We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rimpac” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rimpac”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice room over all. But....no microwave and the refrigerator barely worked at all. However the housekeeping staff on the 6th floor was great. They even left extra coffee packets when asked. Furniture is island style, but seemed dated.

Room Tip: A room away from the south east corner near Kuhio street, building near by is getting rehab'd. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flying_okie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Mahalo for taking the time and writing a review on Tripadvisor and for our 4star rating you gave us, it is much appreciated. Glad to hear your housekeeper on the 6th fl was great. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and thank you for your services.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    774
    320
    80
    48
See reviews for
510
618
122
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel for two days during a recent trip to Hawaii with my wife. We had a nice room on the 15th floor, facing the beach.
The hotel was clean and well-decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are stairs and elevators to quickly get to the rooms. We had a good-sized room, with lots of space, two closets, a small refrigerator, cable TV, and a small balcony that opened out over the street. The room was fairly quiet, considering the location and traffic. The hotel does offer free Wi-Fi, but we were told that it was not working properly at the time that we were there. There is also a pool, but we did not use it during our stay.
The area near the hotel is very nice and you can find a variety of restaurants if you walk about a minute in any direction. There is an ABC convenience store located across the street from the hotel, which we frequently used to buy coffee, food and other supplies. There is also a Burger King just down the street, where I bought coffee very early one morning.
One nice benefit we found was that you can ride the local trolley (bus) for free simply by showing your room card (pink bus only). The trolley makes a loop through Waikiki and is fun to ride just to sightsee, or to jump off and go shopping (we did both). The trolley also goes to the Ala Moana mall, then runs parallel to the beach, and back through the shopping and hotel areas.
I booked online through a travel website, and I was very happy with the rate I paid for the hotel. I did upgrade my room (for only $10) upon arrival to get a view of the beach. One downside right now is that the hotel behind the OHANA Waikiki East is being demolished, and the view and the noise from the rear of the hotel might not be appealing for some travelers.
Overall, I was very happy with the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel. I would consider staying there again if I returned to Honolulu.

Room Tip: I did upgrade my room (for only $10) upon arrival to get a view of the beach. One downside right now...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus85204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your great review on Tripadvisor and giving us a 4star rating it is much appreciated. Glad you found the room to be nice and the hotel to be clean and well decorated, your room was a good size and the room was fairly quiet. Glad you got to make full use of the Pink Line Trolley to sight see and shop along the way to Ala Moana as well as Ala Moana itself. Happy to hear you found a good rate on line and we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Room was small, as was the restroom. However, if you're the type of person who doesn't spend much time in a hotel room and just want something reasonably priced and clean in the Waikiki area, this would be a great choice. I'd spring for the ocean view-well worth it.

Ask for a room from the 15th floor up, as there's an express elevator for those floors. I would make sure and ask for a room that's not near the elevator. We saw several rooms on our floor right up by an elevator. Not sure how those folks are able to sleep!

If you're travelling w/children, family, or friends, ask for the adjacent rooms w/1 entrance to both rooms. On the 15th floor, I know rooms 1524 (queen) & 1525 (not sure if that's a queen or a double) gave you that option (not to mention ocean view!).

You only have a short stroll to the beach, shopping, and eateries. Speaking of the beach, know that you can borrow beach towels at the front desk. They ask you to sign for them and that you leave the used towels in the room or at the pool. The Ohana chains also offer free rides on the pink-line trolley (mostly shopping stops).

You might want to know that there's a "hooker alley" and a "smokers' gathering spot" in the path between the hotel & the Mona Surfrider Hotel and Princess Sheraton. Would suggest you walk on the other side of the street to get to the hotel unless you don't mind seeing the hookers at night or taking in smoke day and night!

Room Tip: Ocean view, away from elevators, and from the15th floor up (see review above)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Makai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated! All of your comments help us to better our product as well as let us know where we need to improve. Glad to also see you found the hotel to be reasonably priced and pointed out the city view rooms are well worth the price. We hope to welcome you back real soon.

Island Regards
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My room was located on the 15th floor. There was an express elevator close to the main desk which made for easy access to the room. A plus in my book! A short walk to the room, open the door to a walkway with a closet directly to the left, sliding mirror door and a small safe located inside. To the right of the closet was a small bar area set up with a coffe pot and ice bucket, under the counter was a mini fridge that kept my food and beverages cool. Another closet with hangers and 2 luggage racks. Next was the bathroom with all that you could need, there was only a stand up shower and quite small, it did the job. Who needs a big shower when you have the Pacific Ocean to jump into.
The room was suited with 2 full size beds, a nightstand, desk, chair, mirror, TV, dresser, and a small dining table with 2 chairs. Plenty of room to move around. The balcony had 2 chairs and a small table for a fabulous view of Waikiki Beach between two condos. The was always a small breeze and it was nice to watch the early morning traffic begin. The blackout curtains well helpful as well. The beds were comfortable. The hotel is located 1 1/2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. ABC stores on almost every corner. The hotel pool was adequate and not very busy during my stay.

The hotel does have parking but it comes with a price. My suggestion would be to take advantage of the bus system and pink line. Across the street you can rent a car for the day. Have a shuttle get you to your hotel and go from there. Enjoyed my stay and no complaints for this first time Hawaii visit.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the beach, it's pleasant with morning coffee or just relaxing after su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review on Tripadvisor it is much appreciated. All of your comments were spot on in regards to the light breeze that flows thru from your balcony to the black out drapes to watching the early morning traffic and being located closed to the beach and all the restaurants located nearby. Reviews such as yours give a concise notion of what the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel is all about. Centrally located with lots of dining areas close by and the beach just as close. We do hope to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
326 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I've stayed here a number of times in the past and recently in July 2014. It's a typical Waikiki mid-range hotel that is 1 1/2 blocks away from Waikiki Beach. The room I had was on the 14th floor, typical room for this type of hotel, no frills, small refrigerator, flat screen television (an upgrade from 2 years ago), basic furnishings, and good wifi (but you have to sign in each day, a bit of a hassle). The lady who cleans my room was very friendly and cleaned up in a timely fashion. The location is great as it is close to restaurants (Round Table Pizza is downstairs), a Kimobean Coffee place in the lobby, the (very crowded) world famous beach, many shuttles for shopping and sight-seeing. Very urban feel when you get down to the street with many cars, buses, people, not quite the tropical paradise you would envision if you were a first time visitor. But all in all, a pleasant time in Honolulu as usual. I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Aloha Norm1983 from San Francisco,

We really appreciate the time you took to write a review on Tripadvisor and to let us know this was not your first time staying with us here at the OHANA Waikiki East hotel. Yes in regards to the televisions we recently remodeled at the end of last year which included replacing all the televisions, beds and carpeting to name a few of the upgrades we did. Happy do hear the maid cleaned your room in a timely manner and was friendly. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here several times back when this property was an Outrigger, so booked again for last minute Mother/Daughter trip. Property is dated but clean with comfy beds. Shower was quite possibly the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel room. I love the location, 2 blocks from beach and Duke's Canoe Club. (My FAVORITE stretch of Waikiki beach. Dukes has restrooms and serves strong drinks). For those with late night/redeye flights, the hotel offers a hospitality room. WE LOVED THIS AMENITY! This allowed us a FULL last day on the beach. We returned to hotel and were given a key to a small room with a shower and old desk and couch. The room is quite small, but we were SO happy to have a place to shower and prepare for our flight home.
Special thanks to Sarah and Brian at the front desk for their excellent customer service. Would absolutely book here again!

***Note*** DO NOT confuse this property with Ohana West! While we did not stay there, it is close by and we took a peek at the pool and lobby areas. Ohana East is a much nicer property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ImaStewardess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Aloha ImaStewardess from Phoenix Arizona,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased when our guest take the time to share their experiences not only with us but everyone else who reads these reviews. We take pride in our property and it is our goal to provide our guest with a great experience, so thank you for acknowledging Sarah and Brian for their excellent customer service. We do look forward to welcoming you and your daughter to stay with us once again.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel and I would not stay here again. We got a hotel room which is situated behind the elevator, causing the room to be filled with noise! We also have construction happening outside, which has constant noise- drilling etc. This construction is happening one side of the hotel and will not he completed for at least 6months. I explained to reception my frustration and they showed to sympathy. The only option was to pay more and move to the other side of the hotel. Customer service at this hotel has been appalling.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Boy198321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Aloha Boy198321 from Sydney,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor it is much appreciated as we value our guests comments. We do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay as well as the customer service you received when you let your concerns be known. We can certainly understand your frustration and do hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing