We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but left feeling misled about room rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location but left feeling misled about room rates”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We are currently in night 3 of a 5 night vacation at the Outrigger Reef. Although I booked early and paid the extra rate for an ocean view room, I have been left disappointed at the view from an otherwise great room.

The ocean view room on the 14th floor is 3/4 obscured by the roof of the Pacific Tower Building. When I explained our disappointment to concierge, I was advised that technically a view of the ocean exists, and this satisfies the criteria for the ocean view rate.

I was looking forward to relaxing on the balcony and taking in the ocean view but have been left disappointed. No one wants to be explained that the higher rate that they booked is based on a technicality, especially when the ocean front rooms from the front tower undoubtedly offer fantastic views. If I would have known this, I would have opted for a cheaper "partial ocean view" or standard rate.

On a positive note, the hotel is in a great location and the vast majority of staff are fantastic. The rooms are spacious and well maintained.

Room Tip: Make sure if you are paying the extra rate for a full ocean view that you book an ocean front room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JLaheey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad that you like the location of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and feel the staff are fantastic. Please accept my sincere apology for the location or your room. The Ocean view rooms are located on both side of the Pacific Tower and in the Ocean Tower as well. All the rooms provide view of the water from inside of the room and Partial Ocean view located on the side with view strictly from the balcony. Your comment is being used in our daily briefing. Once again, please accept my sincere apology. I wish we had provided other room options for you during your stay. Mahalo once again for this review Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,191
    1,833
    427
    118
    76
See reviews for
1,606
2,639
153
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed seven days at the Outrigger and honestly, we could have never left the hotel grounds and would have been perfectly happy. The room was roomy, clean and everything was in good working order. I really base a lot on the condition of the beds and bathroom, as I get 'creeped out' by musty or bad smelling linens or bathrooms. Both were perfect and very fresh smelling! Being right on the beach was the BEST! My husband and I laid out on the lounge chairs reading (love the attached umbrellas) while our son rented one of the inner tubes and hit the surf. Our laundry grew faster than we could keep up with, so we made use of the laundry services also. Nothing like dry cleaning delivered to our room!
Must: Bring plenty of sunblock and necessities with you because the little drug store within the hotel charges an astronomical price for stuff (pretty much true for the whole area though), however, at least it's there if you need it. The Kani Ka Pila Grille is a MUST! Best food and great bartenders and love their breakfasts! The Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar was pretty blah for all of the hoopla and advertising surrounding it ... It was crowded, so we figured it was a great place to get a great Hawaiian dinner. But we had to wait what seemed like forever to be seated and the selection was pretty non-exciting. We actually opted to go elsewhere for dinner because neither the kids or adults in our group could find anything on the menu that we really wanted. Loved the fact that there's a Starbucks attached also (I'm not human in the mornings without a mocha).
NOTE: Get a room that is not located in a part of the hotel over the entrance where the garbage trucks come in each morning. The racket is understandable an necessary, yet trying to sleep with all of the noise each morning would be less than enjoyable. The Outrigger is a little more expensive than some of the surrounding hotels, but the staff and service really make each dollar well spent. HIGHLY recommend!

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the front where the garbage trucks come in each morning unless you enjoy l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Devon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Aloha & Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your roomy room and amenities. We appreciate all of the positive feedback you provided on our staff and the Kani Ka Pila Restaurant, which we will share with the staff.

We look forward to your return. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mapleton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying in room 516 ocean front room. Beautiful view of oceanfront! The room is so updated and clean! It is plenty big for all of us to relax after a day at the beach. My mom and I love sitting on the lanai morning, afternoon and evening when ever we are there. We have eaten all three mornings at the ocean house restaurant waffle, omelet and two egg breakfast all delicious. Tomorrow we are trying the egg panini. We enjoy walks on the beach down to the hilton and back each morning and evening. If you want a great view of the ocean make sure you get an ocean front room.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jaelnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Aloha! Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your beautiful Ocean Front room. Our prime Ocean Front rooms place you directly above the beach where the shifting sand and sounds of the ocean can be heard and felt throughout your stay. It seems you and your mom took full advantage of this; enjoying the views from your lanai, going on daily walks on the beach and taking in the sunrise at Ocean House for breakfast! We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and to once again satisfy your expectations with our genuine spirit of Aloha...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We celebrated our 20th anniversary Oct. 2013 and went to Outrigger Reef. Also spent our honeymoon there. In fact every time we go to Hawaii we stay at Outrigger Reef. Our room is always as promised, clean, comfortable and a wonderful view. The Shorebird is amazing and having Starbucks on site is a major plus for me. The hotel is well located. You can walk to shopping and restruants. All of the staff is available and very helpful. Love, Love, Love it. Can't wait to go back again. I wish the promotion for a free breakfast if staying 5 nights or more was still available.

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor and had a view of the pool, and the ocean. The year before we were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review for us. I am glad to hear that you had another “amazing stay” at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach, and you are very pleased with the services from the staff. Once again, Congratulations on your 20th Wedding Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The second you pull up to the hotel, your car door is opened by the valet and your car is surrounded by happy smiley faces that are warmly welcoming you to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and offering to park your car and take your luggage to your room for you. The Bell Captain assured us that our bags would be brought promptly to our room, and then he kindly guided us to the check-in counter, while pointing out some of the various amenities and highlights about the hotel along the way. WOW nice touch! He even pointed out to us where the Wyndham vultures were hanging out! LOL. He ended his mini tour by handing us off to an equally friendly and smiley receptionist named Gina. We arrived at the Outrigger a little past 10:00 AM and we weren't expecting (at all) to be given our room till around 2 or 3:00 PM, but believe it or not, Gina found a beautiful Oceanfront room for us in the Ocean Tower and checked us right in! Talk about great beginnings! Gina couldn't have been sweeter, and as we headed up to our room, she said she would let the bell desk know to send up our bags. The Bellman was so fast, he actually beat us to the elevator and held the door for us to get in! Now THAT'S service!

Our oceanfront room was very clean and nicely appointed. Nothing looked at all worn or dated... even the carpet was spotless and like new. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and directly faced a nice size flat screen TV. Nice large bathroom with a tub/shower that actually had great water pressure any time you used it and never ran out of hot water. We had a beautiful view of Waikiki Beach from any point in our room, and two nice chairs & a table on our 3rd floor balcony. The view was beautiful, but next time I'll request a higher floor for a different view. Nothing was lacking in this room and internet service was good.

We had breakfast and/or lunch at all three restaurants on the property and we can honestly say that we enjoyed our experience at all three. Again, we experienced VERY friendly and prompt/professional service at all the restaurants. We especially LOVED the burgers at Shore Birds, where their hamburger buns seemed to melt in your mouth. I had the Belgian Waffle with berries and bananas for breakfast at Ocean House (impeccable service) and it was awesome! We also really enjoyed the Oceanfront seats we had at both Shore Birds and Ocean House Restaurants. The prices weren't what anyone would consider a bargain, but when you consider how lucky you are to be dining with the world renowned beauty of Waikiki Beach literally steps away as your backdrop, you don't mind spending a little extra for the memorable experience. Also, as others have mentioned, there's a Starbucks right there at the Hotel that opens at 4:30 AM. We are early birds, but useless without first having a cup of coffee in the morning, so this was great for us and we were there by 5:00 AM everyday!

The pool isn't large, but it's large enough. The water is a nice comfortable temperature, so I'm guessing it was at least 80 degrees because I'm a baby when it comes to cold water. Lounge chairs could become scarce by Noon, but it was never a problem for us because we got there early. The towels were plentiful and clean at the pool, and they allowed you to sign them out and take them to the beach as long as you brought them back to the pool when done. Also, a nice touch was the large container of free ice water with lemon at the towel shack! The personnel at the pool that were waiting on guests were very friendly and polite. They were around if you needed anything, but they didn't hover too much or hound anyone to buy drinks like at some hotels we've been to...

Check-out was at Noon, but they will secure your luggage for you and offer a hospitality room to shower and change clothes later in the day. Our flight out of Honolulu wasn't until 7:30 PM (That was the latest flight out that we could book LOL) so, being able to still enjoy all the amenities of the hotel and then promptly getting a room to shower in before our flight was really fantastic! They also allowed us access to our bags so that we could get a change of clothes. Again, getting this room and the Bellman to secure our bags was a complete breeze and done promptly and with a smile. We were already checked-out and paid in full for our stay, but they didn't treat us that way... the friendly royal treatment continued all day and didn't end until we pulled out of the parking lot and headed to the airport. We've received hospitality rooms and luggage storage at other hotels before, but NEVER with the warm and friendly attitude that we received from the entire staff at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We've been at many beautiful Hotels before in many gorgeous locations, but for us, what really set apart the Outrigger Reef on the Beach from all the rest, was the TOTAL experience that we had. A BIG part of that was the outstanding and genuinely friendly service (always with a smile) that we received from the entire staff from the moment that we arrived, till our car pulled out of the driveway. No matter how beautiful a hotel is, if you receive lousy, unfriendly or snooty service, then that experience isn't going to be all it can be... We are happy to report that for us, the Outrigger Reef on the Beach Hotel staff made our stay in Waikiki all it could be and more! Mahalo!

Room Tip: Book an Oceanfront room as opposed to an Oceanview room if you can afford the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PinaColadaTesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Aloha & mahalo nui loa (thank you so much) for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. All we can say is "WOW!"; we are overwhelmed and humbled by the outstanding review you wrote about our staff, our hotel, our restaurants and amenities! We always appreciate the feedback we receive, and in this case we are overjoyed to learn that our goals have been met and exceeded. We take great pride in our hotel and strive to be outstanding Mea Ho'okipa (Hosts). You can be sure that we will take a moment to compliment Gina on welcoming you with a warm Aloha as well as the rest of the hotel, pool and restaurant staff for making your stay that much more memorable. We hope that you will give us an opprotunity to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and to satisfy your expectations with our spirit of Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I, along with our 10 month old daughter traveled to Hawaii this past January. We booked the Outrigger Reef on the Beach through Donna Bender of MauiCalls, who is an Outrigger Specialist. We stayed at the Outrigger for five nights, following a two week stay on Maui. It was extremely simple to book with Donna. I was very impressed with how quickly she replied to my questions and my emails and by how accommodating she was in showing me a number of different options, as I searched for the best value. Through Donna, we requested a king bed as well as a crib for our daughter. Check in was seamless, and all of our requests were accommodated.

The hotel itself is right on Waikiki beach and was very clean. The customer service was fantastic. The amenities were clean and enjoyable. My only complaint was that the food could have been better for the price at the onsite restaurants, however, there are many restaurants in easy walking distance and the onsite restaurant did have great happy hour prices and pool service.

I would recommend both this hotel and booking with Donna Bender.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albertatraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the time to write this nice review for us. I am glad to hear that the service at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach was wonderful. Your comment is being shared with all the departments. Once again thank you for taking the time to share yours experience staying at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and booking thru Donna.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We came back to our favourite Waikiki hotel during spring break for my husband's 50th. Once again we were not disappointed. We were greeted like old friends by Kiana at check in. I have read reviews complaining about the front desk staff but I have never come across a Outrigger employee with a bad attitude. Kiana was amazing and we upgraded to a beautiful one bedroom suite on the 12th floor. Much to our delight there was a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room for my husbands bday!! The room itself was stunning. Corner suite 3 patios, views of the ocean and pool! Loads of space in the room. I wish I had gotten our housekeepers name, she was fantastic! We have been to Waikiki more then a dozen times. We have stayed at the Hilton Village and Marriott which we liked but after going to the Reef once we never stayed anywhere else!! The level of service whether it's Rod for breakfast or Kiana and Lilana at the front desk the service is outstanding!! Mark at the pool was so attentive as well! We are never bothered about time shares. If you stop by their desk then you will be bothered!! The location is perfect, restaurants and shopping galore right out your door! I highly recommend the Reef and will be back again hopefully this fall!

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel is great option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smithfamily64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Aloha Smith Family!
Thank you for giving the Outrigger Reef on the Beach the honor of being your favorite Waikiki hotel and for choosing to celebrate your husband’s 50th birthday with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your suite, our ideal location, restaurants and shops. Your comment that we are your home away from home and that you rank us above some of the bigger, well-known hotels in Waikiki really made us feel special! Also, thank you for acknowledging your hosts, Kiana, Mark, Rod and your housekeeper. We will be sure to let them know that they made your stay extra special.
We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next return in the fall. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travelbag, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing