We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased with the hotel with only a few annoyances” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very pleased with the hotel with only a few annoyances”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed for 6 days at the end of May 2011. We had a Partial Ocean view on the 11th floor of the Pacific wing. In general, we really enjoyed our stay, with few annoyances. I would recommend this as an excellent value hotel in the 4-star range.

The room was clean, nice and cool even with the A/C off, and large enough for us (2 adults and a child). The king bed was comfortable too. We made good use of the mini-fridge, safe, and sofa-bed.
The hotel has 1 pool and a few hot tubs, and 3 restaurants on site. Since we had breakfast included, we tried all 3 - Ocean House was definitely the favorite with delicious omelettes, freshly squeezed juices, and top service. Shore Bird was ok, but not a huge selection at the buffet. I don't recommend the pool bar restaurant for breakfast due to lack of decent choice or quality.

Location-wise, we enjoyed being a bit away from the center of Waikiki, and were close enough to restaurants, shopping, the beach, and ABC stores to enjoy our stay.

To highlight some of the great services we received:
- Free hospitality room on our last day - after checking out, we could still make use of a room for a short time to shower and repack before heading to the airport. What a great service!! I totally recommend this hotel for that alone!
- Free instructional activities - lei making, hula, ukulele, etc... we had a lot of fun! Some people we randomly encounted at the Hilton complimented the leis we had made and remarked that they wished they had similar activities at their hotel.
- Free towels for the pool/beach with no hassle.

There were a few things I found annoying during the trip:
- The lack of stable wireless internet in the rooms - apparently these are new, and the service (Lodgenet) was not working well. For people with iPhones, iPads, or Android phones, this is really hard to deal with. I tried in the lobby as well, and sometimes had problems there. The hotel staff were not very helpful for this, asking me to call technical support from my room. Wired internet was working ok.
- There were not enough rooms for hand/face towels at the sink, and the towels kept falling off the rack when you tried to put them back on. There was plenty of open wall space, but only a tiny towel rack.
- Our room was right above the pool bar, which had loud live music every night until 9~9:30pm. Although the music was very nice, because of the volume, some nights it was difficult to get my child to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trvlr9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,152
    1,820
    424
    118
    77
See reviews for
1,588
2,614
152
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just returned from our stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach in Waikiki. All I can say is: WOW. It is a beautiful property, the rooms were clean, and the entire staff was excellent. The service was truly amazing in every respect and we literally never wanted for anything during our entire stay. Don't miss the Mai Tai's (a great deal at $3.50 from noon to 5 every day!) at the Shore Bird Restaurant. And the Kani Ka Pila Grille is one of the few places on the beach you can get a good Bloody Mary early in the morning if you want one (ask for Robert - he'll take care of you and make them extra spicy, no charge). My friend and I had planned to venture off into Waikiki for most of our meals, but it was so convenient to stay on the property and everything we ate on site was delicious so why bother, right? The Ocean House Restaurant has incredible food and we had several dinners there that were all fantastic. Everything you need is right on the beach in front of the hotel (Vino- you rock with the Maui Jims and cabanas!). Can't wait to go back. Thanks Outrigger!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank christyandgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed at Outrigger Reef for three nights and were thrilled with our room, the service, the location, the live music at the bar, the inhouse restaurants and outstanding restaurants nearby.

We booked an ocean view room with a great view of the beach as well as the pool. The room was beautifully appointed, and they made a real effort to decorate with a Hawaiian flavor. The bed was very comfortable, the granite bathroom was luxurious, and the staff were gracious and quick to provide any service I needed.

Our package included breakfast, which I highly recommend. Two of the days we had a full schedule, so we opted for the buffet in order to get a quick start to our day. The fresh fruit was my favorite (can't get enough of the fresh pineapple and papaya!), but I also loved the bakery products and carving station with delicious roast ham. However, the real treat (also included in the price) was going to the dining room open to the beach and ordering off the menu. I had a crab, mushroom, and cheese omelet that was exquisite. Had I known how good it was, I might have gone there every day and not worried about saving time at the buffet. They also have a casual "cook your own steak" restaurant with a salad bar. It was fun talking with all the other people cooking their steaks on a giant grill.

The saltwater pool took me somewhat by surprise, but I enjoyed it. The only downside is that it loses the sun early because it is between buildiings. That wasn't a big deal for us because we were out and about all day. Waikiki is a wonderful beach! So much fun to walk up and down, seeing all the other hotels, listening to the live music coming from the bars. Yes, Honolulu is a city, but when you face the beach, it doesn't matter that there is a lot of hustle and bustle just beyond the hotels. It was more than I hoped it would be.

Outrigger Reef is the hotel for me because not only is it beautiful, but I can afford to dine there, too. That's important when you're eating out three meals a day! I will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view room is totally worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IslandGirl52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just came back from a 6 day stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. Very good choice! Great location, close to the main shopping area but not directly in the middle of it. Hotel staff was very accommodating, rooms were a little small but comfortable and there were many activities right at the hotel. Would definitely recommend to family and friends and would stay here again on a return trip.

One thing to note; parking is $30 per day (valet only). So be aware if you rent a car. Check around the vicinity to seek more affordable parking!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MsJamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Nice hotel--very friendly staff. Great happy hour at the shorebird--$3.50 mai tais from 12-5 pm. Especially liked the location near Ft Derussy park. For anyone with a military ID, the Hale Koa (next door) has great amenities you can take advantage of--Exchange, snack bars, beach bar, luaus twice a week. Only 5 minutes walk and the beach there is wider and the rentals are cheaper. Only issue we had was what some others have mentioned--an "ocean view" might or might not have a great view. The building's narrow side is to the ocean, so the rooms on the one side with views (the other side is very close to another high rise, so no views or balconies) get better the closer to the ocean you are and worse farther back. We originally had a room in the Pacific Tower (away from the ocean) and the view from the room was only of the hotel next door. If you stepped out onto the balcony and turned, you had a view of the water between the two buildings. I asked for a better room and we were moved right away to the Ocean Tower, not close enough to the water, but with a slightly improved view. As long as you know what to expect, it isn't bad--but when you expect an ocean view and get a partial view after having paid for more, it can be disturbing. I was very happy that we got moved so fast but feel the hotel's categorization of room is a little deceptive. That being said, the whole hotel was clean and comfortable and we really enjoyed ourselves there. We had dinner one night at the Shorebird, where you grill your own entree but I felt the price was high for the amount of food, except the all-you-can-eat salad bar, which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gvb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel and it facilities are great however it was so annoying whenever you went to book a trip you were hounded to go and view a time shear and receive discount, even when you said you were not interested they persisted in hounding you. We found it so annoying we made all our bookings to events elsewhere and would recommend those that don’t wish to be badgered to do the same. They must be on some sort of quota system as I did here one of them say he had got his quota for the day.
Everything else was breathtaking

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rod054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Outrigger before going to Maui (which we LOVED!). On arrival, we were quickly escorted to the front desk to check-in...which was a breeze. We were upgraded to an oceanfront room with an awesome view of the beach and Diamondhead. The room was very spacious and updated, much larger than we anticipated. Since we were there only 2 nights, we were limited in what we could do during our stay. We did, however, book a full day tour of Oahu and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were up early both days, so we missed the hotel breakfast but did go to the Starbuck's which is conveniently located near the lobby. We also ate at the Shore Bird the first night, but found it to be mediocre food (that we had to cook ourselves). There are lots and lots of other restaurants in walking distance to the hotel, so I would suggest doing a little research before you go or pick up a coupon book at the airport for ideas before you decide to eat at the hotel. Even though we were there 2 nights, we loved the Outrigger and it's location to everything...would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank drn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Southall Travel and HotelsClick so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing