We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Outrigger Reef for the first 4 days of our honeymoon and loved it here. We'd weighed staying at more expensive hotels, but after seeing the reviews about this property decided to give it a shot.

While not a sprawling as many of the other nearby hotels, the Outrigger is not really lacking anything and the layout is planned out quite well. The beach immediately in front of the hotel is a good stretch and the pool, while off the ocean and interior between the various towers, is spacious and mostly quiet relaxing area.

We enjoyed many happy hour mai tais at the Shorebird restaurant, which is a very cool spot - our only complaint is that the menu is a bit odd in between lunch and dinner (cook your own format). The pool restaurant and bar was great with decent food values and fantastic entertainment.

Parking is expensive, but the valet prompt and service was over all very impressive. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a honeymoon, getaway, or a family trip. A steal compared to some of the other 300-400 dollar/night hotels nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,224
    1,851
    431
    119
    78
See reviews for
1,627
2,669
154
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Outrigger Reef we were impressed...we were warmly greeted by the staff, check in was a breeze and we were straight up to our rooms. We had requested adjoining rooms, but they were separated but still close to each other. They had forgotten the rollaway bed, but soon remedied this and at no extra charge. We had partial ocean view rooms which had good sea views and a great view of the pool below.The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The air con is a little noisy but not a major. The hotel is well situated, close to all amenities. Loved having direct access to the beach and found it quieter than the much busier main beach at Waikiki. The restaurants are good and we loved the live entertainment poolside of an evening. The staff really make this place, everyone was so friendly and accommodating! I would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fibi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We are here at the outrigger reef on the beach.Lily who has been cleaning our room has done a excellent job.we came back to our room yesterday to find it spotless and all our shoes lined up together and the room so very very neat considering their are two teenagers with us.lily is a wonderful asset to the housekeeping staff here at the outrigger.Our room is 218 right on the beachfront and the beds are very comfortable .The shorebird restaurant downstairs is great for breakfast and so is the oceanfront as well.all the staff here at the outrigger on the reef have been pleasant to deal with.We hope to come back soon.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank colleen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Aloha Colleen!
Thank you for this review complementing your housekeeper, Lily. We also think she is very special and we’re glad you were able to witness the true Aloha Spirit that she constantly displays. We have already shared your comments in front of our other Housekeepers to acknowledge her. She blushed and was very appreciative that you took the time to mention her and that you remembered her name.

Being a beachfront hotel has its advantages. You were on a low floor in an oceanfront category…you can’t get any closer to the beach! We’re glad that you were also able to enjoy two of our ocean front restaurants, Shorebird and Ocean House.

Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Could not fault our stay ,clean, staff pleasant and friendly ideal position on the beach and had two excellent restaurants , pool area very clean would recommend to other holiday makers, close to shops and other bars should you fancy having a walk out on a night .
the bedrooms are modern clean and coffee percolator restocked every day , fridge in the room was very useful

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. It's a clean, nicely presented and good quality hotel with helpful staff in a nice part of Waikiki and is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. A good place to be if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the main street.

There are fantastic views of Diamond Head from the beach and if you turn right out onto the beach between the two restaurants, you can walk along a path on the beach front that leads to a bigger beach and lagoon, both of which are pretty nice.

Breakfasts in the Ocean House are delicious and the service excellent.

There are activities going on each day, the highlight of which for me was a ukulele lesson!!! And there is live music playing outside each evening.

Finally, they have wedding vow renewals twice a week on the beach. And a brilliant Christmas Shop! All in all, a very chilled place to stay.

Loved every minute!! Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The higher the better. We were on the 15th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank K_The_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is our second visit /holiday at this hotel we always get adjoining rooms /ocean view for our two teenagers the great thing about tis is that your on the 10th floor it has its own express lift from the ground floor ground up to the floor non stop it might not sound much but beleive me the major hotels in waikiki are so busy arund this time of year its fantastic to have a express lift ,also the hotel is in a excellent position right out front is the waikiki walk with many restaurants and the best ABC store in waikiki , overall a great family hotel !!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paulie1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Hotel location is good, beach is cloudy, but can see turtles topping water from time to time. Biggest complaint was parking. It cost twice per day what I rented my jeep for and needed...$35 per day. Was told before we left it was $20 and that there was self parking available. Was told by parking that i would have to walk across town to self park for the same money. That was a LIE! 6 days after taxes was over $300! There are very nice and way better hotels and resorts you can get for the same or less money with FREE parking. Try Turtle Bay, way better beaches, much nicer staff with a hotel that is better than anything on the Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texashillcountry978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,837 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing