We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel has many, many features that probably makes it one of the best places to stay when in Honolulu.
Aside from the free Wifi, central location right on Wikiki Beach, the excellent customer service, the comfortable bed, and the very nicely decorated rooms the cost of staying here is what I would consider a good value.
I stayed 4 nights and had an Ocean view room for under $ 1,200 which included all fees and taxes.
If you rent a vehicle, parking is $ 35/ day through valet service. But I must say the valet
service was excellent, if a bit pricey.
I had read other comments prior to making my reservations, but discounted the bad comments about the in room coffee maker, since I have never found any hotel whose coffee maker provided a good cup of coffee. The ground floor dose have a Starbucks right in the lobby area and very convenient.
And speaking of convenience, there are 3 choices for dining in this hotel and everyone of them are very good. The Ocean House is the most elegant and expensive (diner about $50/person)
and I ate there once, and absolutely delicious. The Shorebird is a kind of buffet where dinner and a drink will run about $ 35/person, you pick the main entrée, grill it yourself, and at the buffet you can get side dishes, salads, and desserts. The quality of the buffet it really good.
The Kani ka Pila Grille is outdoor bar and grille and the burgers, fries, and menu items
are fairly good, the entertainment that is there every night is OUTSTANDING.
What a pleasure to return to this hotel every evening after some adventure or excursion and sit down and have a drink and listen to the beautiful Island music. Thanks Outrigger Reef for the lovely vacation experience.

Room Tip: I had a room that was on the same side as the DeRussy Beach Park and I thought I had great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Mahalo for sharing this wonderful comment with us “best place to stay when in Honolulu”. Kani Ka Pila has been a wonderful addition to our service, providing wonderful Hawaiian music from some of the best know artist in town. I must share with you that Starbuck and Ocean House are my two favorite places on property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,222
    1,850
    431
    119
    78
See reviews for
1,625
2,668
154
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
235 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The location was great - right on the beach, walking distance to many places (including the international market), and right next door to the Army Museum. Our Penthouse Ocean view room was very nice, clean, and adequate in size with an awesome view of the Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. The staff made you feel special and appreciated. There are good restaurants nearby and on premises. I would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysugarpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Aloha mysugarpie,

Thank you for your nice review of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and for letting us know you liked our central location and rooms. We’re especially happy to know that our staff made you feel special and appreciated, as that is one of our top priorities. We are very appreciative that you would recommend us and that you will stay here again. A hui hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a 5 nights in a standard city view room with a view over the pool. The room was large and it was nice to have an fridge, couch and small balcony to eat our breakfast on. The service staff were great especially those by the pool and the pool was great to swim in. Also enjoyed the happy hour for cheap drinks. That's the upside.
The downside - avoid at all costs the people at the Activities Centre; they want to sell you timeshares, it is not an activities centre at all! If you need to know anything ask the bell clerk at the front of the hotel - they will give you advice and book you shuttles.
The beach outside the hotel is small but quiet but don't make the mistake thinking that the loungers are free - they are not. It costs you $50 for the day for 2 chairs and an umbrella.
Overall it is a lovely spot and I would stay there again and if you want to cut down on food costs go to the ABC convenience store right near the hotel in Lewers Street (they are also just about on every street).

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room higher up in the hotel and if you are willing to pay extra a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Aloha HelenBall and thank you for your review of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach! We're delighted that overall, you were pleased with your stay at our hotel and look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future. Thank you for your feedback on our activities center - we'll be reviewing this arrangement in the near future and will work on improving the experience afforded our hotel guests. And regarding the beach and the umbrellas rentals, while on the beach fronting our hotel, this operation is an entirely separate business, but one that management will be meeting with soon to review and discuss maximizing the hotel guest experience. Again, mahalo for your feedback on your recent experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Ocean view rooms was beautiful and roomy. Staff was fantastic, everyone very helpful. Ate at The Ocean House and The Shorebird just okay better food down the beach. Great location for walking to great shops and restaurants. Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeagain2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Aloha hopeagain2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and for your great comments on our rooms, location and staff. We’re so happy that you would stay here again. It will be our pleasure to be your mea ho`okipa (host) for your return visit. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We just got back from an 8 night stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We had a partial ocean view room that was spacious and it was nice to have a refrigerator, couch, and a safe in the room. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and it was always cleaned well.

We actually ate at all 3 of the restaurants. The Ocean House had a great breakfast, The Shorebird had good lunch selections & a bar. We had dinner one night at the Kani Ka Pila Grille and used the coupon from the book provided, the food was good and so was the price. It was also convenient to have a Starbucks in the hotel.

The beach is small, but we were out there fairly early and put down our mats & towels. We walked along Waikiki beach and found it way more crowded in the other areas and that is one thing I liked about our beach - not quite as crowded. We bought tubes (ABC store) to float out in the ocean and tried the stand up paddle board. If you are walking in the ocean, it is rocky and I would recommended water shoes.

It is great to be able to walk anywhere from the hotel. Lots of great restaurants and shopping within blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k0lesarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to compliment our hotel in your review. It is indeed gratifying to know that the efforts of our staff, especially our Housekeeping staff, do not go unrecognized.

We were delighted to see that you chose to be our guest on your 8 day stay! And even more appreciative that you were able to experience all of our restaurants on property as well as the beautiful (and uncrowded) beach located right out front of our hotel. Your tip on wearing beach shoes while wading out will come in very handy as our name suggests, there is a reef out there!

Again, mahalo for your compliments and taking the time to share all of your wonderful Hawaiian experiences with everyone. We look forward to your return visit with us! ALOHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We've just spent 9 nights at this hotel right on the beach at Waikiki. It's the third time we've stayed there and have been thoroughly satisfied each time. The facilities are good, including a nice pool and bar, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We were able to secure a corner room that has extra space and a balcony with a view of the water. Breakfast at the Shorebird restaurant was excellent, very reasonably priced ($15 but then you get a discount voucher for your next visit) & with a very good range of food. The hotel is also only a short walk to lots of shops, bars and restaurants. We'll certainly be returning when we're next holidaying in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Pay the extra if you can for a corner room as the extra space is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vontoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor posting. We are delighted to know that you are a repeat guest & that you enjoyed your room location, the pool, Shorebird, the facilities & the friendliness of our staff. I will be sharing your comments with them. We look forward to have you back as our guest when you visit our islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our final hotel after 3 weeks visiting America. Service was ok staff not really attentive to customer needs. More interested in selling timeshare which we got caught up in and wasted a whole day. The hotel its self was wonderful right on the beach. But walking through to get to the beach you where bombarded with Ori gold staff trying to sell creams which became annoying. Breakfast was terrible no toast coffee crap. Lucky Starbucks is located just outside. Rooms nice but the balcony which we paid extra for could only fit one person. Next time will try somewhere else. The bar outside was great staff awesome and made a really good Bloody Mary. They were the only ones who showed they really care about you.

Room Tip: Really do your homework some people like it some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Knox-j-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I would to express our sincere apology for the dissatisfaction with your recent stay. We recently added a sign for Wyndham Vacation in an attempt to differentiate between the vacation resort and our service desks in the lobby.
Thank you for the positive comments about the staff at Kani Ka Pila bar and restaurant. I am glad to see that they had a chance to provide the service level that we strive for and that we would like every guest to receive from all hotel staff.
Your review is being shared with all the departments, desks and restaurants in the hotel and will be addressed during our daily staff service training. Once again, thank you for staying at the Outrigger Reef on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing