We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff are very friendly and helpful when you arrive. One small issue I noticed on arrival, if you arrive by taxi and with only a small case and don't require assistance, there are NO signs to say where reception is. I heard quite a few people ask for directions as there are no signs!!! Check in was smooth. The corridors are NOT air conditioned and are quite hot and stuffy. Our room was comfortable, but a little disappointed. The ceilings are very low upon entering so if you are tall, duck down. Shower above bath and a toilet complete the bathroom, no room. The basin is over the fridge and a small cupboard, not much room when there are 4 of you. The double beds are small and a little on the hard side. The view from the balcony overlooked the pool and we had partial view of the ocean. Access to the beach is great, three restaurants available and a Starbucks right at the front. Denny's is just a block away. The pool area is ok but not large not very kids friendly.walk straight down the street out the front and you will end up at the Hard Rock and the Main Street. Location is great, central to everything. Ala Moana shopping centre is around a $8-9.00 taxi ride away. All in all it was comfortable but a little cozy for 2 adults and 2 teenage children.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Soni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, its staff, restaurants and location. We were sorry to hear that you found the room a bit small for your family of four. We have many suites available for your consideration which may provide more room, should you choose to visit us again. A hui hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,151
    1,818
    424
    118
    77
See reviews for
1,587
2,613
151
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is fantastic in every way. Service was excellent, the room was large and spacious and the location is the best in Hawaii. I found everyone helpful from the bell boys (for inside info on Waikiki to the maids that clean the rooms. I was surprised that even though I chose a city view, we had a very good side view of the beach. We were also put in a high room so there was not much noise at night. The restaurants were fantastic and the pool bar service was very good.

Room Tip: Try and get an Oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your large and spacious room accommodations and the views from you City View category room. In addition, we appreciate your positive feedback on our friendly staff as our staff’s goals are to enhance our guest’s experiences here at the Reef.

We look forward welcoming you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from 9 nights at Outrigger Reef on the Beach. Hotel was in a great location so overall a good hotel, rooms were a decent size however while I have nothing to compare it to on Oahu I think it was expensive. Staff were all friendly although I had to ask for tea, coffee, sugar etc every day and my expectation is that this should be re-filled without asking for it. Only a coffee maker with paper cups (like take-away cups) in the room so we asked for an electric kettle and ceramic mugs as we prefer tea which was provided quickly and left in our room during our whole stay. The showers tended to run a bit hot and cold which was a little frustrating when you are half way through washing your hair. We didn't have kiddies in our party however the one and only pool was not very toddler friendly given that the shallow end was 4ft deep and the deep end was 9ft deep, based on this I would not recommend it for parties with toddlers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Aloha JAFSydney,
Thank you for your review of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and for your comment that we are a nice place to stay. Many of our guests like the convenience of the take away cups but ceramic mugs and an electric kettle are available on request so we are glad that we were able to accommodate your needs. We apologize for your coffee, tea and supplies not being replenished daily and we will be sure to remind our housekeepers to be more attentive. Also, the inconsistency of your shower water temperature is not a norm and your comment has been brought to the attention of our Chief Engineer. We are happy that overall, you enjoyed our friendly staff and our great location. We hope that you will be able to return again. Mahalo and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was our 3rd stay at Outrigger Reef on the Beach! Love the relaxed atmosphere, staff welcoming and friendly! Had a great corner room top floor 2 balconies, so city, mountain and partial ocean views, very spacious! Will be back! My home away from home! Love that there are no resort fees and free wifi! Tip: if your a Hawaiian Miles traveller, Outrigger Reef are a part of the partnership programme (you accrue 100miles per night) advise staff of this upon check in,, I only became aware of this after our stay!

Room Tip: Room 1738, spacious and great all round views, was excellent! Some street noise early morning from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for making this your 3rd visit to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. I am glad to know that you loved the Reef and enjoyed the atmosphere, the friendly staff and the location of your room. We look forward to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great place to stay right on the beach.
Rooms are very standard, could do with bigger beds.
Shower in our unit was a bit tricky to start of with leaked abit of water.
Otherwise everything else spot on.
Staff are great and friendly, very helpful.
Didn't eat in the restaurants there, but had a cocktail in one.
Price was good but daughter was hacked off as she is to young to dring in the States.
Pool area is well maintained.
This is one place i would be happy to stay at again on a return visit.
Mahalo

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stubbies35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Aloha Stubbies35 & Mahalo for your review. I am delighted to read that you found the hotels location ideal & that you had a chance to use our hotel facilities from the pool to the restaurant bar. It is good to know that you also found the staff to be friendly which I will share with the all of them. Again, we thank you for your time & we do hope you select our hotel when visiting the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel, everything from our check in to check out was very well organised. Great location about 5 mins walk along the beach from the busy Waikiki. Plenty of options for dining with 3 restaurants on site. Great pool facilities, rental car and laundry too.
The only thigh I didn't like about staying here was how busy it was, but I guess it's a popular hotel so that's what you get.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Review433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, its staff, restaurants and location. We hope you will choose us again should you visit O'ahu, we would like to welcome you back with the same Hawaiian hospitality you experienced on your first stay! A hui hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Everytime I have stayed here nothing but the best. Great staff, pool, and restaurant. Have a few sociables at the bar and walk right out to the beach. The shampoo in the bathroom was quality! LOL. I recommend staying here over the commercial chains any day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahuxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach again!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel along with the restaurants and hotel amenities. In addition, we appreciate your positive feedback on our great staff as our staff’s goals are to enhance our guest’s experiences here at the Reef.

We look forward servicing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Booking.com and Travelbag so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing