We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, perfect location”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just come back from our stay at the outrigger. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. Clean, welcoming and close to everything. The staff were all helpful and activities desk and concierge are open late which is great. We stayed in a partial ocean view on level 11. We had a great view and would pick it again. Food/shopping and beach are all close by. Local bus is cheap and goes to the bigger shopping centre-catch it out the front of hotel. Would definitely recommend people stay here!

Room Tip: Partial ocean room-great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leishh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Aloha Leishh & Mahalo for your review! It always so nice to read when our guest shares their positive experience. I am delighted to read that you found our hotel rooms clean & our location was close to everything. It is good to know that the staff were helpful & I will share your comments with the entire team. We do hope you select the Outrigger Reef on the Beach again when visiting our islands. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,255
    1,859
    434
    123
    79
See reviews for
1,644
2,691
155
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and i have now stayed here 3 times in the past 4 years. We are never disappointed. The price is fair, rooms clean and well kept, is location is excellent and the pool is awesome! We dont get the breakfasts though (average) and denny's is directly across the rd. (much cheaper). Gorgeous bar on the beach and direct access to the beach. We will return of course everytime (just avoid the timeshare people in the lobby as they are major timewasters).

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellbella05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for making this your 3rd visit to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. I am glad to know that you loved the location and enjoyed the pool. We look forward to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We've just returned from our second stay at this fantastic hotel. Yes, it's a busy, bustling lobby but at the same time we have always received a very sincere welcome from smiling and helpful staff. We booked a city view suite as we were travelling with our 15 year old daughter and wanted the extra space. We were given an enormous suite overlooking the pool with an ocean view. It was lovely. The only criticism we have was the comfort of the sofa bed. My daughter ended up finding it more comfortable to put the mattress on the floor.
The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's right on the beach. Sit by the pool and swim in the ocean. Perfect. It's also right in the heart of all the shops and restaurants.
For a great coffee, try Bills (it's on the Beach Walk, next to the Hard Rock). Australian style coffee and it's GOOD. We had breakfast there most days.
Can't wait to return and stay at this great hotel again soon.
Thanks :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank em_be53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for making this your 2nd visit to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. I am glad to know that you loved the Reef, the location and the friendly staff. Please accept my sincere apology with the sofa bed. We look forward to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach on your next visit.
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family stayed 7 nights recently and would highly recommend it. The entire staff was so helpful and our ocean view was spectacular. Loved that you could walk right out to the beach and the hotel provided free pool and beach towels. I was so impressed that they had ice cold lemon water at the pool and in the lobby for their guests. The bed was super comfy and housekeeping was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mleecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Aloha Mleecee & Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent visit at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. Great to read that you found the staff to be helpful & that you really enjoyed the spectacular ocean views from your room. I am also delighted to know that you liked our lemon water that we provide in our Lobby & I will share your positive review with the entire staff. We do hope you choose our hotel again when visiting the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef for 2 nights before our cruise. It was wonderful. We had a partial ocean view booked, but when we checked in we were told we had been upgraded to an ocean view. We were in the Pacific tower and had great views of the ocean and the city skyline. (Spent a lot of time on the lanai when I woke up at 4am the first morning because my body was confused by the time change. LOL) I loved the room, king size bed, plenty of mirrors in the bathroom area, nice shower. The decor felt very Hawaiian--lots of dark wood, etc. We went ahead and valet parked our rental car instead of using a lower cost lot. It was very convenient, and the valets were all great. Ate at the Shorebird the first night, it was fun grilling our own meals and watching folks on the beach. Did their vow renewal service the next morning and it was a nice bonus. All the staff we encountered were friendly and accommodating. Stayed away from the timeshare desk, so no issues there. Hubby took advantage of the gym being open 24 hours. (Again, nice when you wake up in the middle of the night.) The bell desk even stored our luggage for a few hours after we checked out so we could go eat lunch before returning our rental car. I have nothing but good things to say about the Outrigger Reef, it was a great start to our anniversary stay,and if we ever get the chance to come back we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllesonWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for your lovely review of your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are so pleased you chose to celebrate your Anniversary with us! Quality of service is a goal that Outrigger Hotels and Resorts continues daily to strive for and we are delighted to read your positive comments on TripAdvisor and to learn that those goals have been met. We appreciate your time in writing your review as we take great pride in our hotel and strive to be outstanding Mea Ho'okipa (Hosts). Let us welcome you back so you may celebrate yet another glorious Anniversary here on our sunny shores of Waikiki! A hui hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights in May. We had no major complaints but nothing really "wowed" us either.
There is no resort fee which is good, especially because it feels much more like a large impersonal hotel than a resort. The rooms are nothing fancy but they are up to date, large and clean.
The pool area is nice but somewhat small, with shade for a good part of the day. The hotel is very family friendly, which means many children at the pool. The balconies are very nice. There is live music every evening.
The location is very good, you are close to all the shopping and restaurants.The access to the beach is great. You walk out directly onto the sand and walk all the way to the main touristy part of Waikiki quite easily. That being said, I am not sure if this luxury is worth paying the higher price of a beach front hotel such as this one. The beach here is public and there is no true advantage of being in a beach front hotel other than to save steps.
Unfortunately there was construction noise every day. I would certainly check if this is still going on by the time you plan to stay there as it was really loud and annoying. This was not mentioned when we booked which was disappointing.
If you get a super great deal, stay here. If not, it may be worth looking for a cheaper place without the beach front premium or spending more on a really awesome hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, General Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Mahalo (Thank you) for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We apologize for the construction noise; unfortunately we had to perform repair work due to an unforeseen maintenance issue. We are committed to making our guests’ experience with us a memorable one so should your travels bring you back to the Waikiki area we hope you can give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff are very friendly and helpful when you arrive. One small issue I noticed on arrival, if you arrive by taxi and with only a small case and don't require assistance, there are NO signs to say where reception is. I heard quite a few people ask for directions as there are no signs!!! Check in was smooth. The corridors are NOT air conditioned and are quite hot and stuffy. Our room was comfortable, but a little disappointed. The ceilings are very low upon entering so if you are tall, duck down. Shower above bath and a toilet complete the bathroom, no room. The basin is over the fridge and a small cupboard, not much room when there are 4 of you. The double beds are small and a little on the hard side. The view from the balcony overlooked the pool and we had partial view of the ocean. Access to the beach is great, three restaurants available and a Starbucks right at the front. Denny's is just a block away. The pool area is ok but not large not very kids friendly.walk straight down the street out the front and you will end up at the Hard Rock and the Main Street. Location is great, central to everything. Ala Moana shopping centre is around a $8-9.00 taxi ride away. All in all it was comfortable but a little cozy for 2 adults and 2 teenage children.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Soni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, its staff, restaurants and location. We were sorry to hear that you found the room a bit small for your family of four. We have many suites available for your consideration which may provide more room, should you choose to visit us again. A hui hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,499 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing