We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things about this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't say enough good things about this place”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed for 5 nights here in Sept/Oct and can't say enough good things about the staff and the accommodation. My husband and I had our two kids with us aged 8 and 14 and they were very accommodating with the extra cot for my youngest. Rooms were cleaned every day and standard excellent. The tour desks were very helpful and restaurant at pool very friendly and great food. Definitely resort accommodation.

Even though we got upgraded to top floor, the standard would have been there for each room and we really only spent night in the rooms so much to do during the day.

Room Tip: Get to the nearest ABC store for breakfast/lunch options. Cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoenigFamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,295
    1,883
    442
    130
    82
See reviews for
1,683
2,721
157
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The location of this hotel puts you in amongst the action in Waikiki. There are upmarket restaurants and bars nearby, as well as shops and cafes on the main strip. The hotel also has its direct access to the beach.

Rooms are the standard size, room for twin beds and a sofa. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool. Noise from the outside wasn't an issue either. Everything you would expect from a hotel room is available here such as flatscreen TV, decent sized bathroom with basic amenities, ample wardrobe space with in-room safe, minibar and daily housekeeping. You do get in-room wifi, as well as free calls to any landline or mobile/cellphone within Hawaii and the mainland USA.

The pool is usually full of kids in the afternoon. They give you towels at the poolside stand, sometimes manned and sometimes you just help yourself. There is a bar right next to the pool, whcih has musical performances every night to entertain you. There are also pricey stores in the arcade connected to the lobby.

I managed to make us of their gym. A little outdated, but it had the right equipment and not overly busy.

Parking is available for $25 per day and is valet only. So that usually brings up the cost when you throw in all the tips you give when they park and collect your car. Even more so if you are in and out of the hotel in a single day. They should allow you to park yourself, like the Sheraton does next door.

Overall, a basic and standard hotel, nothing spectacular, but expect to pay more for this place since it is located right on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the tome to compliment our hotel and staff in your Trip Advisor comments you recently submitted! It is indeed gratifying to know that the efforts of our staff do not go unrecognized.

I am always pleased when our guests take the time to share their experiences, both positive and negative. Like any other resort we have our share of challenges, and our guests’ feedback provides us with valuable insights regarding the quality of our service and facilities. Your use and appreciation of our guest room , pool, restaurants and Valet services prove we are achieving our commitment to serving our guests in every capacity possible.

Rest assured I will pass your kind words on to all concerned. We think of our guests as old friends who should not stay away too long so may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach on a future visit to Hawaii?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent a couple of days at this hotel on our way home following 9 days in New York. Unfortunately our travel agent booked for us, and it turned out to be a room with no view. However the reception gave us the option to upgrade to a pool side room, at very little additional cost. It was well worth it. The rooms are amazing, comfortable beds, service is superb and hotel facilities are exceptional. It is centrally located, and basically is on the waters edge. The restaurants were top class. We hope to return here in a years time, and spend a lot more time sightseeing.

Room Tip: If you can afford, book a room with an ocean view or at least a poolside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here on travels during stopover from Melbourne to San Francisco
Good
1. There's a real nice island feel to this hotel. You know you're in Hawaii, where as the more impressive Trump has a feel that you could be anywhere in the world. Nice live music by the pool in the evenings.
2. Pretty good value for a hotel in this location. Short 5 minute walk to the main Waikiki beach for some surfing, close to Kalakaua Ave and Ala Moana shops (walkable).
3. Views from the shorebird are nice of Diamond Head
Bad
1. The large gym is located in a basement area.
Other stuff...Being a large hotel, we were able to get room access at around 8am after a 6am arrival from Melbourne. Another reviewer mentioned this too, which is such an amazing relief given how much this helps to allow immediate sleep to overcome the red eye flight from Melbourne instead of hanging around town until 3pm with limited sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agent_bx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spent a lovely week here with family. We were two families,and the hotel gave us to corner rooms, which had a connecting vestibule which allowed for privacy for each family but easy access to both rooms. The rooms are very spacious with a generous balcony. The housekeeping staff are lovely and happy to accommodate if you need extra time in the room. The room service meals are served promptly and are high quality. The hotel staff are very helpful. The location of the hotel gives easy access to all attractions. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myoc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Take my advice and don't stay here. Thank god we were only there for one night before heading back home. The room was tiny and the so called balcony was almost non-existant. The balcony was literally 1 m away from this other building and it felt like a jail being there. There are far better hotels than this one in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
16 Thank 294CourtneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Aloha! Please accept our sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your overall stay with us. It is unfortunate that our guestroom did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to give the hotel a call and speak with a Manager on Duty regarding your stay. With more information, we would be happy to look into this as we would like to get a second chance to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We just returned from a Christmas holiday staying at the Outrigger Reef. This hotel is beachfront to Waikiki. It has been extensively renovated to a very high standard. Immaculately clean with friendly knowledgeable staff. There are three restaurants two beachfront. The fine dining, "The Ocean House Restaurant" has excellent food, although somewhat pricey. service was commiserate to the price, excellent. The "Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar" has a buffet breakfast at 50% off second meal. It has an extensive array of seasonal fruit and only costs US$14.95. We will certainly stay there next time.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the "Ocean Tower", high floor if booking an ocean view. For full ocean fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing