We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel for a Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Once again my partnet and I spent our annual holiday at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach Hotel and left again full of praise for the friendly and most helpful attitude of all staff, the restaurants and in hotel entertainment. The assistance given to us with an early check-in (Jetstar arrives 0700) was in itself excellent and we will certainly be back again to the Reef for our eight visit to Waikiki.
The wonderful dance group comprising young children to those a little oder who performed for all guests at the lighting of the christmas tree is an event we hope The Reef management will be able to continue with.
I've praised this hotel before and can only say the high standards they have set were again evident on this visit . A hotel worth putting on your list of places to stay in Waikiki.

Room Tip: The partial ocean view rooms on the higher floors have better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,444 - 2,450 of 6,069 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stay in Outrigger Riff on the Beach 6 night. We come back on December 5, 2013. We love that place. Close to everywhere. Outrigger has 2 good places to have a breakfast , some diner. Also discount at "happy hours"

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We just returned from 3 days at Outrigger Reef on the Beach. Loved our room on the 10th floor of the ocean front bldg. We had an awesome view of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Everyone from the concierge, bellmen and shopkeepers were helpful and friendly. I took hula and ukulele lessons. Ate at every restaurant, the Poolside food was the best and so were the drinks. We rented paddle boards for 2 hrs and were able to go way out right up front. You could stroll through several other hotel lobbies, to see what was happening within a few blocks. The new open air shopping mall along the main drag was fabulous and great for window shopping, coffee, Hawaiian cookies etc, etc!! I would definitely stay there again, wasn't too fancy, felt authentically Hawaiian, and not overly crowded.

Room Tip: Pay extra for Ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crazy Mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is right on the beach and from our 4th floor partial ocean view room we were on the beach in less than a minute. The room was very clean and the fridge was very useful for storing the extra food we brought back from restaurants and for drinks. The room was spacious enough and the balcony was lovely to AIT out on in the morning just as the sun was rising. Towels for the pool or beach were available from the pool attendant, the pool was very refreshing and there always seemed to be loungers available, although some were 'reserved' with towels for several hours without the attendant removing them.

The concierge and reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the only ones to watch out for are the Wyndham resort staff disguised as the activity centre. We escaped being British as the likelihood of us buying a timeshare was pretty slim, but they were still quite forceful. Its not worth claiming your free gift, as you have to sit through a 2 hour presentation, just take the free map of Waikiki.

The shorebird restaurant is very pleasant for breakfast except for the pigeons, however the staff do try their best to shoo them away. Afternoon cocktails you have to check with the hostess before seating as the waitress will be quite rude to you if you just choose a table, its odd as during the night time happy hour you have a free reign of any seat! I think its because they do a sunset happy hour eating deal, so would rather people didn't hog the seats right onto the beach to watch sunset without eating. There are polite ways of saying so though. The id ea of charging everything to your room is great, but what they didn't tell us is that instead of cash, we had to carry ID to prove that it was our room, I bit frustrating at times.

There are several shops in the hotel, my favourite being the Christmas shop where we bought our souvenir tree decoration.

Overall, the hotel was of a high standard and staff very friendly and helpful. Its in a prime on the beach setting but doesn't come with the same premium as some of the others, mainly because its at one end of the strip. Easily walkable to all the shops and Waikiki beach walk. If we ever make it back to Waikiki we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view was great, for the amount of time we spent in our room it wouldn't have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montonmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I was at this hotel back in 2007 in September this hotel is in a great location, got an airport pick up for the hotel with VIP not a bad service it was great, if you are an ocean viewer you will pay a little more for the view, get yourself a map an a bus route it not that bad you get to see a lot of Hawaii by riding the bus , or if you like to walk like I do the shops are all up an down the street, the beach is clean an not that bad in the AM. Breakfast at Denny's was good just on the other side of the street. the rooms are clean an not that small I say just right, the service is great , the pool is deep at one end so if you have kids I hope they can swim if keep an eye on them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank franksgogetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Outrigger Reef (stayed there Nov. 2013) was really comfortable. The location is on the beach on a quiet back street, a block from main drag Kalakaua. It's conveniently located and the service is very good. Tara and Lizz at the Activities desk were helpful and fun to interact with while Dexter and Violet at the poolside Kani Ka Pila Grille took good care of us. The Outrigger Reef is highly recommended because in terms of hotel the atmosphere is easy, breezy just like The Aloha State itself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ugmcdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My family and I recently took a trip to Hawaii and had an awesome time! Unfortunately, it did not start out being awesome due to our transfer service and the hotel. We scheduled our pick-up from the airport with VIP. They were very unprofessional. Upon arrival no one bothered to take our bags to place on the cart. Therefore we had to walk with our bags as we waited for the other passengers to arrive. Once all of the passengers arrived and we walked to the bus, they told my family and I that we needed to carry our bags onto the bus so that our bags wouldn’t get mixed up with the other passengers’ bags. Please note there were maybe 4 other families riding on this huge bus with us. Once we arrived to the hotel, the driver had to let us off on the street, because the bus couldn’t pull into the hotel. We had to take our luggage off of the bus and when we got mid-way someone met us with the rolling cart to take our luggage. One thing to consider is when you book your transportation you might want to reserve a mini van or use a car service to avoid being let off at the curb. I noticed using the bus; everyone will have to be let off at the curb, because the buses are too big to drive up to the front of the hotel. The Outrigger on the Beach is very basic. After reading all of the reviews for the hotel, I was a little disappointed. Although their website sited that the hotel recently went through a $100 million dollar renovation, I did not see it in the lobby décor or rooms. We stayed in the partial ocean view with a king size bed, and it wasn’t that big. The pool area is small. There is a tiny area marked off for 5 feet and then it drops down to 9 feet! Even the beach area marked off for the hotel was small. What made matters even worst, they had a time share desk set up right in the lobby. The trip concierge was useless. While I was booking my excursions, I felt that I was schooling her! One plus to staying at the Outrigger is that there is no hotel fee and Wi-Fi is free. Most hotels in Waikiki charge you a hotel fee, which includes Wi-Fi. Another plus was the Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar. The restaurant offers a cool feature where you can grill your own dinner. Even if you don’t stay at the hotel, I think it is a fun thing to do while you are there. I wouldn’t bother having breakfast at the hotel because there is a Starbucks located inside of the Outrigger. The last plus is that the hotel has happy hour. Not all hotels offer happy hour, but you can find a bar or a restaurant within working distance that has it. I would not rate this hotel a 4.5 but a strong 3. If you are on a budget and you are looking for a clean place to lay your head, by all means stay there. But if you are looking at staying at a resort, don’t waste your time, because you will be disappointed. After staying two nights, we decided to transfer to the Royal Hawaiian!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DReedNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,219 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £203 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing