We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in all ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in all ways”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Due to circumstances I found and booked Ohana East after arriving in Waikiki. Friendly staff, good housekeeping and nice smiles from the Bell Service people.

Price was decent Room was good. Location was great. Free trolley rides are also handy. The supermarket is directly across the road. Close to everything yet far away enough from the late night street noises.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Lilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Aloha Lilia,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and letting us know you found our staff friendly and your room was clean. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    816
    335
    83
    50
See reviews for
543
660
129
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saluda, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at this location as part of a 4 island tour. I have to admit staying in the city was a little intimidating at first but once we got our bearings it proved to be a great location. All kinds of shopping all around, close to the beach, a farmer's market across the street and a great little grocery on the other side. We discovered bento boxes there (fish, rice & pickled vegetables) for less than $5 on our first night after arriving from a long day of travel. Very tasty, especially after going into sticker shock at the cost of restaurant food. Our only complaint was that our room was next to the elevator and a little noisy, but we were able to tune that out. The view from our lanai wasn't the greatest - rooftops, pool & other hotels but we weren't there to hang out on the patio anyway. Front desk people were great, everything was kept clean & nice. Coffee shop prices were not bad & the service good. Also rental car services across the street too. Coin laundry available.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if you are next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Aloha Betty,

Thank you for your 5star rating on Tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated! Good to see the front desk staff was great and that you found your room to be kept clean and nice. Glad to hear you got to experience Bentos boxes and enjoyed them, they are great!

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back once again.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth stay,and it was like coming home, we arrived on Christmas Eve and were checked in quickly by Tracey who asked if we had booked for Christmas dinner anywhere as restaurants were filling up fast. The lobby christmas decorations were beautiful. We had a wonderful stay. The rooms had been upgraded with new beds, carpets new paint new tv's new shower heads. The housekeeper on floor 17 is amazing she kept our room beautiful and well supplied. This hotel is central to everything perfect location.
Thanks to Clayton Pono for looking after us so well. He is a great ambassador for your hotel.
Thanks also to Josh, Tracey,and Meg on the front desk.
Raymond the bellman and ( cant remember his workmates name) were also great with a friendly greeting every morning
It's hotel works like a well oiled clock.
Thanks for a great holiday

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank brettnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Aloha BrettnSue from Auckland

Mahalo for your 5star rating on tripadvisor it is much appreciated. Thank you for acknowledging our great staff and letting us know you felt like it was coming home once again. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the very near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Very close to the beach, clean and updated rooms. Free trolly rides and wifi. Overall great value for the money. This is our second time at this hotel and we are very pleased. There is also a little gym on the second floor. Overall if you are looking for a nice clean, centrally located hotel that is great quality for a good price, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a "pool view" are really overlooking roof tops. The pool view is if you st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Aloha Wil L from Las Vegas,

Mahalo for your great review on Tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked through Hotwire and got a great deal. The location of this property is excellent, a block from Waikiki beach, Food Pantry across the street, lots of dining and shopping options close by. Some things to note: our room had two doubles and a sofa bed so if you need more room ask for this type, the laundry facilities are beside the parking garage and is open to the public, the pool is lovely but not heated and starts at 4 foot deep if you have young children, free Ethernet in rooms, free beach bag, free pass on trolley, coupon book given at check-in, fridge in room, we had shower not bath, elevators bit temperamental, and if you have a car you pull up on the sidewalk, so although bell service is excellent you feel a bit rushed, and people waiting on the sidewalk were leaning on our car! Although this is an older property it is very well situated and the excellent service and little extras make it a good value, especially when you get a special price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Java73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Aloha Java73,

Mahalo for a great review we hope to welcome you and your family back once again in the very near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukalani, Maui
Level Contributor
215 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I just came back from a weekend in Waikiki and stayed at this hotel for the first time. The hotel is right in the heart of Waikiki and sits between the two major streets, Kalakaua and Kuhio. The Duke Kahanamoku statue, Waikiki Beach, The Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center and other shops and restaurants are in easy walking distance. The bus lines on Kuhio stop in front of the hotel as well. You can use your room card to ride for free on the Waikiki Trolley to Ala Moana Center. When you check in, you get a coupon book to use around the area. The room was suitable and comfortable as all I really needed it for was for sleeping since I was out for most of my visit. The staff are really friendly and will help you out if needed. The only things I didn't like, and I am just being nit picky here, are that the showers were a little small and the elevators seem to be slow when you call for them. That was my only complaint, but it is a very small complaint. I will definately stay at this hotel again on future visits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mauiguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Mauiguy808,

Thank you for your 5star rating on tripadvisor it is much appreciated. Glad to hear you found everything almost perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Ohana East in Waikiki was site of a four day visit to the area. Location is just a couple blocks from the beach and close to everything: Restaurants, beach and the ABC store! aBC is not an alcohol store like it is in so many places in the states, but is a little food mart, souvenir stand and emergency supply store. Our room was on the fourth floor, facing Diamond Head, although you could hardly see it for all the other hotels. Two queen beds, interesting bathroom arrangement with a really small shower. I doubt that a heavy person would be Abe to make use of that shower. Beds were comfortable and the little mini balcony was private and a great place to have your first cup of coffee. Wait staff was attentive and the checking process was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dleebrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Aloha Dleebrick from Colorado,

Mahalo for a great review on tripadvisor good to hear you found the location to be great as well as the service. We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Island Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
492 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
277 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing