We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-time visit to Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 June 2011

On our first ever visit to Hawaii, we stayed at Outrigger Reef on the Beach on Waikiki. It is at the quieter end of Waikiki. (The sea there is calm - not like our Aussie beaches.) We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed all the facilities the hotel had to offer. The activities desk organized our sunset cruise and luau - no problems. We enjoyed many Mai Tais in the Shore Bird restaurant - great for meals looking over the beach. The hotel is in a great position - a short walk to the main shopping area and public transport. Overall a very comfortable place to stay - and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karralika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,869 - 3,875 of 5,956 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

Our first time in Hawaii and loved the location of the hotel. Had a ocean front room so was so nice to have the outlook. Beautiful and clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The check in process was very efficient and fast.
Had breakfast included with our room. Would liked to have a few extra things with buffet breakfast. There was no toast at all. Even if they supplied a toaster and you cooked your own. Also have someone cooking your eggs. Just little things like that can make a difference.
We would stay in the hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

when we arrived they greeted us as very nicely. The staff and front desk helped us very fast and efficiently. We have stayed at other hotels in various islands, like the virgin islands and this one out done them all!! My familiy was so sad to leave , but once again the staff waas so helpful they gave us a cortousy room for free being we didnt fly out until 9 pm and check out was at noon. I booked the room having a city view being we wouldnt be in the room much do to all of the activities planned. We got our room turned to the rigrt and there was the big blue ocean!! I think the location of the hotel is perfect, go right outside and your on the beach. No traffic to cross! The only thing is be prepared to spend a little extra on food at the 3 restaurants but still not bad since its a little slice of paridise!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bonehead2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We only stayed at the Outrigger Reef for one night but we enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was extremely hospitable. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. We would definitely stay here again on future trips to Honolulu!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zanne1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I stayed 4 nights during our honeymoon at OUtriiger Reef on teh Beach. We had a deluxe oceanfront suite. The room and views were amazing. All the restaurants were delicous. If you have breakfast vouchers, eat at the Shore Bird everyday.
Rent an umbrella and 2 chairs right on the beach for $30. Location was great as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jennifers315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Spent 7 nights in an Ocean View room and couldn't fault our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location, very close to shops, bus stops and restaurants. Room was large and clean. The beds and linen were fantastic - so comfortable and good quality. Pool was lovely, always plenty of sun lounges available at all times of the day. Reading other reviews, I think people need to be aware there is a difference between Ocean View, Ocean Front and Partial Ocean View. You get what you pay for. We had a great week in Waikiki and would happily stay at the Outrigger Reef again. Mahalo!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ClareBear7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Stayed here 4months before baby was born. Wife had never been to Hawaii. Outrigger lived up to all my expectations. Room was in the main tower room 711. View of Ocean, Diamond head, beach and pool. All services excellent! Awesome time! Awesome Place! Will go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank xjaztek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £185 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing