We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Buffet breakfast was good value for $15, not gourmet, but quite OK.
We stayed in a basic city view room that was a decent size and it was not particularly noisy.
Location is perfect, literally right on the beach, close to shops and restaurants and on a bus route.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimonGGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Aloha SimonGGB,
Thank you for posting your review of your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are happy that you appreciated our ideal location on Waikiki beach and our close proximity to many shopping and dining options. We also have great dining options on our property so we are glad that you found the breakfast buffet a great value. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will return again soon. Mahalo and Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,188
    1,833
    427
    118
    77
See reviews for
1,605
2,639
153
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our initial stay was more than pleasant - I asked for a partial ocean view King on the highest floor possible and my request was met! The bed was super comfy, we loved the shorebird happy hour and buffet breakfast (be sure to use the coupon on the end of your receipt for 1/2 off the next day!) and location for wading in the ocean. I would come back the Outrigger in a heartbeat (well we actually did because we extended our stay....twice, the first time they could find a room for us - unfortunately the second time we extended our stay...on the same trip, yes....the same trip, they couldn't because they were sold out so we went to the Hilton Village which was also nice but we found Hilton very expensive overall). Thanks Outrigger - I hope we can stay some time in the future again!

Room Tip: If you get a partial ocean view call ahead ask for your bed of choice and ask for the highest possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deighoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
213 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Outrigger. The nightly music was great! The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. We had a partial ocean view and it was nice to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking attendants were efficient. The location, right on the beach, was fabulous. Enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: Get a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynntravels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel. This time was not as good as previous. It is in a good location, on the beach and near all amenities of Waikiki. This time the service was not great and we noted some inflexibility with the bell hop staff. Early check-in seems to be a problem too. On the positive side the hotel is nice and the pool area is suberb. Note - Dont waste your time going to the Shorebird restaurant, it was noisy, overpriced and you cook your own barbeque! Again it is the location that is the selling point with this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms get very pricey for just a peep of the sea. Select the best room for your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment with the service. We try everything possible to accommodate each early arrival guests. Unfortunately on occasion, it is very difficult to locate a room for each early arriving guest. Due to the type of room reserved, the amount of early arrival, and the current guest utilizing their room until the check-out time of 12pm, we are at time not successful in providing a room early. An hospitality room is usually offered for a limited time.
Your comments are greatly appreciate and are being shared during our daily briefing. Thank you (Mahalo) once again for returning to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Close enough to shops that walk isn't much but setback so that noise/crowds aren't around. Rooms were a little dark due to decor but still comfortable and spacious. All staff were friendly and accommodating. Good knowledge of the area and able to provide local insight. Restaurants are also good so if the sun gets too much there isn't far to go for good food at reasonable price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you (Mahalo) for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We always try to demonstrate the Aloha spirit in everything we do, and we are delighted to see you appreciated it so much. You can be sure that we will take a moment to compliment the entire hotel staff for having enriched your stay with us. Again, Mahalo for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australua
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great way to end our holiday we had a ocean view room on the 10th Floor in the South Tower we could see Diamond Head but a couple of rooms further forward would of been fantastic. Rooms are reasonable size we had 2 queens and where not cramped good sized balcony. Shore Bird good for breakfast if you want a buffet but the pool restaurant has a Brekky Special $7 for 3 pancakes bacon and egg. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travaler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank and Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted you enjoyed your room accommodations with a beautiful view of the ocean and Diamond Head. We appreciate your positive comments of your dining experience at the Shorebird and Kani Kapila Grille, which I will pass along to their management.

We hope to see you back very soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

There are so many hotels to choose from on Waikiki and this hotel was very highly ranked. Our first night we had a room with two queens but they moved us to another room with a king bed for our next two nights. Check in was easy and the location is great, close to shops and restaurants and the beach is right there. The best swimming spot is up further but only a short walk in either direction. The pool is lovely and deep so you can dive in, however it is in between two hotels so the area can get a little windy. The concierge was ever so helpful and booked our snorkelling cruise for us and managed to get us a great discount (we just had to attend a time share presentation the next day but when we showed up they had screwed up our times so in the end we didnt have to go to the presentation, score!). I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ltreseder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you with a king bed the following day and the concierge was able to assist you with all your bookings. Thank you (Mahalo) once again for this wonderful review.
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travelbag, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing