We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Poipu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We like staying here”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This stay was our 2nd at the Reef and was again very enjoyable. My only complaint is the internet service is extremely SLOW. Didn't matter if I connected using wireless or the Ethernet cable, same result.
We asked for the same room as last year and are pleased that the room was available to us. Enjoyed listening to the live Hawaiian music from pool side bar/restaurant in the evenings. We signed up for the wedding vow renewal and found it very moving and sentimental. There is a professional photographer that photographs the ceremony, however the photo packages can be pricy. Everyone is very friendly and attentive. Certainly will consider staying here again for our next visit to Waikiki.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha,
It was certainly a pleasure to have you here as our repeat guest & we thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. It sounds like you enjoyed your vacation. It is good to know that you found the music at Kani Ka Pila Grille to your liking & that the overall staff were friendly & attentive. I will definitely share these comments with them.
We do hope that you choose the Outrigger Reef on the Beach as your destination of choice if you visit our beautiful islands again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,296
    1,883
    442
    130
    82
See reviews for
1,684
2,721
157
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel October 2013 for a week and upon arrival we were delighted to see a wonderful open lobby area with rich decor and attention to detail. Front desk was busy but the line went fast. booked a standard room but got a nice peek a boo ocean view room which was nice. Ate at the shorebird which was a unique experience to grill your own food some people in are party didn't like the idea I actually enjoyed grilling with some family around the big grill (to each its own). The one thing that I didn't like was I had to pay to sit on a chair on the beach my wife was 8 months pregnant so was ideal to sit on the ground. Happy hour was good and the Mai tai's were cheap and strong if I recall correctly they were 3.50 at happy hour. Hotel was nice although we will not return to Waikiki was not what we considered a Vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha & mahalo for your review of our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while visiting Waikiki In October of 2013. We sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay and were delighted to see you "would come back in a heart beat..."! The Front Desk can get very busy at times, but we were happy to see that we were able to expedite your check in. We are equally pleased to see that you were able to enjoy the beautiful views at the ShorebBird Restaurant, while grilling your own steaks. For the past 33 years, the ShoreBird has remained one of Waikiki's most popular restaurants, satisfying the appetites of locals and tourists alike.And exactly as you described, it is not just a place to eat, it's an experience! Our Beach Activities does provide chairs & umbrellas at a nominal fee for use on the beach, but we also provide lounge chairs all around our pool, & those are no charge for our guests. We're sorry to see you won't be returning to Waikiki in the near future-but if you change your mind, we hope the Outrigger Reef on the Beach will be your home away from home! Aloha a hui hou (Until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I spent hours pouring over reviews to choose between the 2 Outriggers on Waikiki Beach. It was confusing and either choice would have been fine. I was happy I chose Outrigger Reef for several reasons.

MUCH BETTER POOL AT THE REEF. The pool at the reef is big and deep. Plenty of room to dive and swim. It is located between 2 bars!!!! The pool at the Outrigger Waikiki is about the size of a hottub

$3 MAI TAI's!!!! from noon-5PM at the Shore Bird. I definitely remember finishing $6 breakfast that filled me and thinking "ok it's 11:15 AM, only 45 minutes til $3 Mai Tais"

$5 MAI TAI's at Pool Bar for happy hour 3-5 PM were a little bigger, but stick to shore bird.

I would imbibe between floating sessions on my tube on the beach. Now the reef means there is a reef on the smaller beach, but you can walk to the other outrigger and Dukes in about 10min. along the most beautiful beach. You can pool hop your way down and enjoy all Waikiki has to offer. The Outrigger Waikii has Dukes and more central location on the beach, but is so loud and crowded. I liked the Reef Pool as a quiet relaxing sanctuary to return from strolls up and down the beach. Head the other way to the HUGE CORPORATE CROWDED HILTON, then head back and you'll understand that if you don't want to pay for Royal Hawaiian or Hakaluana (spelling) you'll be happy with Outrigger Reef.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Feffy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you (mahalo) for the nice comment about the two Outrigger hotels. The Outrigger Reef is located between the two best section of Waikiki Beach, steps away to the right is Fort De Russy Beach and to the left Kuhio Beach toward Diamond Head. The Outrigger Reef is located in the area called Kawehewehe celebrating the ponds and the legend of healing water. On the Mauka side (Mountain side) of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach is Waikiki Beach Walk, which offers additional dining and still remains one of the best and quieter areas in Waikiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We spent a lot of time on TripAdvisor trying to determine where to stay for our two short nights in Waikiki prior to heading off to Maui for a few weeks. Lots of opinions, to be sure, but we finally landed on the Outrigger Reef. We can fully recommend this hotel. The rooms are spotless, roomy and quiet and the whole hotel offers a resort-like feel. Staff were friendly and accommodating and all the life of Waikiki is just a few steps from the hotel's front door. If, like us, you know nothing of Waikiki and are debating where to stay, you can book here without worry. Enjoy your visit!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank HouTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha from the sunny shores of Waikiki! We recently read your 5 star review of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with all of us! We take great pride in our hotel & our staff and when we hear that our efforts have not gone unnoticed, we are most humbled.

To see that you chose Outrigger Reef as your destination based solely off of other positive reviews from Trip Advisor is truely inspiring. It is proof positive that everyday our efforts to be outstanding Mea Ho'okipa (Hosts) are being realized.

You can be assured we will share this with our entire hotel staff. And we sincerely hope that you consider us to be your hosts again in the near future! Aloha, a hui hou (Until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I am disgusted by bugs - but I knew I was going to a green island in the middle of the ocean, so I expected to encounter some. In this hotel - I DID NOT! The hotel has a very unassuming entrance to their open air lobby - look for the A-frame driveway. Be aware that it costs $35 per night (not including daily out gratuities) to valet your car - there is no self parking at this hotel. But everything else about the hotel is very good. Check-In was easy - we stayed in a moderate/standard room in the Ocean Tower with a glimpse of the ocean from the balcony of the 6th floor. The beds were comfortable for us - not too hard, not too soft, plenty of pillows. The rooms are air conditioned, there is a small refrigerator, and there is a safe to store your valuables. The beach was clean and roomy enough, but to rent the loungers and umbrella be prepared to pay $10 per hour per person. The Shore Bird Restaurant has a good breakfast buffet for about $15 a person, and for dinner you prepare your own meat over a large grill - with instructions if you need it. Food quality was good. We renewed our vows with a group of six other couples on the beach after sunrise one morning - complimentary for guests - and it was a very nice ceremony. There was a photographer onsite taking photos and you had a chance to purchase what you wanted - we did and are glad. We felt the hotel did a great job with this free service. We were comfortable, it was clean, and if I had to go to Waikiki again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KFed89052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha KFed89052,
Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are happy to hear that you found our property comfortable, clean (and bug-free) and our staff accommodating. Regarding parking, our rates are comparable to other Waikiki properties however an option for our guests is day car rentals (Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located in our lower lobby). Our property is in close proximity and within walking distance or easily accessible via bus to many attractions so a car for your entire stay may not be necessary. We are also glad that you were able to experience our Vow Renewal ceremony that is exclusive for our guests. As you know, it is such a touching and special ceremony that words cannot describe. We hope you will be able to return soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We checked in on Monday the 27th and stayed til Saturday morning the 1st. The whole experience was fabulous! The room was excellent on the 14th floor overlooking the pool. Even though there's nightly entertainment down in the bar at the pool, it didn't bother us at all.

Check in was easy and excellent with Frank. He described the amenities very well to us. We were early and had to wait for our room as expected. We ended up at the pool bar where Sara quickly befriended us and kept in touch with the front desk so that she could let us know when our room was ready. The room was great with a king bed, couch, desk and dresser. The sink area was great and there was a fridge.

We were never once bothered by anyone trying to get us to buy time shares. We will definitely be back as this was a totally pleasurable experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your fabulous experience on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your compliments on the ease of your check-in and the excellent service provided by both Frank & Sara. Our staffs really enjoy hearing how they may have helped enhance our guests’ experiences and we will definitely share your review with them.

We forward to welcoming you back real soon!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Great location in Waikiki! Very close to the restaurants and shopping of Waikiki. The rooms were clean and spacious. Pool was sizable and not too busy. Slightly disappointed with the service, in that we reserved a King and received 2 doubles. Also reserved a crib and did not receive it the first night. Concierge was great and got us an excursion to Pearl Harbor on short notice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Reef on the beach. Please accept my sincere apology for the lack of service. Unfortunately on occasion, we receive more requests for a certain bed type one week and the following week is the reverse. We try as much as possible to provide the bedding accommodation on the following day. I am glad to hear that you find the Outrigger Reef on the beach to be a “Great location in Waikiki! and other services were great. Mahalo for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,014 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing