We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel, Accommodating Staff, Expensive Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I am disgusted by bugs - but I knew I was going to a green island in the middle of the ocean, so I expected to encounter some. In this hotel - I DID NOT! The hotel has a very unassuming entrance to their open air lobby - look for the A-frame driveway. Be aware that it costs $35 per night (not including daily out gratuities) to valet your car - there is no self parking at this hotel. But everything else about the hotel is very good. Check-In was easy - we stayed in a moderate/standard room in the Ocean Tower with a glimpse of the ocean from the balcony of the 6th floor. The beds were comfortable for us - not too hard, not too soft, plenty of pillows. The rooms are air conditioned, there is a small refrigerator, and there is a safe to store your valuables. The beach was clean and roomy enough, but to rent the loungers and umbrella be prepared to pay $10 per hour per person. The Shore Bird Restaurant has a good breakfast buffet for about $15 a person, and for dinner you prepare your own meat over a large grill - with instructions if you need it. Food quality was good. We renewed our vows with a group of six other couples on the beach after sunrise one morning - complimentary for guests - and it was a very nice ceremony. There was a photographer onsite taking photos and you had a chance to purchase what you wanted - we did and are glad. We felt the hotel did a great job with this free service. We were comfortable, it was clean, and if I had to go to Waikiki again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KFed89052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Aloha KFed89052,
Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are happy to hear that you found our property comfortable, clean (and bug-free) and our staff accommodating. Regarding parking, our rates are comparable to other Waikiki properties however an option for our guests is day car rentals (Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located in our lower lobby). Our property is in close proximity and within walking distance or easily accessible via bus to many attractions so a car for your entire stay may not be necessary. We are also glad that you were able to experience our Vow Renewal ceremony that is exclusive for our guests. As you know, it is such a touching and special ceremony that words cannot describe. We hope you will be able to return soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,408 - 2,414 of 6,100 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We checked in on Monday the 27th and stayed til Saturday morning the 1st. The whole experience was fabulous! The room was excellent on the 14th floor overlooking the pool. Even though there's nightly entertainment down in the bar at the pool, it didn't bother us at all.

Check in was easy and excellent with Frank. He described the amenities very well to us. We were early and had to wait for our room as expected. We ended up at the pool bar where Sara quickly befriended us and kept in touch with the front desk so that she could let us know when our room was ready. The room was great with a king bed, couch, desk and dresser. The sink area was great and there was a fridge.

We were never once bothered by anyone trying to get us to buy time shares. We will definitely be back as this was a totally pleasurable experience.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your fabulous experience on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your compliments on the ease of your check-in and the excellent service provided by both Frank & Sara. Our staffs really enjoy hearing how they may have helped enhance our guests’ experiences and we will definitely share your review with them.

We forward to welcoming you back real soon!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great location in Waikiki! Very close to the restaurants and shopping of Waikiki. The rooms were clean and spacious. Pool was sizable and not too busy. Slightly disappointed with the service, in that we reserved a King and received 2 doubles. Also reserved a crib and did not receive it the first night. Concierge was great and got us an excursion to Pearl Harbor on short notice.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Reef on the beach. Please accept my sincere apology for the lack of service. Unfortunately on occasion, we receive more requests for a certain bed type one week and the following week is the reverse. We try as much as possible to provide the bedding accommodation on the following day. I am glad to hear that you find the Outrigger Reef on the beach to be a “Great location in Waikiki! and other services were great. Mahalo for sharing your comments with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here for four nights in September 2013. What a sensational location right on the beach and easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. The staff were fantastic, super friendly and helpful. We appreciated being able to use a room after we had checked out to shower and prepare for our late night long flight, what a lovely touch. We had an ocean view room which was superb. Oh and the Mai Tais in the bar are the best. We highly recommend this hotel and will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank NZFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha NZ Ffamily5,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments “Fantastic location and staff”. Yes, we are fortunate to have such a lovely property, right on the beach and also very fortunate to have excellent staff who are filled with the Aloha Spirit. We are all very thrilled by your comments. Thank you also for your feedback about the hospitality room that we provided you when you checked out. We realize that many of our guests have late departure flights and this complementary room to freshen up gives our guests a little extra time to enjoy Hawaii and our facilities before comfortably returning home. We are appreciative that you will highly recommend us and that you will be back. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Loved the authenticity of the Outrigger on the Beach. Hawaiian flare throughout. Location very convenient. We had a kingsize standard room which was fully equipped with safe, fridge, nice spacious balcony over looking pool and city. We were able to hear and enjoy the nightly entertainment from the balcony 6pm until 9pm every evening from our 3rd floor location. Rooms were super clean, staff friendly. Food and bar selections good. If it's your first time to Hawaii be sure that Oahu and Waikiki are what you are looking for. We found it to be too busy and very crowded beaches. In addition lounge chairs on the beach are rented and can go for up to $50US per day for 2 and an umbrella.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alittlesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations with all the amenities and spacious balcony overlooking the pool listening to the nightly local entertainment. In addition, we appreciate your positive feedback on our clean rooms and friendly staff as our goals are to enhance our guest’s experiences here at the Reef.

We look forward welcoming you back real soon!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was our first stay at the Outrigger Reef (altough we've been to Oahu many times in the past), and we were impressed. With the promo code valid at the time of booking and streching our budget, we were able to stay at this hotel for the last 5 days of our vacation.

Check-in was quick and efficient, and we had a partial oceanview room overlooking the pool. Room was clean, large and well appointed, no complaints there. It was also very quiet which is not so easy to find if you're on a budget in Waikiki... Pool area was nice although in the shade until about noon, there were plenty of lounge chairs, and we really loved the hot tubs when the weather was not as warm. Beach in front of the hotel is small, but if you walk 5 minutes either way you will find more room. Location was really good, you could walk to just about everything in the heart of Waikiki. We ate at the Shorebird once for dinner and a few times at lunch, it was good value especially for a hotel restaurant, food was good and the view was breathtaking,

We will definitely be back at the Reef!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DancerPrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Aloha! And mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for the kind reviews of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and for choosing to stay with us for the first time! We were happy to hear that you experienced a quick check in & found our rooms to be clean, large & well appointed. Our location right off the main avenue (Kalakaua) is quiet & a perfect place to relax, yet close enough to all of the restaurants and shops right outside our doorstep. The Shorebird Restaurant has one of the most exhilarating views of Waikiki Beach and our gorgeous sunsets. We are glad you chose to take it all in while enjoying lunch & dinner. Again, mahalo for your review. I do hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef and to satisfy your expectations with our spirit of Aloha.
A hui hou! (Until we meet again)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach at New Years and I loved it, they had an excellent staff that greets you at check in with a smile and tries to help you gain a positive experience with the Hotel. The room I stayed in was on the Penthouse floor which overlooked the Ocean and Diamond head, everyday a new view, fantastic. The Shore Bird restaurant and Bar is a must see even if you don't stay at the Hotel. The restaurant has a "You Cook It" menu, so if your an outdoor BBQ enthusiastic, this is the spot, they have all the spices and sauces and an excellent Salad Bar. The Bar offers great views of Waikiki Beach, and also offers paddle boards (for a price) but is great recreation. The hotel is located within a short walk to Lewers street which offers amazing shops and galleries. You might even see "Hawaii 5 0 being filmed.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gregu9120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Mahalo for taking the time to write a response on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the room, the location of the hotel & that you found the staff friendly & courteous.
It is good to know that you were able to enjoy the restaurants on property. I will definitely share your feedback with the staff. We hope you chose the Outrigger Reef on the Beach as your destination of choice if you visit our islands again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,233 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £187 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing