We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$677
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,163
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$486
US$440
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$654
US$559
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$700
US$459
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$851
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$930
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$664
US$632
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$417
US$378
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,003)
Filter reviews
2,003 results
Traveller rating
588
888
376
94
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
888
376
94
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pink trolleygreat locationfree rideskitchenette roomexpress elevatorfood pantrystreet levelcoin laundryroom cardacross the streetsmall balconythe international market placebell deskround table pizzathe penthouseshort walk to the beacha city view room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,012 - 1,017 of 2,003 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just left the Ohana East and while it was close to shopping, food and the beach it was not worth the money. We had to pay $25 a day for parking and should have paid a bit more and gotten a better hotel.

We arrived and got a room on the 4th floor where we tried 2 rooms both of them had ants...the second more than the first one. That's when we were moved to the 15th floor...which was better...no ants. The shower was tiny and in a corner so the door only opened 45 degrees and was hard to get in and out of.

I see that most of the good reviews for this hotel are for higher floors...

We have been to may comfort inn and la quinta inns that are much nicer, bigger and updated than this hotel for much less.

Room Tip: higher floors only
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank good1kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Aloha good1kw from Las Vegas,

Mahalo for your honest review as your comments help us to make our product better. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Ohana East for the 3rd time. The staff is always friendly- greeting you with the same aloha whether you are visiting the islands from afar or kama'aina on staycation. You get a coupon book and a nylon backpack upon check-in. The backpack is perfect for toting things to the beach and up/down Waikiki's main drag. (You will most likely be walking a lot during your stay, so having a lightweight backpack is very convenient and also a nice souvenir to take home.) The rooms are very clean, albeit the décor could use a little updating (think whitewashed rattan). Although some may actually find that to be part of the charm- kitschy, tropical; very typical of many Hawaii hotels throughout the islands. The bathrooms are a bit small, but they do provide shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, and a shower cap. There is also Lion coffee and tea and free wifi. The property is very safe, utilizing key cards for room entry and for use of the elevators & public restrooms, as well. Their location is convenient- midway down the Waikiki strip. The hotel is not located on the ocean (Kalakaua Avenue), but rather is set back one street (Kuhio Avenue). It's approximately a 10 minute walk to the beach. There are restaurants on site- Kimo Bean coffee shop (that turns into a bar in the evening), Round Table pizza (great place to watch a game and have some pizza & beer), Keo's by Keoni (tasty Thai food)- and tons of shopping & restaurants nearby. They do have a free airport shuttle, which you'll want to take advantage of, as the price of a cab from the airport an run you anywhere from $35-50, depending on traffic. For the price, the Ohana East is a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lotusandthebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review on Tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated! Thank you for letting us know you found your room clean and the staff always friendly. All of your descriptions were spot on in regards to the restaurants and coffee shop we have right here on property, so once again Mahalo for staying with us at the OHANA Waikiki East and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We first stayed at this hotel in the '70's. Commendably, it's still a nice place to stay and a very good value in Waikiki. The Ohana/Outrigger chain have consistently good standards in their hotels, and this is no exception. Our stay was for 10 nights. The staff is very helpful, approachable and friendly. Housekeeping standards are high. Free internet, free calls to North America, free trolley rides, large screen LCD Television, decent amenities and I'm probably forgetting something. You couldn't ask for more especially at their fair rates. I know some people that make this their regular accommodation when in Waikiki, and I can see why. I plan to return.
The hotel has a couple of decent restaurants on site so it's convenient to have breakfast there, but we had a couple of dinners as well which were fine for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank legibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Mahalo Legibus from Vancouver for your great review on Tripadvisor glad to her after your first stays here at the OHANA Waikiki East you still found the hotel to be great. Happy to hear you found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the housekeeping standards were high, your kind words are all greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My sister left her clothes and her keys in a room at this hotel.
I asked member of this hotel to look for them.
They are very kind and warm support.
And they finally found them and handed them to the travel agency.
Thanks to staff we recieved them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Haya6304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Aloha Haya,

Mahalo for your review on Tripadvisor we are happy to hear your sister was able to get her clothes and keys back. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as being warm and supportive your kind words are very much appreciated. We hope to welcome back your sister as well as yourself someday.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Arrived yesterday 9am from Australia, before room ready.Had trouble with ATM obtaining US dollars but needed a coffee so , Lady on Reception had a word to Coffee shop.We had 2 coffees and croissants.
After managing to get money changed went to pay the Receptionist, but she would not accept anything .Nice gesture, so I will give he a good tip on leaving.
Room large and clean and .
From 9th floor Balcony can sea the Ocean.
Free WiFi and Trolly bus travel.
Beds comfortable, only negative was some noise from next door rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floor less street noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Aloha Peter T

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the OHANA Waikiki East hotel. Also glad to hear our front desk was able to take care of you with the cups of coffee and croissants. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Island Regards,

OHANA Waikiki East Hotell Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews