We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel at the start of our honeymoon, visiting Oahu, Kauai, Maui. The hotel is in a great location, with very pleasant rooms of a good size. We booked an ocean view room, if you stood on the balcony and looked right you could just about see the sea. If you want a full sea view be aware you need to book an ocean front room. The Ocean House restaurant in the hotel was lovely for breakfast and a nicer option than the Shore Bird breakfast buffet. The hotel next door Halekulani was a great dinner option. The best meal we had was at Roy's almost opposite the hotel-a little pricey but well worth a visit. We also enjoyed drinks at the Surf Rider hotel under the Banyan tree- beautiful. I would highly recommend Waikiki beach as a great destination. After visiting the two other islands I now appreciate the Waikiki beach more, as other Hawaiian beaches could prove quite challenging swim areas. Also the large turtles that swam close to shore we're such a lovely addition. We booked a trip to Pearl Harbour from the hotel, which was well worth the visit - go early to avoid the queues.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank BridgetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel on your Trip Advisor comments you recently submitted! I am always pleased when our guests take the time to share their experiences, both positive and negative. Like any other resort we have our share of challenges, and our guests’ feedback provides us with valuable insights regarding the quality of our service and facilities. I am delighted to read that you found our location to be great & that the rooms were pleasant & of good size. It is good to know that you enjoyed the Ocean House Restaurant as well. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach on a future visit to Hawaii?

With Warm Aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,377 - 2,383 of 6,113 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

I had visited Hawaii a couple of times before and this was the first time that I stayed in this hotel. It was perfect. It is right on the beach and within walking distance to everything The service was great as well as the rooms and restaurants. I had a great time

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhrdvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Reef on the Beach on your most recent trip to Hawaii. I am glad to hear that you had a great time and that you received great service form our employees.
Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Location was great for us & the price was excellent.Our room had a microwave, jug & fridge so we made use of the nearby ABC store for our supplies.Lots of restaurants & shops within walking distance so nothing is a problem.I would not bother to eat in the hotel next time as there are 100's of others close by.Several mornings were noisy caused by garbage collection but otherwise peaceful & quiet.Our family room was at the rear of the property & we looked across to the Trump Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martinjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here after our cruise for 3 nights and loved it! Rooms are spacious and clean! Pool area was really nice and kept very clean! Beds were so comfy I wished I could take it home with me! Staff, what can I say but wow! They get it right here, front desk, super, bell staff,super,maids another super! We ate at the Shorebird for lunch. Great burgers, breakfast not so great! We also ate at the Ocean House, what can I say but the staff more than made up for our disappointing meal! Overall great stay and we will come back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 2willows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Aloha & mahalo for taking the time to submit a review of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach on Trip Advisor. We were thrilled to see that you loved your 3 night stay with us and that you were equally pleased with not only our Front Desk staff, but our Bell and Housekeeping staff as well! We pride ouirselves on delivering superb guest service with a genuine spirit of Aloha for you, our extended 'Ohana (family). We are grateful you took a minute out of your busy day to honor our hardworking staff and will make sure we thank them on your behalf. We will definitely pass on your awesome comments to both the Shorebird and Ocean House Management as well, for their review. We anxiously wait to welcome you back to our sandy shores; please contact one of our Managers on Duty at the Front Desk so we can make your return visit extra special! Again, mahalo and a hui hou (until we meet again).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We just got back from a week in Waikiki. Reef on the beach was a very nice hotel. The staff was amazingly helpful. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the staff at the pool wasn't as attentive as I would have liked to see and the pool was a little on the cold side even though it was 80 out. The Shorebird restaurant was ok, but i would make the walk down the street to Eggs 'n Things. (get there early) for a much better breakfast experience. Reef is right on the beach and there are things to rent, paddle boards, aqua bikes, etc. I would stay there again if I go back to Oahu.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room without the double beds if you can.... very small. We stayed in the room rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Aloha Sean M.,
Thank you for your review of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We will make sure to share your comment about the pool area with our pool attendants so they can improve their service. We are glad that you found our staff to be amazingly helpful and enjoyed our great location on the beach. Yes, we agree with you…there are so many things to do on the beach and everyone will be able to find something they can enjoy. I hope you also had the opportunity to participate in our complementary cultural activities for our guests. We hope you will be able to return again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This was the second stop on our honeymoon last year. We had high hopes for the hotel as my parents had stayed there 10 years previously. After a shaky start it didn't disappoint. When we first arrived we were in a room on the 6th floor which looked directly into the hotel opposites roof pool. We went to reception and politely explained as it was our honeymoon we were hoping for something a little higher. The concierge were amazing, we were placed practically on the top floor in a room that overlooked the pool, city and ocean!! I loved watching the surfers as the sun rose from our balcony. Add to that, the concierge then sent a bottle of champagne to the room. We ate in all three restaurants and got room service and the food was amazing. All you can eat breakfast buffet ( including red velvet cupcakes!) is a must, as is the cook your own meat at the Shorebird, it was so much fun. We loved drinking cocktails and listening to the same people doing karaoke- go on Stan haha!! We took advantage of one of the complimentary daily activities and made a kukei nut bracelet for each other which we then exchanged at the vow renewal ceremony. This is beautiful and a must no matter how long you have been married. There were couples that were newlyweds like us and others that had been married 50 years! The photo package that goes with it is extremely expensive but if you are on you're own like we were, there is no other way to capture it. We loved this hotel and would definitely return. Seconds from the beach!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Kate310, Mahalo (Thanking you) for sharing your experience at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the cultural activities in the lobby and the vow renewal, and congratulations on your amazing Honeymoon. We look forward to welcome you and your parents back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

There were some very good parts of our stay. It is an excellent location. It is on the beach. The rooms were nice. Not fancy but nice. Service could have been better. Do NOT trust the people at the activity desk. They just want to sell you what they have. We almost did not go to the Arizona because they had convinced us that we would not have been able to get tickets unless we paid them $82 a person for the tour. We went anyway to see for ourselves. Walked right in, saw the short movie and were given Free round trip boat ride to and from the memorial. Nest to the Activity desk is a Wyndham Resort where they constantly harass you in to taking one of the time share seminars. We were on vacation not there to be bothered every time we walked through the lobby. management here needs to rethink the priorities. Also Do not waste your time at the "Shore Bird" restaurant. But I would recommend the "Ocean House" Good food and Service. Also the "Kani Ka Pila Grill" has nice ambiance, decent drinks, and good nightly entertainment. Not sure that I would give them another chance. There are so many other better options.

Room Tip: You should opt for at least the Partial Ocean view. Higher floors would be better as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lancew1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I’m sorry for your negative experience you had with the Activities Desk. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room accommodation and your dining experiences at the Ocean House Restaurant and Kani Ka Pila Grille with the free nightly local entertainment.

We appreciate all of your feedback and hope you will provide us another opportunity to meet your expectations! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,247 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £184 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing