We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I typically don't care too much about hotels on a vacation, but this one just made it fantastic. Even after reading the reviews here, since it was my first time in Hawaii (my wife had her first honeymoon here), I opted to go all out and get an ocean front room. WOW! Sunsets from the balcony, drapes open for the view whenever we were there, falling asleep and waking to the sound of the surf. Did I say WOW! The room was modern, spacious and quiet. A nice size in room safe held cameras, tablets, a purse, everything we wanted to leave on a daily basis. Restaurants were a short walking distance, be it Top of Honolulu or Subway (right next door and great for a quick bite when trying to get out the door). It didn't matter if we left first thing in the morning or at 2:00 in the afternoon, we returned to a clean room with our effects untouched.

The negatives (I said fantastic, not perfect) would have to start with the in room coffee. Worst anywhere, ever. Don't bother bringing your own, the machines just make horrible coffee. Fortunately, a Starbuck's is at the front of the hotel, so a quick run brought something drinkable. The restaurants in the hotel were just okay (we tried them all), opting several times for the casual one by the pool since it had live music and decent food and usually didn't need a reservation. None were worth writing home about. Also, and this is probably typical, parking is expensive, more than our rental car cost over the course of a week. The price of freedom.

Finally, a quick shout out to Dino, who has a photo stand on the beach right below our balcony (I swear he looks like George Carlin). You know how you rarely seem to have pictures of you and your spouse together on vacation. Try many pictures of the two of you, in leis with 6 parrots perched on your arms, with Diamond Head and the ocean in the background, on your own camera! WOW!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for an ocean front room above the 5th floor. Nobody looking in your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sdcabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,271
    1,867
    436
    127
    81
See reviews for
1,655
2,705
157
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We checked in went to our connecting rooms which were not even ready.Had to go back to reception with our luggage & advise them the rooms were not ready & to kindly find us a room that has been cleaned & ready.That took them another 30 minutes to look for 2 rooms for us.Rooms are very small.Queen beds they were not more like double beds & we paid for queen beds,room was located above the bar so it was noisy.Breakfast was only free if you signed up to see a video on the hotel group.Which we didn't know about so they kept hassling us to watch the video which takes 2 hours.Otherwise we wouldn't pay to eat breakfast there.You had to pay for chairs & umbrellas if you go to the beach otherwise use your towel.Wear water shoes as there are a lot of rocks in the water.Not much to the hotel.Only good thing was Starbucks at the front.You only had a coffee filter machine with paper cups & wooden stirrers, no tea bags, we had to boil the water through coffee machine.Toilet & Shower together.Basin is outside with coffee filter.Beds very soft & pillows not new.
The only good thing about this hotel was it was close to all the cafes,shops etc.
We would not stay here again.Was not impressed with this hotel. We intially booked the Sheraton but my daughter got a group booking here. I would not recommend this hotel to people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of hotel not near the front of hotel or next to bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Motherhen408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2169, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Aloha Motherhen408 and thank you for your comments on your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We're sorry to learn that our hotel did not meet your expectations - we apologize for the mix-up upon your check-in, your breakfast option and the beach operator rental experience. Our reviews are overwhelmingly positive and we feel badly that you were disappointed. Next time you return to Honolulu, should you decide to give us another opportunity, our team will meet your expectations and deliver a product and service that you'll enjoy. Please feel free to email the hotel in advance and we'll do our best. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is my 'go to' hotel when in Waikiki. Good value, clean comfortable rooms and excellent service! The partial ocean view rooms are wonderful with juliette balconies where you can enjoy your morning tea or coffee from the coffee machine provided in the room (or Starbucks if someone is willing to make the run to the lobby!) or a glass of wine later in the day from the bottle that you stored in the mini fridge later in the day. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. Stop at the Wyndham desk to get a $20 off for a spa visit sans obligation. Head down to the beach front in the morning and rent a beach chair from Bruno, beach concierge extraordinaire who will set you up in the perfect spot and make sure that your time spent on the beach is perfect. Yes it costs money to rent the beach chairs and umbrellas but it's worth it. $30 for a 1/2 day and nobody was rushing us out of our chairs when 'time was up'. Spend the morning at the beach when the pool is typically in the shade and then move up to poolside for happy hour. Say hello to Ray or Eddie in the K'an a pali bar poolside. Eddie makes an awesome margarita on the rocks and both Ray and Eddie go out of their way to make your time at the bar great. There is usually a little band that plays which just adds to the atmosphere. Don't forget to check out the daily activities sheet in case you want to learn how to play the ukele! There is always something happening.

All in all this is a great spot for solo travellers, couples or families. I always enjoy coming back to the Outrigger Reef as I know I'm guaranteed satisifaction with the hotel and a great time while I'm in Waikiki!

Room Tip: Ask for partial ocean view --it's worth it -- Overlooking the pool is great, mostly quiet and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cdntraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is our third stay @ outrigger reef on the beach.The location is insane.
We are a family of 4 and being close to restaurants and amenities are extremely important (especially feeding a couple of teenagers)
The hotel was extremely professional when we requested a specific room ,we called the hotel prior to our stay and they blocked the room for us....extremely impressed!
We would def stay here again and again...and trust me I am picky...Aloha

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timbit33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Good location, close to restaurants and shopping. Reception staff and housekeeping staff helpful and friendly. Some of the porters were not very helpful as we were travelling with 20 other family members. The rooms are a little dated and the double beds are not very big, we had to share a room with our oldest daughter, the rooms are small. Housekeeping were very helpful in helping me get back some things that were left in our room on our return to Australia.

Room Tip: Definitely get queen or king sized beds if you like more room when sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineS848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed for 7 days after staying on the other side of the island. When we arrived we could check in straight away at 11am. We were offered an upgrade so went to see the room first then took the offer as it was to a 1 bedroom suite with great views for not much more, a great idea to offer at check in. We were happy from when we walked in, the room was clean and not outdated as you read about some resorts in Waikiki. There was heaps of space for us, 2 adults and 2 kids, with a view of the pool and the ocean. The room had a small fridge and microwave, not sure on the microwave as there was no cutlery or plates. The pool is a great size with 3 spas and there was never a problem in getting a deck chair. The pool had sun from mid morning to late afternoon which you could not tell from the photo as there is another building right next to it but that was not a problem. Right on the beach and close to shops, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there longer next time as we walked along the beach and most of the other resort pools were packed to over flowing. This one was a hidden gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timeaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Outrigger Reef is in the perfect location - right on the beachfront at the quieter end of Waikki Beach. The hotel itself has lovely rooms although our room was a little dark as it faced the hotel next door. If staying here I would suggest you book either an Oviedo room or one overlooking the pool. The two restaurants were lovely in particular The Ocean House Restaurant for breakfast offered a lot of fresh choices and reasonably priced. I preferred this to the buffet breakfast at The Shore Bird.
The only negative was the people who were hawking facial cream from one of the shops in the lobby. They were quite aggressive and persistent and they were there every time I walked passed to exit the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool or of a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyTravelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,962 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing