We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quality and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in late July - early August just before the hurricanes hit Hawaii.
We enjoyed & utilised the hotel's facilities: pool, restaurants, beach & even Laundromat downstairs - all very good. Handy having a Starbucks next to reception too. The location of the hotel is ideal.
Room was comfortable & very quiet, cleaning service was efficient and atmosphere friendly.
Those who are thinking of swimming at the beach which laps up to the bar/restaurant, although it is visually spectacular, be warned it is not sandy and soft underfoot. There are lots of rocks & coral that can slice you to shreds if you don't have goggles to navigate while in the water. Lots of fish & sea life to see, just a few feet off the hotel shore, and a decent-quality snorkel & goggle set can be bought from ABC for $10. This was my highlight - some beautiful fish!
For the price you pay relative to what you get, this hotel is great value!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view was good value & choice, though we did have a corner & 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable and quiet room accommodations and the location of the hotel on the beachfront in Waikiki near all the popular shops and restaurants. In addition, we’re happy that you were able to take advantage of our many amenities and onsite shops and restaurants.

We look forward welcoming you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,189
    1,833
    427
    118
    77
See reviews for
1,605
2,639
153
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently spent four nights at the Reef, 2 adults, 2 young teens. We really liked the Reef, the rooms were nice, the location is great and within easy walking distance to lots of dining/shopping ranging from Denny's to food trucks, to Nobu, to Roys, The views of the ocean, if you have a room with an ocean view, are spectacular. If you are in the Pacific tower, not so much (we had a partial ocean view in the Pacific tower). Staff is very responsive and friendly.

Having the Kani Ka Pila Grille poolside restaurant was a big plus. Most nights we ate there after spending a few hours in the pool. Prices are reasonable and the selection is broad.

There are some negatives though, the beach consists of narrow strip of sand from the hotel to the ocean, it's nothing like the main part of Waikiki a mile or so east. If you are staying here with plans to spend a lot of time at the beach, you might want to stay further east, or plan to go to the beach at the Hilton nearby. Also, half the pool is 7' to 9' deep, a concern if you have little ones that aren't strong swimmers. There are no pool toys, so bring your own or buy them. My only other knock on the hotel is that WiFi gets pretty slow in the evenings. And you'll pay $35 a night if you have car (valet parking is mandatory).

Overall though I'd highly recommend the Reef and I'd stay here again if visiting Oahu.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the ocean tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ibeplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha from the Outrigger Reef on the Beach! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thought on your recent stay with us. Quality of service is a goal that Outrigger Hotels and Resorts continue daily to strive for and we were delighted to learn that those goals had been met! We take great pride in our hotel and strive to be outstanding Mea Ho'okipa (Hosts). Looking forward to your return visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is my wife and I 2nd visit to Honolulu. We stayed for three nights in a partial ocean view room on the eleventh floor.
The Outrigger Reef on the beach is ideally located close to shopping, restaurants and most importantly Waikiki Beach. Direct access to the beach is an easy 2 min walk through the lobby and straight into the water.
The hotels swimming pool and hot tubs are clean and inviting.
The room was very quite and noise from other guest rooms was never an issue.
Free in room wifi.
Overall a very nice hotel and would stay again when visiting Hawaii.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at arrival and throughout your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are delighted to know that you are very happy with the location and the service provided by the staff. We look forward to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is right on the Beach, with a beautiful view while enjoying a drink at the Shore Bird bar.They should definitely upgrade their beds to Queen size because for two people it is not comfortable. Stanley at the front desk at check in was very nice and helpful. Good employee to have to be a successful company and keep customers coming back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crockinrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel on the beachfront in Waikiki near all the popular shops and restaurants. In addition, we appreciate your positive feedback on our friendly staff as our staff’s goals are to enhance our guest’s experiences here at the Reef. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, which we will review to see how we can improve our services.

We hope that you provide us another opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here feb 2014. For 8 days hotel was really clean and tidy pool was cleaned daily Food here was ok will i go back no because there are other places on my list to visit. But would recommend it to my friends and family thanks ado

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Adomacdoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are delighted to know that you love the location and service.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
619 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We originally wanted to stay at the Hilton Hawaiian, but I'm so glad we stayed here instead.
It felt like a hotel in Hawaii, not a generic hotel that could have been anywhere when you stepped inside.

We thought it was a great location, both on the beach & for getting in to the centre of Honolulu.

We had our wedding vows renewed at their complimentary ceremony, it was beautiful & held so much meaning for us with the music they played & the words that were spoken. It made me cry with happiness at the end when a full rainbow appeared over the sea whilst Somewhere Over The Rainbow was played, as this was our original wedding song at the end of our ceremony.
It was truly magical for us & we can't thank you enough for that .
We booked this before we went, to make sure we could have it done on a particular morning during our stay.

The live music each night was wonderful, it was lovely walking in the hotel hearing it after being out for dinner.

The Mai Tai's in happy hour are yummy in the afternoon sunshine!

The complimentary lemon/lime water at the towel station is very refreshing in the heat & great for the kids.

Our room was always cleaned & tidied, with fresh towels when we needed them.

The car valet guys were excellent.

The Starbucks at the front of the hotel was handy for a grab & go in the mornings or a quick stop on the way home.

I highly recommend this hotel, the staff were always extremely friendly & helpful.

Thank you for a great stay.

Carole : )

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank CaroleScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at arrival and throughout your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are delighted to know that you were able to participate and enjoy the vow renewal ceremony. We look forward to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel was sensational and I'd highly recommend it. Situated on Waikiki beach with breath taking views. The room was spotless and huge. We asked for a king size bed and it was double the size of our king size bed in the UK. Very quiet and within easy walking distance of the Main Street in Honolulu. Not a crowded pool and great choice of meals/snacks. Look out for the nachos at the poolside bar, mmmmmmmm! Very welcoming and happy staff too.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 929. Right at the end of the corridor so blissfully quiet with stunning views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeepdaleDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha from the Outrigger Reef on the Beach! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thought on your recent stay with us. Quality of service is a goal that Outrigger Hotels and Resorts continue daily to strive for and we were delighted to learn that those goals had been met! We take great pride in our hotel and strive to be outstanding Mea Ho'okipa (Hosts). Looking forward to your return visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing