We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service & central location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
“Great service & central location!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Great spot in the heart of Waikiki with friendly staff, clean rooms & nice amenities. The bell desk team welcomed me with Aloha spirit & Jettson went out of his way to make sure I was well taken care of. Brian & Marie were extremely helpful with checking-in/out & the post check-out hospitality suite was an unexpected, but much appreciated hotel amenity. Rooms were small but clean & my only complaint would be that the shower was the smallest I've ever seen. I would definitely return to this location - mahalo for a comfortable stay!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sailing808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Aloha Sailing808 from Maui,

Thank you very much for your kind words in regards to the staff it is very appreciated, we will make sure to show Jettson, Brian and Marie your great comments towards each of them! Glad you were able to take advantage of the Hospitality room on your day of check out, we find a lot of guest realy enjoy being able to go about their day and prior to their pick up for the airport are able to have a room they can shower freshen up and change in at no extra cost to them. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    807
    332
    81
    50
See reviews for
537
650
128
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stay at the Ohana East when we go to Honolulu. It is a great bargain. A mid priced hotel with all the amenities. Extremely gracious hotel staff. Friendly and helpful. Very clean rooms. The location couldn't be better for this priced hotel. Most of all the hotel staff makes one feel very comfortable. If there is a problem of any type these people will correct it. My wife and I have stayed here at least 7 times and have never been disappointed. A great restaurant next door. Keoni's has an exceptional breakfast at a fair price. The waitresses are wonderful people and have been there for years. Also, Germaine Luau and run by Paulette Franco Watson is the best. Go on a weekend. For a cheaper stay in Honolulu, give Ohana East a try. You will not be disappointed. Of course if you have the bucks those great places are there on the beach. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I have used the simple saver rooms and they are fine but some elevator noise. The city view room are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edjacone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
We appreciated your 5star rating and review on Tripadvisor and for the kind words you had towards our entire staff it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for an 8th time and many many more times in the future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Upon arrival at this hotel, the lobby is not impressive in terms of the built space; it feels very dated. I was upgraded to a corner suite but even that was certainly not anything especially nice. Our bathrooms were small and cramped. Loud construction activities including jack-hammering on the lot outside our room was another negative, and I feel like the staff should be warning guests and explaining what the construction hours are before they find out the hard way. Self parking is steep at $25 per day but does allow for unlimited in and out. The best feature is their room rates which are reasonable for this fairly decent location. The staff was reasonably friendly and helpful after our fairly slow check-in was behind us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction on the adjacent lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha and Mahalo Mark for your review on Tripadvisor your comments are appreciated as it helps us to better our product. We do hope you will return to the Island and stay with us once more.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Centrally located and clean. Not a high priced resort. Stayed more than once and happy with the choice. Extra benefit of free trolley rides with room key. Would recommend for someone looking for a clean hotel close to the beach and not wanting to pay resort fees. Equivalent to a Comfort Inn on the mainland.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badnlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha Badnill and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to continually welcoming you back in the future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Figtree, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Another great Ohana property ! I have stayed at a few, but this one would be my pick ! One block from the beach , The Pantry supermarket across the street , and free shuttle to Ala moana shopping center across the street, which is a bonus when staying at one of these properties ! It has a good restaurant ( Keo's ) and a nice coffee shop and bar in the lobby. Rooms are fairly large , clean and decorated in typical Hawaiin style. Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful , so is the tour desk. Free wifi is great ! Only two things dissapointing in this hotel and that is the lifts are slow, and often out of order. Second is the pool area , very quiet and no atmosphere , i dont think it is used alot , also the pool bar has closed down. It needs music/entertainment and the bar to be open again, but still a very good value hotel with good little extra's !!

Room Tip: High floor facing Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 87Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha Peter from Australia,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated. Happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us here at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel and pointing out or central location to the beach and food pantry with Keoni's being a good restaurant to go to along with the coffee shop in the lobby. Glad you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful and the wifi to be great! Your kind words are much appreciated as well as you pointing out the need to liven up our pool area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Only 5 mins walk to Waikiki beach but far enough away to be slightly quieter. I had read previous reviews about construction work in the area and so requested a room on a higher floor, away from pool side as suggested from previous visitors. They wanted me to pay for the "upgrade" which would be a better room with better views but the charge was minimal - about $10 a night and it was well worth it. However - you are really not in Waikiki to be in your room so perhaps this was not needed. When we popped to view the pool - it's quite small but you have the sea down the road - we did not notice any construction noise then or during our stay. Anyway with upgrade we were top floor with great views and nice big room, fridge, aircon, lanai. Nice and quiet with no noise penetration at all. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. As a hotel guest you get to use the Pink Line shoppers "trolley" transport which was great too. The bell boys can also arrange shuttles anywhere else for you. I would stay again.

Room Tip: We were on top floor which was great views of mountains and sea and very quiet and the upgrade cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha Georgina

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the OHANA Waikiki East hotel it is much appreciated. Glad you were able to do the upgrade to the city view and enjoy the views as well as the room and found the room to be quiet. Happy to hear you got to make use of the free Pink Line Trolley to the mall and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We sincerely hope to welcome you back one day soon!

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice room over all. But....no microwave and the refrigerator barely worked at all. However the housekeeping staff on the 6th floor was great. They even left extra coffee packets when asked. Furniture is island style, but seemed dated.

Room Tip: A room away from the south east corner near Kuhio street, building near by is getting rehab'd. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flying_okie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Mahalo for taking the time and writing a review on Tripadvisor and for our 4star rating you gave us, it is much appreciated. Glad to hear your housekeeper on the 6th fl was great. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and thank you for your services.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing