We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$483
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$641
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$621
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$393
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$513
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$414
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,194)
Filter reviews
6,194 results
Traveller rating
3,520
1,981
472
136
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,520
1,981
472
136
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe shore birdshorebird restaurantocean house restaurantpacific towerthe kani ka pila grilleocean frontpartial ocean viewwaikiki beachthe activities deskdiamond headtime shareour honeymooncity viewpool sidehawaiian musicoceanfront roommai tais
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,495 - 2,500 of 6,194 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I am disgusted by bugs - but I knew I was going to a green island in the middle of the ocean, so I expected to encounter some. In this hotel - I DID NOT! The hotel has a very unassuming entrance to their open air lobby - look for the A-frame driveway. Be aware that it costs $35 per night (not including daily out gratuities) to valet your car - there is no self parking at this hotel. But everything else about the hotel is very good. Check-In was easy - we stayed in a moderate/standard room in the Ocean Tower with a glimpse of the ocean from the balcony of the 6th floor. The beds were comfortable for us - not too hard, not too soft, plenty of pillows. The rooms are air conditioned, there is a small refrigerator, and there is a safe to store your valuables. The beach was clean and roomy enough, but to rent the loungers and umbrella be prepared to pay $10 per hour per person. The Shore Bird Restaurant has a good breakfast buffet for about $15 a person, and for dinner you prepare your own meat over a large grill - with instructions if you need it. Food quality was good. We renewed our vows with a group of six other couples on the beach after sunrise one morning - complimentary for guests - and it was a very nice ceremony. There was a photographer onsite taking photos and you had a chance to purchase what you wanted - we did and are glad. We felt the hotel did a great job with this free service. We were comfortable, it was clean, and if I had to go to Waikiki again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KFed89052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Aloha KFed89052,
Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are happy to hear that you found our property comfortable, clean (and bug-free) and our staff accommodating. Regarding parking, our rates are comparable to other Waikiki properties however an option for our guests is day car rentals (Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located in our lower lobby). Our property is in close proximity and within walking distance or easily accessible via bus to many attractions so a car for your entire stay may not be necessary. We are also glad that you were able to experience our Vow Renewal ceremony that is exclusive for our guests. As you know, it is such a touching and special ceremony that words cannot describe. We hope you will be able to return soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We checked in on Monday the 27th and stayed til Saturday morning the 1st. The whole experience was fabulous! The room was excellent on the 14th floor overlooking the pool. Even though there's nightly entertainment down in the bar at the pool, it didn't bother us at all.

Check in was easy and excellent with Frank. He described the amenities very well to us. We were early and had to wait for our room as expected. We ended up at the pool bar where Sara quickly befriended us and kept in touch with the front desk so that she could let us know when our room was ready. The room was great with a king bed, couch, desk and dresser. The sink area was great and there was a fridge.

We were never once bothered by anyone trying to get us to buy time shares. We will definitely be back as this was a totally pleasurable experience.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your fabulous experience on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your compliments on the ease of your check-in and the excellent service provided by both Frank & Sara. Our staffs really enjoy hearing how they may have helped enhance our guests’ experiences and we will definitely share your review with them.

We forward to welcoming you back real soon!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great location in Waikiki! Very close to the restaurants and shopping of Waikiki. The rooms were clean and spacious. Pool was sizable and not too busy. Slightly disappointed with the service, in that we reserved a King and received 2 doubles. Also reserved a crib and did not receive it the first night. Concierge was great and got us an excursion to Pearl Harbor on short notice.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Reef on the beach. Please accept my sincere apology for the lack of service. Unfortunately on occasion, we receive more requests for a certain bed type one week and the following week is the reverse. We try as much as possible to provide the bedding accommodation on the following day. I am glad to hear that you find the Outrigger Reef on the beach to be a “Great location in Waikiki! and other services were great. Mahalo for sharing your comments with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here for four nights in September 2013. What a sensational location right on the beach and easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. The staff were fantastic, super friendly and helpful. We appreciated being able to use a room after we had checked out to shower and prepare for our late night long flight, what a lovely touch. We had an ocean view room which was superb. Oh and the Mai Tais in the bar are the best. We highly recommend this hotel and will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank NZFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha NZ Ffamily5,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments “Fantastic location and staff”. Yes, we are fortunate to have such a lovely property, right on the beach and also very fortunate to have excellent staff who are filled with the Aloha Spirit. We are all very thrilled by your comments. Thank you also for your feedback about the hospitality room that we provided you when you checked out. We realize that many of our guests have late departure flights and this complementary room to freshen up gives our guests a little extra time to enjoy Hawaii and our facilities before comfortably returning home. We are appreciative that you will highly recommend us and that you will be back. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Loved the authenticity of the Outrigger on the Beach. Hawaiian flare throughout. Location very convenient. We had a kingsize standard room which was fully equipped with safe, fridge, nice spacious balcony over looking pool and city. We were able to hear and enjoy the nightly entertainment from the balcony 6pm until 9pm every evening from our 3rd floor location. Rooms were super clean, staff friendly. Food and bar selections good. If it's your first time to Hawaii be sure that Oahu and Waikiki are what you are looking for. We found it to be too busy and very crowded beaches. In addition lounge chairs on the beach are rented and can go for up to $50US per day for 2 and an umbrella.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alittlesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations with all the amenities and spacious balcony overlooking the pool listening to the nightly local entertainment. In addition, we appreciate your positive feedback on our clean rooms and friendly staff as our goals are to enhance our guest’s experiences here at the Reef.

We look forward welcoming you back real soon!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews