We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay at the Ohana East” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney,NSW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at the Ohana East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at this great hotel in October 2012 for 8 nights. We had 2 rooms, one was a one bedroom kitchenette suite and the second one was a regular room with 2 double beds. There was 3 of us in the one bedroom and it was sooooo roomy. There was an open area with the kitchenette and a table and chairs and a fold out sofa bed, as well as plenty of drawer space, a tv cabinet and a desk with a chair. The bedroom was huge and had 2 double beds, another tv, another desk and a large wardrobe/cupboard containing a safe and lots of hanging space. The bathroom was on the smallish side but in saying that, we were 3 ladies and we still had enough room for our toiletries and make up. You can also use either of the 2 desks too.
I can honestly say this room was fantastic. We were lucky enough to be on the 18th floor with a gorgeous view of both the mountains and partial ocean. We spent a lot of time on the lanai having quiet drinks or a morning coffee :)
We are Australian and we love to shop and there was lots of room for our shopping and many suitcases..lol.
My mother and sister were also on the 18th floor but in a regular size room. They did like their room and the view too but in all honesty, it is worth the extra money for the one bedroom suite if you intend to stay for a week or more. They stayed for 3 weeks and were very happy with the hotel in general.
Our flight arrived early and we knew our rooms would not be ready but we were greeted at the desk by Maile who is wonderful and has worked at the hotel for many many years. She told us our room numbers and said they would be ready in a couple of hours which they were after we had a yummy breakfast at Denny's and shopping at the Ross Dress for Less which is just a couple of blocks away.
The hotel location is perfect, it is on the corner of kuhio and kaiulani avenues. There are so many great places to eat within walking distance, everything from Denny's, Chillis, Cheesecake Factory, and way too many more to mention but you can get everything from a cheap meal in the food court of the international markets to a much more up market meal at nearby hotels on the beach.
You can walk to the beach easily, and in fact can walk to either end of Waikiki very easily. The Bus which is a very easy way to get around, stops across the road from the hotel but guests of the hotel can also use the pink trolley line for free which takes you around Waikiki and to Ala Moana shopping center which we spent a lot of time at...lol. We would highly recommend at least one visit to Ala Moana shopping center even if you are not shopaholics like us! :) It's a great mall, with a huge Sears, Macy's and hundreds of stores and a great food court.

The lobby of the hotel is big and welcoming and the front desk staff are very friendly, so are the maids. We felt very welcome and the staff were always happy to answer questions.
The pool area is great. The pool itself is a little on the cool side as it doesn't get the sun all day but it was lovely once you got in. There is also a jacuzzi which was very warm and relaxing. Lots of lounges and table and chairs, we were always able to get one easily. There is a lot of privacy at the pool as you can't access it from the street.
We ate at the pizza bar downstairs in the hotel and the food and drinks were great and very reasonably priced too. Keoni's is also in the hotel and they have a great breakfast. There is also a little coffee shop in the lobby.
Okay, so this is not a Sheraton or Hilton so please don't expect it to be. What you do get is a very well priced moderate hotel in a fantastic location of Waikiki. As I mentioned, we Aussies love to shop so we would much rather spend our money at all the great shipping malls (Ala Moana, Pearlridge, windward mall and of course Waikele outlets) and spend less on accomodation. But what we found at the ohana east was a fantastic hotel, great facilities, great parking (we rented a car for 5 days which I highly recommend) and the perfection location.
This was my 10th trip to Oahu and my mothers 24th trip, we always stay in moderately priced hotels and now that we have stayed at the Ohana East, I would never stay anywhere else. Would happily recommend this to anyone,

Thank you to the Ohana East for a wonderful, memorable stay. Hope to see you all again very soon :)

Room Tip: Would highly recommend paying a bit extra to get a one bedroom suite. Ask for a room at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CarlaAndFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Aloha Carla and Family from Sydney,

Mahalo for your review on TripAdvisor your great comments are greatly appreciated and we are glad your stay was enjoyable from start to end. We appreciate your honesty in describing the two rooms you were booked into and that you found both of them fantastic!
Maile is a long time employee and her knowledge of the hotel and the rooms are phenomenal, so we are glad she was able to have your rooms ready by the time you returned from breakfast.
It is true what you say about the hotel being in the perfect location as we are truly central to stores, restaurants shops and entertainment all within walkign distance not to mention the beach being 5 minutes away.
Thank you for acknowleding our front desk staff as being welcoming and friendly as well as the maids we will be sure to let them know of your compliments.

Once again thank you for your 5 star review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your 11th and moms 25th trip to Oahu.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    774
    320
    80
    48
See reviews for
510
618
122
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed 2 nights pre-cruise. Great location. Friendly staff. Very clean. We booked 5 months out and got a great rate for a Waikiki hotel. Would not hesitate to book again. Not a fancy place, but certainly adequate for our needs. Busy location, but we did not find it overly noisy. Free internet and phone calls to mainland were great amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous415_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for staying with us at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor your comments are greatly appreciated.

Island Regards,

OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
186 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

HI
Had a quick trip to Waikiki and choose this hotel for it's location. Very friendly staff. Security system in the elevator.
Room was basic and clean. My room had a shower and not a bath tub.
I turned off the central air because it was plenty cold.
Close to the bus stop and they gave me a trolley pass for the trolley to Ala Moana Shopping Center and Waikiki.
Close to the Foodland market.
Met Famous Amos next door selling cookies.
Had a great dinner downstairs at Chucks Steak House.
The bellman booked me a $10 air port transfer.
This hotel worked out perfectly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimgloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Aloha Jimgloria,

Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay here at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel. We do have a great staff here. Having to use your key in the elevator insures our guests safety. Glad you enjoyed Chuck's Cellar and that the hotel worked out perfectly for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

This was our first trip to Honolulu and I can agree with others that this hotel is outdated but hard to beat for the price and location. All the staff we encountered were very helpful also (we neeeded a can opener for our kitchenette and one was delivered to our room within minutes). Only complaints we had centered around the 2 days we had the room cleaned (bed was made but sheets not changed and the can liners were not replaced in trash cans...after I bagged the trash). We tried to spend all our time outside so I chalked these up as minor annoyances. I'll also mention you can hear the toilets flushing from other rooms sometimes (sounds comes from your bathroom) and yes, the bathrooms are tiny. We just wanted a good location for a decent price and we're not disappointed. If you want a modern place and a 4+ star experience, you'll definitely want to look somewhere else.

Ps, It's great having a kitchenette! We had a corner room on the 16th floor with 2 balconies (yes I know that's not what they call them out there). It was great to have a view of 2 different directions. Request a corner unit on a higher floor if possible (I emailed them a couple months before we arrived and Denise delivered!)

Room Tip: It's great having a kitchenette! We had a corner room on the 16th floor with 2 balconies (yes I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJames24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Aloha Adam K,

Mahalo for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel.

Your concerns about the changing of the bedding, trash and walls are valid concerns as we want our guest to be comfortable throughout their entire stay. We are glad all staff you encountered were very helpful. Also happy to hear Denise was able to help you thru your email requests.

We are hopeful that you will return to the islands and to the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel once more.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We have been here 3 times for the ProBowl and enjoy our stay here every time. It is reasonably priced and centrally located for us to walk to the places we like to go without having the expense of getting a rental car. If you do need a rental car, there are several you can rent and return the same day to save on overnight parking. The hotel has a Round Table Pizza downstairs and has a great food and drink happy hour from 3-6pm. The bathroom is a little small, the shower opening a tight fit, the bed a little hard, but for the price you can't beat it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Aloha Steve,

Mahalo for posting a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the OHANA Waikiki East! The management and staff would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review and rating us 5 stars! ProBowl is always a fun time to be here and yes the hotel is centrally located to restaurants, shops, and the beach so getting around is very easy.

All of the restaurants within the hotel are great!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster,s.c.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We like this location as it is close to several food stations and the bus stop is just across the st.
The hotel employies are very helpful and caring, nice rooms with coffee maker and refrig in the
room
We have stayed here for several years and always found it nice.
The International Market Place is just around the corner and good shoping near by.
We love that we were just 1 block from the beach. The beach area has a stage where the Hula
is preformed several nights for free.
We will return to this hotel next year if the Lord lets us remain in good health and able to travel.

Room Tip: We have not had a bad room, but i like to stay up high. You can check out the rooms as some have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinapElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Aloha CarolinapElliott

Mahalo for staying with us here at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel and for your kind review. We do have a great staff and thank you for acknowledging that they were very helpful and caring.

Your description of the hotel as well as the surrounding areas was very well done and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you be a part of our OHANA once again.

Island Regards,

OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

this is our third stay here at the Ohana East , we requested our same room as on our two previous visits. we arrived Friday night and were checked in quickly by Pono, who had been a great help on all our visits. we were given our requested room and settled in. the bed is very comfortable and the room is very comfortable,we had a wonderful stay and found all the front desk staff very helpfull, a big thanks to Pono, who treated us once again like family he is an excellent ambassador for your hotel. we were alway greated warmly and the evening staff were very friendly not sure the ladies name but she was great, Josh was also very friendly and helpfull, this hotel is in a perfect location for us the food pantry across the road, as is the bus stop and the free pink trolley is great, just a little tip it is sometimes better to go down to the duke statue to get the trolley as it is often full when it gets to ohana west stop. we enjoyed the value menu at Denny's for breakfast and Mona is an excellent friendly waitress.
we are already looking at our next holiday and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.the wifi was excellent in the comfortable lobby where i could check on my sons at home through facebook
thanks to all especially Pono.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brettnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Aloha Brettnsue,

Thank you for submitting a review on TripAdvisor, it is very rewarding to read that we were able to accommodate you in the room that you requested on your third visit to the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel. Also happy to hear Pono was able to check you in quickly and efficiently, we have a great staff here and are very glad you were taken cared of by Josh as well as other staff at the front desk who consistently strive to show their Aloha spirit.

Your description of our location in regards to the bus line, Food Pantry as well as the suggested to pick up the Pink Line Trolley near the Dukes statue were greatly appreciated.

We look forward to having you stay here on your next holiday.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing