zooevery morningpineapplethird floorsofa bedbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
2,435 - 2,440 of 3,553 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Only spent 1 night at Hyatt Place Waikiki (family 4 with 2 kids 9 & 13 yrs). Rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. Staff really helpful and friendly - even the morning of the Hurricane when breakfast was full to capacity, with nearly everything in Waikiki closed and gail force winds blowing. Hotel is a couple of blocks back from the beach, in a quiet location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunHol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

SunHol1- Mahalo for choosing to stay with us, especially during the hurricane! We appreciate you acknowledging our spacious guest rooms, friendly staff, and central location. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you would definitely stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our second stay to what I think is a well located hotel in Waikiki. However checkin has been a nightmare on both occasions. Each time we have arrived we have had to walk the streets to fill in several hours until our room was ready - OK- I can handle that. However each time on our return ready to book in the ocean view room we have paid for 2 adults with 2 queen beds ( and confirmed by email 2 days before arrival) has not been available. We were given a dark "king" bed room and as a passing comment told is we need help with the fold out let them know. Only after complaining ( which is degrading to all parties who happen to be in reception listening) was the room type which we booked available in 4 days time ( half way through our stay). After fronting back to the reception yet again waving the confirmation email ( which they claimed they didn't know who sent) were we able to get a room with two beds for 1 night and the type we actually booked for the rest. As this has happened twice I am starting to think they just take bookings regardless of availability then hope people are so tired from their flight they will accept any room. Breakfast is included which is a bonus however most items are sugary. I feel extremely sorry for the staff as it is constantly windy so they are always having to fish out items blown into the pool and shooing away birds stealing food. A little renovation or innovation to this area would make this experience more pleasant for all concerned. The rooms are a good size and clean however after this time I would think twice before I booked here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Austimum - Mahalo for your honest feedback. We always respect our guest's original room request, however, we cannot 100% guarantee this offer until the day of arrival. Depending on the current occupancy rate, we may be limited to the availability of these type of guest rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. We understand that the pigeons can be a burden sometimes, that is why we offer in-room trays for our guests to transport their food back to their room if they so choose. Please be assured of our best efforts to welcome you back and regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We went to Hawaii with my daughters marching band. It was a trip of a life time. For the total trip price we were not expecting too much in the way of the hotel. We were so pleasantly surprised. For one thing our group had 175 people. The hotel got us checked in with no problem. The hotel lobby was large enough for us to meet as a group. It was also open air with large fans. It made you want to sit and relax. There are several small shops to get drinks, snacks, gifts and common necessities. The rooms were clean and updated a few years ago and are very tastefully decorated. The employees were supper friendly and helpful and will even take pictures with you. The ONLY thing negative is the elevator. Here in the south would say they are slow as molasses! Be prepared to walk the stairs or wait at least 10 minutes for the elevator. Remember I said it was an open air lobby? Don't forget your room key because you have to have it to use the elevator, this is for safety reasons . There is a pretty nice breakfast provided every morning. Generally the meat is the only thing that changes. Of coarse there is always pineapple. There is also asian menu items provided. The breakfast is served outside on the patio by the pool. It was wonderful to be eating pineapple in Hawaii outside! There may not always be a place to sit but they have trays so you can take your breakfast back to your room. The hotel is not on the beach but it is a very short walk...a block. There are several restaurants nearby. Tiki's, Lulu's, Wolf Gang Puck express, and Starbucks are in short walking distance. There are many more for little bit longer distance walking. Cheeseburger in Paradise, Dukes, Hard Rock and jimmy Buffett's etc. There is an aquarium and zoo near by also. OH the beach! The hotel is close to surf board and paddle board rentals. You must take a catamaran ride. There is so much to do and you can walk to most of it right from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Chell1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Chell1971- Mahalo for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay! We appreciate you choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach with the entire marching band. The elevator tends to slow down during peak times at the hotel, especially during breakfast and check-out/in hours. We are happy that you enjoyed our central location and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet. It would be a pleasure to invite everyone back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Smaller sized rooms, yes, but great value! Super close to the beach, Waikiki strip, ABC stores, restaurants, bus lines, the zoo, moped rentals (which are fantastic btw). Not much that wasn't in the hotel or a quick walk away.

The gentleman that checked us in was great! We had a complicated set of reservations since it was booked using rewards points and regular payment.

We ate at the gallery the first day we arrived and the food was great, pricey of course because you're in a hotel (#1) and in Hawaii (#2). That also contributes to the size of the rooms since space is so limited on the island, not sure why people coming about things that are out of one's control.

We don't like using housekeeping services so I can't comment on that but the one day we did need to stock up on everything, the housekeeper was extremely friendly and organzied.

The pool was fine, small yes but again that goes with space limitation. It was clean and the area was well kept.

Breakfast should not be anything one complains about. They have a variety of items daily and always well stocked along with friendly staff that have to clean up after adults who think they have maids!! There are birds present obviously because it is outside but if you don't drop your food or feed them they won't bother you, even if you do they only want the food (NOT YOU!) They have had the best selection I've seen for complimentary breakfast, another reason to not complain.

Our stay was fabulous and it upsets me to know that people are so meticulous and harsh in their reviews as if they are staying at a resort. Thank you for the great service, clean room, and wonderful honeymoon.

Mahalo.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank MrsH1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Ashlee G - Mahalo for taking the time to tell us about your recent honeymoon experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We enjoyed reading how much you appreciated our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet variety during your stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another fabulous experience again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Nice big rooms, very clean, front desk staff answer your questions but not overly personable.
Nice beach at top of street...bit of a walk from main street. Stayed at two other hotels in Waikiki and this had the second best room. Probably would stay again or maybe somewhere in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mm90028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews