We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were happily surprised to find we had a kitchenette in our room. This hotel is on a corner of an intersection so it is a bit noisy at times. This can be overcome by shutting the door/window and sleeping with the a/c on. Great location. Food pantry across the street, as well as ABC, farmer's market in King's Alley. Breakfast at the restaurant just outside the hotel on the very corner is $4.25 for 2 eggs, bacon and pancakes. Waikiki beach is 2 blocks away. We could walk off the beach and go to the store for a quick, cheap lunch and take it back to the beach to eat. Lots of shops to choose from for just about anything. Many high end shops like Coach, Tiffany's, Omega, Ferrari, etc... Our room was a corner suite with views of the mountains and Diamond Head. The restaurant on the opposite corner had guys twirling fire every evening. There was a courtesy suite available for us since we had a late departure and check out is by noon. Just a note, we were on the 4th floor and it took a while to get hot water in the shower. Also, the elevators can be a bit slow with all the stops involved so be patient. No need to bring beach towels since the hotel provides them, as many as you want!Overall the room was very clean and we would go there again.

Room Tip: Breakfast is not included so a room with a kitchenette might be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaqkei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Aloha Jaqkei,

Thank you very much for your recent review on Tripadvisor it is much appreciated. Good to hear you found the hotel to be clean and we would love to welcome you back in the near future. We appreciate our guest reviews as it helps to make our product better.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    774
    320
    80
    48
See reviews for
510
618
122
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The staff is wonderful and make you feel like family. The location is great and very close to the beach, shopping and good restaurants. Free access on the Pink Line trolley with room card is wonderful to go shopping to the Ala Moana Mall or anywhere else.

Room Tip: Choose a "City View Room" on a higher level for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Aloha Katey W from Edmonton Canada,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on Tripadvisor it is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The front of the hotel is like a shop doorway with escalators to take you in, the rooms are dated but in Hawaii you are only in them to sleep, your across the road from Waikiki beach and I would definitely consider staying here again, I travelled with my ten year old daughter and felt completely safe here, the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ddboss1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Aloha Ddboss1010,

Mahalo for a great review glad to hear you felt safe while on your vacation and that you found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back to the Island and the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a great location for all the action and shopping and not too far from the beach either.The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is very friendly.We were supposed to stay there only for two nights at first but decided to stay for five.I would stay there again if I go to Hawaii.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally155017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Aloha Sally155017,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Absolutely agree with all the latest reviews on Ohana East. Have stayed there before as I found the location great, VERY handy to 2 ABC shops, where you can buy almost everything!!. Also opened up since last I was there a nice Thai restaurant, actually in the same building.This was handy as sadly the twin share rooms have NO kitchens [ only the single ones which seems crazy], so we had a couple of breakfasts in the restaurant [ only $4.75, ofcourse plus tax & gratuitys!!] & 2 very nice stir frys for dinners.Other than that we got fresh salads from the ABC shop & lovely cheap fresh fruit from the Farmers Markets held in the lovely "Kings village, just across the road also.Just a short walk to the beach & all the main shopping area's. Yes perhaps could do with a bit of a "spruce up" but very homely & clean, with lovely helpful staff.

Room Tip: WE were on level 14 & had a nice city view [ beautiful at night], plus could see the water as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NannypHerveyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Aloha NannypHerveyBay,

Thank you for a great review on Tripadvisor it is much appreciated as we value our guest comments. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be lovely and helpful as well as the room to be homey and clean. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Managent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
837 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was the perfect hotel to be close to the Waikiki action, but far enough away so it was very quiet in the evenings. The room was spacious and clean, dated, and in need of some upgrades, but very comfortable and reasonable rates. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bus stop is just around the corner as are many stores and it is only a short walk to the beach! We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors and facing direction of Diamond Head for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seetheworld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Aloha Seetheworld2014 from Canada,

Mahalo for the 4star review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know you found our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Every time I visit Waikiki I stay at Ohana East because of its fantastic location and great rates.
It's smack bang in the middle of the action but a couple blocks behind the main drag. The supermarket is also right round the corner and there's a fantastic Japanese diner across the road.

Try and get a room away from the elevators as they are quite loud at night when there is no street noise, especially in the "01" rooms.

My flight was delayed and I missed my connection and wasn't charged the night that I missed which was great.

My only complaint would be that one of the ladies at check in could smile once in a while.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Experience21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Aloha Ddboss1010,

Mahalo for your 4star rating on Tripadvisor we appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back in the future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing