We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love, Love, Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

This was our first trip to Hawaii & after reading so many wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided on Outrigger Reef. Wow, best decision we could have made. This hotel is beyond magnificent.

Our room had that 'wow' factor as soon as we opened our door. We had decided on an Oceanview room & it didn't dissapoint. Our view was over the beach/ocean & up to Diamond Head. The room was clean, spacious & quiet. Leaving the balcony door open at night, hearing the gentle sound of the waves, was a perfect way to sleep. Our housekeeping lady Yue Ling was such a lovely lady. She would greet us each day with a lovely smile & would ask us what we had planned for the day.

We had breakfast included in our package, so we tried all 3 restaurants. The buffet at Shorebird was dissapointing (only had this once). Selection is very poor. The Ocean House Restaurant had amazing views & the staff at this restaurant were exceptionally nice. However, our favourite restaurant for breakfast was Kani Ka Pila. Their vegetarian omelette was delish - we kept going back day after day for this amazing dish. The staff at Kani Ka Pila went out of their way to please us & the atmosphere beside the pool was lovely. One thing also - the coffee at all 3 restaurants is amazing. Mum & I are not coffee drinkers, however, we'd wake up each morning thinking coffee. Something about that Kona coffee left us wanting more.

All staff at this hotel were helpful, happy & friendly. From the moment we arrived, to the time we left, all staff we came in contact with were genuienly helpful & happy. It isn't just a job for these people, they clearly enjoy their work in paradise.

We recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Honolulu. It's down the quieter end of town, away from all the noise & crowds - however close enough if that is what you are after. Location is right on the beach & Waikiki Beach Walk is right across the road.

We hope to visit Honolulu again in May next year & we will again head back to Outrigger Reef.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SydneyDynamic_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,149
    1,818
    424
    118
    77
See reviews for
1,587
2,612
151
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

This was a quick trip and we are so happy with our choice. The hotel was spotless, perfect service and ammenaties, right on the beach, and one of our favorite restaurants is at the hotel right on the beach. Check out Ocean House. Great food and service with perfect atmosphere. Across the hall is the Shorebird restaurant which is also a really good restaurant. It is open for B, L, and D. You grill your own meat for dinner (actually fun). It is also right on the beach. Great place for afternoon (or anytime) drinks too. Ocean House opens I think at 5 pm. The hotel location is perfect for us. You can basically walk from the hotel to the base of Diamond Head one direction. International Market Place (cheap crap from China) is really close, and lots of high end shops on the Waikiki Beach Walk (hey, we didn't go there to shop!). We spent lots of time in the ocean and were able to walk everywhere we wanted. We opted for the least expensive room with no view (who cares when the beach is down the elevator and out the door?) and the room was spotless and really comfortable. Be sure to opt for a non smoking room if you are a non smoker like us because I did see that was a choice when booking. Can't wait to go back. We are going to stay at the same place only longer next time. A "9.9" in our book (only because the WIFI seemed slow). A "10" other than that.

Room Tip: Use AAA or 50+ to save. Best $ was hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rickflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

The Outrigger was perfect - it was one - four blocks from just about all of the shopping and restaurants, bus stop and car rental. The hotel is casual, friendly and comfortable. The room was great, very comfortable bed and pillows. We enjoyed the nightly music and the Happy Hour in Shorebird. Breakfast was included and we tried both the buffet in Shorebird and the nicer breakfast in Oceanside Restaurant. We enjoyed them both. Shorebird is very informal with a good selection ( nothing fancy) and a beautiful view. The Oceanside restaurant is a little nicer with white tablecloths, wonderful service, and menu items for breakfast. We had a beautiful table overlooking the water. The pool area has plenty of shade which we enjoyed, pool service and towels! The beach is right there but it is a little small by the Outrigger. There is a sidewalk to the right and in 5 minutes you can be at a wider beach so it isn't a problem. The hotel was perfect for us - not too fancy or fussy but friendly, clean, and well appointed. Jaime checked us in and Angelina helped us plan activities. They were great!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank frescagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel in March and thought the location, room, breakfast and grounds were very nice, but we were extremely disappointed in the service. We noted when we booked that we would be checking in late due to when our flight landed, and we requested a room with a king bed and noted that we were staying there over a birthday. At check in we were treated so rudely by the woman at the front desk that we were left stunned and so angry we could hardly sleep. We were tired but greeted her friendly when we arrived - after all, we were in Hawaii - and in return we received personal insults and snide remarks. Absolutely unacceptable - and we told the manager as much the next morning. Not only that, but we did not get the room we had requested. They later moved us to another room, but I think we received a "partial ocean view" room rather than the "ocean view" room we had booked and paid for. With better things to do on vacation than complain we moved on and had a wonderful time on Oahu, very little of it at the hotel, but needless to say this was a low point on an otherwise great trip. With so many hotel options there is no reason to risk receiving poor service at this location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HMLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Service was great right from check-in. We were on our honeymoon, and we're given an upgrade to a suite. Girl at front desk was pleasant and made check in a breeze. After we checked in we received a phone call from the front desk to make sure we were please with everything.

We ended up staying in the penthouse level (Floor 18) in the section of the hotel that is further away from the beach. The elevator goes to 17, then take a staircase up. There are a few room on this level that all share one very large patio area. We had the 2 bedroom suite, which was very large and comfortable. The interior decorating wasn't really my style, but the room was nice, clean and comfortable.

The restaurants were good, but nothing spectacular. At one of them you actually cook your food yourself on the grill, which was actually fun. Breakfast buffet was pretty good as well.

The hotel pool is in the middle of the hotel away from the beach. We were only in Oahu for 3 days, so we didn't spend any time at the pool. There was entertainment there at night, but again we didn't stick around for that either. The beach in front of the hotel is on the small side, but it is still serviceable.

There are many restaurants and shopping areas within walking distance of the hotel. There was a Roy's across the street that we found to be pretty good.

We didn't rent a car our stay in Oahu, but one day decided that we wanted to venture around town. The bell hop was extremely helpful in finding us a rental car. Most locations were sold out due to a conference in town, but she found us one, which we much appreciated.

With the bulk of our stay (and budget) allocated to Maui and Kauai, one of the primary drivers of our selection of hotel in Oahu was value. Outrigger on the Reef delivered. I didn't expect it to be the Ritz or Four Seasons, and it wasn't, but it is a very nice hotel with gracious and accommodating staff that is right in the middle of the action.

Negative - The only real negative I had was the time share people in the lobby that are trying to get you to visit their time share. I know they are probably at most hotels in Hawaii, but I find them to be annoying.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5_OClock_Somewhere11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed in June 2011 lovely hotel, great room, good food. Great location staff very helpful all you need for a perfect holiday would advise anyone to go to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 16034 was a corner room wth 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nowikoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Outrigger Reef is in an excellent location on south end of Waikiki Beach, close to Waikiki Beach Walk. Recent multi-million dollar renovations provide a lovely, inviting pool area with lots of lounge chairs and great pool side service and happy hour specials on food and drinks each day from 3 - 5 p.m. and poolside entertainment from 6 - 9 pm. We loved the classy furnishings and comfy beds in our room which overlooked the pool and had a partial ocean view. The staff were amazing, and simply could not do enough for us to make our stay the best time ever! Sean, from the Bell Desk, quickly came out to greet us and take our luggage and escort us to the front desk. Samantha, our poolside server, provided exceptional and very friendly service. Alohalani, at the Front Desk also was outstanding. Everytime we called Guest Services they looked after our needs immediately and were so, so helpful and pleasant. We also really enjoyed the beach right in front of the hotel and had a great time utilizing the Beach Rentals for day use of Umbrellas and lounge chairs. The beach boys staff were so amazing and did everything they could to help us enjoy our time at the beach, especially Melvino and Steve, however, they were all wonderful! If you get a chance to purchase some Maui Jim sunglasses from Melvino you will not regret it - you see everything in technicolor and Melvino really takes care of you. They have two great restaurants on site, the Shorebird and the Ocean House. We enjoyed them both. Also, make sure you go to Kareoke at the Shorebird from 9:30 to 1:30 a.m. every nite, its so much fun and very entertaining!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hawaiigirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing