We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pacifica, CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Our Second Stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was our second stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. The first was in 2010. We booked a City View Suite room, which is ONLY available on the hotel's website. These rooms book early. It cost about $60 more than a standard city-view room, but included two rooms, a sofa bed, and two balconies. Much more room than a standard room, which made our stay MUCH more comfortable. Highly recommended.

The only downside for this hotel is that THERE ARE NO QUEEN BEDS anywhere in the hotel - only doubles or kings. That makes it a little cramped for family sleeping accommodations.

Hotel service was excellent and it's great to be truly on the beach. That's the reason we stayed here again.

The hotel features daily activities for kids and families, like ukulele lessons, lei making, storytelling, etc.

Another benefit of this hotel is that it's right next door to the Hale Koa military resort. You can walk down the beach a bit and visit Happy's Snack Bar for cheap lunch/dinner options. See my other review.

Room Tip: Book a City View Suite which is only available from the hotel's website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jguillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,281
    1,869
    436
    128
    81
See reviews for
1,664
2,706
157
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We spent a week in this hotel. Arrival, check-in, etc. was smooth and efficient. We booked a "no view" room and when we entered our room we faced a building from our balcony. But we were delighted that when you actually step out onto the balcony we had an ocean view. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the balcony every night. Ocean Tower - 8th floor.

Great location for shopping, dining, etc. Hotel was modern, rooms well appointed, clean and comfortable. Breakfast by the pool was delicious and affordable. My first complaint is that the beachfront area (while lovely) is small and the ocean floor in this area is rocks and reef. My husband, daughter and myself all cut up our feet wading into the water. If you choose this hotel (which I WOULD again) - bring reef shoes and your own snorkel mask. Because there is reef turtles show up and fish are easily spotted.

My second complaint is the Oro Gold beauty products store that you MUST walk by to get to the elevator - are annoying. First they hand you a sample. Then they try to drag you in and hard sell you on products that are ridiculously over priced. It gets old walking past this store and waving the sales girls off time after time. After my return home I Googled the products and the item they tried to pitch me for $300 goes for $125 on Amazon.

On-site coin laundry is expensive at $3 per wash and $2.75 per dry. Plus a machine that sells soap. We brought a couple of Tide pods and it saved us from buying soap. If you don't bring quarters a gift shop upstairs near the laundry will sell you quarters.

Poolside drinks are pricey but I enjoyed them and indulged because---- after all --- I'm on vacation! I would stay here again, and I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Even if you select a NO View room ask for the Ocean Tower. It's the tower closest to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pipermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Aloha pipermama,
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our focus is to ensure guest satisfaction and we are pleased that the services we provided were excellent and you truly enjoyed your visit with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies about the pressure from the Orogold. We will pass on your feedback to Senior Management and will continue to work with Orogold for ways to get their point across in a non-aggressive, non-repetitive matter. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you and your family in the future.
Aloha & Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Family and I arrived at the Outrigger Reef on July 4th. There was absolutely no waiting for check in which left us plenty of time to explore our surroundings. The hotel is exceptionally clean and we were treated extremely well by each employee....(every person in Hawaii for that matter).
The beach is very small, but if you are willing to walk a short distance, you'll find all the space you need. That is not a reflection on the hotel as they are not able to "make" more beach space.
We rented a vehicle for the entire length of our stay. (Parking rates are exorbitant). Several fabulous public parks on or in close proximity to beaches. Took a trip up to the north shore and noticed bus stops for the entire distance. That being said, if you chose not to rent a car, you can still go almost anyplace on the island. (I'm sure the bus will take longer).
Tons of upscale shopping within walking distance (5 minutes or less).
We went to the Paradise Cove luau. If you book via the hawaiidiscount website, you can save on transportation costs. (Nearly $40 for the three of us). The food was not great but the experience was well worth the price.
Visit to Pearl Harbor was awesome. A must see.
I could go on forever but I won't.
Hawaii and this hotel are absolutely fabulous. Nothing but pleasant things to say!! Had I not lost my diamond bracelet, I'd have nothing but fond memories. :(
Aloha!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MsPam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Nothing really to complain about here. I like the location as it's very convenient, but also on the slightly less crowded part of Waikiki beach. As you walk along the beach towards the Sheraton and the other Outrigger property, it becomes ridiculously crowded, but no more convenient. Beds were comfortable enough, room was clean, and service was professional. We stayed in a partial ocean view room and it was pretty much as described. It was nice hearing the ocean with the lanai doors opened. The casual restaurant downstairs has good drink specials... be careful with those mai tai's, they go down a little too easy. The fancier restaurant had excellent prime rib, but it was 10 bucks for a pina colada, so also be careful.

If you want a nice place with a prime location, I can recommend this property to you - go for the ocean view. If you're too budget conscious to upgrade the view, then stay a couple blocks inland and save $$.

Nothing to do with the hotel, but my advice to a first time Hawaii traveller is to not spend too much time in Waikiki... Once we ventured out, we felt more relaxed and on vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean view pretty awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VancouverCanuck77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Where to start.....the property is in a good location and is on the beach as promised. What you don't know until you get here is just how small the beach is, how crowded it is and the worst part is how rocky and unusable the beach is. The sand quickly changes to course sand, the rock and/or reef so unless you brough a floatie, you can't even stand in shallow water and enjoy the light surf.

We were in room 315 on our first night after arriving. This room had a great ocean view but also all the noise that came from the beach. This included a small group of kids swimming fulling clothed and screaming until 1:00am. After finally getting to sleep, we were awoken again at 3:00am by two drunk couples fighting on the beach. Local police had to be called and things quited down at 5:00am.

We were transfered to a different room for the next night, room 917 which kept the beach noise away but it has been used as a smoking room. So we got to chose between not sleeping or not smelling like cigarette smoke. I am glad we only scheduled 2 nights here.

When we arrived the facility was very crowded and it took more than 90 minutes to get our bags delivered to our room. The rooms were clean, neat and well maintained.

We at 3 meals here and the food is on the lines of something you would get at a Chili's. I had coconut shrimp and they were obviously frozen not fresh and were not hand dipped here. The drinks were overly sugary and nothing special.

I was caught off guard by the traffic, the crowds and the noise. This is not the place to stay for relaxation.

Room Tip: Get above the 6th floor and confirm the room has not been a smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WoodlandsTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Aloha,
It is always difficult to respond to negative comments as we do strive for excellence. I will definitely share your feedback with the staff. We always recommend that you view the property or destination of choice ahead of time so the facilities appeal & meet your needs.
The beach is public access & I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced regarding the noise.
I am also happy you sought assistance from our Managers & they were able to find a resolution for your family from that experience. It was not our intention to assign you a room that had an odor of smoke, on the contrary, our State & hotel is committed to enforcing the smoke free law as we want to provide all our guests a safe & healthy environment. Our goal is to have each of our guests be satisfied with our services and accommodations, and feel good about recommending our hotel to their friends and acquaintances.
While we did not fully achieve this goal during your overall stay, I sincerely hope that you are now assured of our intent and will allow us to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Loved the location, near beach and near beach walk- restaurants are everywhere! Rooms are on the small side- but you don't stay in for very long! Service was great everywhere- everyone from valet, bell desk, housekeeping, activities desk were very friendly. We were lucky not to be bothered by time share people at all. The best part is that you walk right to beach from back side of hotel. The beach was rocky... But so beautiful you don't mind after awhile. We loved walking around beach- at all times, felt safe. Only disapoointment was Shorebird, too busy to enjoy the grilling and got table in back, not good lighting and kinda on too warm since not getting cool breeze. Despite that, we would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carolynchase13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Aloha Carolyn,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear we're one of the best!
Please know that I have forwarded your comments to the management of The Shore Bird; we all welcome feedback & suggestions.
We are looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
MAHALO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was our first time at the Outrigger, though we had stayed at a nearby resort along Waikiki/Kalia Road a couple years back. We really enjoyed our stay--excellent location with close proximity to great food and shopping, easy access to beach, albeit fairly crowded, when you wanted it, and a nice pool area with accompanying whirlpool/hot tubs. We also appreciated the free internet access, so frustrating to be charged separately for at many high-end hotels, as well as the workout facility, which offered a very reasonable range of equipment. Overall, the on-site food options were quite good, though our least favorite was the poolside grill, where the service was somewhat lacking. The Ocean House was our favorite; we enjoyed several breakfasts there and enjoyed good food with a beautiful ocean view. While we paid a fair amount for daily on-site parking, the valet service was excellent, and the staff very personable and attentive. Our room was clean and bright and in good repair, with a nice little lanai looking out onto the pool and partial ocean view. The housekeeping staff, when we saw them, were very personable. We didn't use the spa services, but they were certainly available on site should you want to take advantage of them. We appreciated that they offered organized activities if you wanted them, but there was no sales pressure whatsoever. We would definitely stay at the Outrigger again should we plan to stay in the Waikiki area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Annette171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,971 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing