We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated finishes but good for a family on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Upon arrival at this hotel, the lobby is not impressive in terms of the built space; it feels very dated. I was upgraded to a corner suite but even that was certainly not anything especially nice. Our bathrooms were small and cramped. Loud construction activities including jack-hammering on the lot outside our room was another negative, and I feel like the staff should be warning guests and explaining what the construction hours are before they find out the hard way. Self parking is steep at $25 per day but does allow for unlimited in and out. The best feature is their room rates which are reasonable for this fairly decent location. The staff was reasonably friendly and helpful after our fairly slow check-in was behind us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction on the adjacent lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Aloha and Mahalo Mark for your review on Tripadvisor your comments are appreciated as it helps us to better our product. We do hope you will return to the Island and stay with us once more.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Centrally located and clean. Not a high priced resort. Stayed more than once and happy with the choice. Extra benefit of free trolley rides with room key. Would recommend for someone looking for a clean hotel close to the beach and not wanting to pay resort fees. Equivalent to a Comfort Inn on the mainland.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badnlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Aloha Badnill and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to continually welcoming you back in the future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Another great Ohana property ! I have stayed at a few, but this one would be my pick ! One block from the beach , The Pantry supermarket across the street , and free shuttle to Ala moana shopping center across the street, which is a bonus when staying at one of these properties ! It has a good restaurant ( Keo's ) and a nice coffee shop and bar in the lobby. Rooms are fairly large , clean and decorated in typical Hawaiin style. Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful , so is the tour desk. Free wifi is great ! Only two things dissapointing in this hotel and that is the lifts are slow, and often out of order. Second is the pool area , very quiet and no atmosphere , i dont think it is used alot , also the pool bar has closed down. It needs music/entertainment and the bar to be open again, but still a very good value hotel with good little extra's !!

Room Tip: High floor facing Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 87Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Aloha Peter from Australia,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated. Happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us here at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel and pointing out or central location to the beach and food pantry with Keoni's being a good restaurant to go to along with the coffee shop in the lobby. Glad you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful and the wifi to be great! Your kind words are much appreciated as well as you pointing out the need to liven up our pool area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Only 5 mins walk to Waikiki beach but far enough away to be slightly quieter. I had read previous reviews about construction work in the area and so requested a room on a higher floor, away from pool side as suggested from previous visitors. They wanted me to pay for the "upgrade" which would be a better room with better views but the charge was minimal - about $10 a night and it was well worth it. However - you are really not in Waikiki to be in your room so perhaps this was not needed. When we popped to view the pool - it's quite small but you have the sea down the road - we did not notice any construction noise then or during our stay. Anyway with upgrade we were top floor with great views and nice big room, fridge, aircon, lanai. Nice and quiet with no noise penetration at all. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. As a hotel guest you get to use the Pink Line shoppers "trolley" transport which was great too. The bell boys can also arrange shuttles anywhere else for you. I would stay again.

Room Tip: We were on top floor which was great views of mountains and sea and very quiet and the upgrade cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Aloha Georgina

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the OHANA Waikiki East hotel it is much appreciated. Glad you were able to do the upgrade to the city view and enjoy the views as well as the room and found the room to be quiet. Happy to hear you got to make use of the free Pink Line Trolley to the mall and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We sincerely hope to welcome you back one day soon!

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice room over all. But....no microwave and the refrigerator barely worked at all. However the housekeeping staff on the 6th floor was great. They even left extra coffee packets when asked. Furniture is island style, but seemed dated.

Room Tip: A room away from the south east corner near Kuhio street, building near by is getting rehab'd. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank flying_okie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Mahalo for taking the time and writing a review on Tripadvisor and for our 4star rating you gave us, it is much appreciated. Glad to hear your housekeeper on the 6th fl was great. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and thank you for your services.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel for two days during a recent trip to Hawaii with my wife. We had a nice room on the 15th floor, facing the beach.
The hotel was clean and well-decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are stairs and elevators to quickly get to the rooms. We had a good-sized room, with lots of space, two closets, a small refrigerator, cable TV, and a small balcony that opened out over the street. The room was fairly quiet, considering the location and traffic. The hotel does offer free Wi-Fi, but we were told that it was not working properly at the time that we were there. There is also a pool, but we did not use it during our stay.
The area near the hotel is very nice and you can find a variety of restaurants if you walk about a minute in any direction. There is an ABC convenience store located across the street from the hotel, which we frequently used to buy coffee, food and other supplies. There is also a Burger King just down the street, where I bought coffee very early one morning.
One nice benefit we found was that you can ride the local trolley (bus) for free simply by showing your room card (pink bus only). The trolley makes a loop through Waikiki and is fun to ride just to sightsee, or to jump off and go shopping (we did both). The trolley also goes to the Ala Moana mall, then runs parallel to the beach, and back through the shopping and hotel areas.
I booked online through a travel website, and I was very happy with the rate I paid for the hotel. I did upgrade my room (for only $10) upon arrival to get a view of the beach. One downside right now is that the hotel behind the OHANA Waikiki East is being demolished, and the view and the noise from the rear of the hotel might not be appealing for some travelers.
Overall, I was very happy with the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel. I would consider staying there again if I returned to Honolulu.

Room Tip: I did upgrade my room (for only $10) upon arrival to get a view of the beach. One downside right now...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcus85204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for your great review on Tripadvisor and giving us a 4star rating it is much appreciated. Glad you found the room to be nice and the hotel to be clean and well decorated, your room was a good size and the room was fairly quiet. Glad you got to make full use of the Pink Line Trolley to sight see and shop along the way to Ala Moana as well as Ala Moana itself. Happy to hear you found a good rate on line and we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Room was small, as was the restroom. However, if you're the type of person who doesn't spend much time in a hotel room and just want something reasonably priced and clean in the Waikiki area, this would be a great choice. I'd spring for the ocean view-well worth it.

Ask for a room from the 15th floor up, as there's an express elevator for those floors. I would make sure and ask for a room that's not near the elevator. We saw several rooms on our floor right up by an elevator. Not sure how those folks are able to sleep!

If you're travelling w/children, family, or friends, ask for the adjacent rooms w/1 entrance to both rooms. On the 15th floor, I know rooms 1524 (queen) & 1525 (not sure if that's a queen or a double) gave you that option (not to mention ocean view!).

You only have a short stroll to the beach, shopping, and eateries. Speaking of the beach, know that you can borrow beach towels at the front desk. They ask you to sign for them and that you leave the used towels in the room or at the pool. The Ohana chains also offer free rides on the pink-line trolley (mostly shopping stops).

You might want to know that there's a "hooker alley" and a "smokers' gathering spot" in the path between the hotel & the Mona Surfrider Hotel and Princess Sheraton. Would suggest you walk on the other side of the street to get to the hotel unless you don't mind seeing the hookers at night or taking in smoke day and night!

Room Tip: Ocean view, away from elevators, and from the15th floor up (see review above)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Makai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated! All of your comments help us to better our product as well as let us know where we need to improve. Glad to also see you found the hotel to be reasonably priced and pointed out the city view rooms are well worth the price. We hope to welcome you back real soon.

Island Regards
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £109 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing