We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our Honolulu visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Honolulu visit!”
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We spent two nights in Honolulu on our way to Maui. We wanted our teenagers to visit Pearl Harbor and the Arizona Memorial. We found the Outrigger perfect for our visit. The hotel arranged a inexpensive shuttle to Pearl Harbor. We spent the remainder of our time in Honolulu enjoying the beach and pool at the Outrigger. We walked to dinner both nights of our visit and loved being so close to such a large variety of restaurants and shops! The rooms were lovely - beds comfortable and the bathrooms nicely updated. Breakfast was included with our room costs. The only downside is that there is heavy construction and noise going on across the street during the work day. Definitely would stay at the Outrigger again for a visit to Honolulu.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrenchFryDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,295
    1,883
    442
    130
    82
See reviews for
1,683
2,721
157
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed here based on the rates and location. The hotel was clean and located at the far end of Waikiki. It was an OK stay but we would not return for another visit. We are a couple that have stayed in a five star hotels in Vegas and 1 star dives throughout the US so we are pretty well seasoned. The Reed is definitely NOT a four star hotel. Three at the best. HOWEVER, the restaraunt ShoreBird as amazing!

Here are our likes:
- Rooms were spacious and clean
- Pool area was nice and maintained well
- Shorebird!!! Great food and good atmosphere.

Our Dislikes:
- Location was HORRIBLE! Don't plan on driving there. Grab a cab. The valey staff was clueless. There was a parade shutting down the street in front of the hotel and they had no idea. Lucky we read the street signs and were able to get our car out early.
- The beach was terrible. Very rocky. The only reason to stay and play in Waikiki is for the bragging rights.
- Trying to walk to Waikiki from the Outrigger was a challenge. There is no boardwalk.

If you must stay in Waikiki, go elsewhere for less money and more central access to nightlife. Waikiki Beach is better down towards Diamond Head anyway.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

The outrigger reef pretty much promised on all expectations.

I was a little disappointed that I got an "ocean view" instead of an "ocean front", but that's my own fault for not paying attention when booking the room. The view was fine. I have tons of sunset pictures now.

The construction of the tower next door was noisy. This problem will of course go away when it is done.

My main complaint was that I felt tricked into talking to the time-share people at the activities desk, thinking they were hotel employees.

We had the breakfast package - we ended up going to the buffet 3 of 4 times because the other menu was pretty limited/basic. But the buffet was good.
We ate dinner at Ocean House which was fantastic! We ate twice at the pool grill, which was also pretty yummy. We did not eat at the grill-your-own food restaurant.
The beach is small, but much less crowded than down more towards diamond head. In general, this area is less congested, but you are only 2 blocks away from all the stuff, so you aren't missing out. It's just a little nicer with the beach less crowded. Renting umbrellas was about $25 a day with 2 chairs.
There are some great restaurants and shops located within 2-3 blocks.
The staff was very friendly.
The spa was not open yet, so we went to the other Outrigger spa. It was wonderful.
I would return both to this area of waikiki and to this specific hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

While I didn't really enjoy Honolulu or Waikiki much, if I were planning to return I would definitely choose this hotel again! It was very clean, very up-to-date, no resort fee, right on beach, close to all the Waikiki action, and very modern yet comfortable. My only complaint: that particular spot of the beach is not as good as other spots. Some great highlights: actual lounge chairs at the pool (not flimsy plastic/vinyl), free internet, beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARADISE
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

May 20 - 27 2009
When we got there the experience started. We were met by a Valet named Kerry. He was great, he escorted us to the registration desk and when we got ready to leave everyday he would as where we were off to and gave us very good suggestions. The room looked just like the picture on the internet. We had an ocean front room where we watched the hula lessons and two renewal of vows ceremonies. The sunsets on the balcony were the most beautiful that I have ever seen.

Shorebird restaurant was great, they had a breakfast buffet daily and if you couldn't find what you were looking for they offered to get it for you.

Ocean House restaurant had the best prime rib I think I have ever had. The staff was supurb.

The hotel staff was the best I have ever have ever encountered.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAURRIE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

ok, don't shoot the messenger. this hotel is clean, well situated and the staff friendly. however, this is not even close to a 4 star hotel that tripadvisor gives it. a 4 star is a hyatt. the hotel is essentially on a walkway for a public beach access and literally you could see every kind of tattoo, every body part hanging out of ill cut clothing as people walked though to get to the beach(as well as half of the guests). we paid nearly $300 a night each for two oceanfront rooms. the pool area is atrocious, just a pool without any charm surrounded by buildings.
i have realized that tripadvisor reviewers will hardly say anything negative, but this hotel is not in the category that it is given.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I recently stayed at the Outrigger Reef in an oceanfront room. The hotel is an excellent choice and convenient to restaurants and shopping.

Good

Location - On the beach, ocean front rooms have a view of Diamond Head to the left and the sunset to the right. Lots of activity during the day and night. Perfect for people watching. Plenty of ocean activities right outside of the hotel. The "bird man" who takes pictures of eight or so birds perched on tourists is fun to watch. Watch out for the kids who place a lei around your neck only to ask for a donation. Can see the fireworks from your room on Friday night.

Breakfast - Shorebird Breakfast Buffet was included with my rate. Great little buffet with fruits, pastries, and your typical eggs, bacon, etc. Perfect way to start the day.

Free wi-fi in lobby, free broadband in room (no wi-fi)

Beds - Very plush and comfortable, great pillows, hated the bedspread.

Toiletries - The shampoos, soaps, etc were great. They smelled good.

Bad

Parking - $25.00 a day (typical in Waikiki). Valets take forever to bring your car around. Call ahead.

Elevators - You have to use your room key to access the elevator. My cards deactivated three times (my fault, money clip magnet). Just a pain to dig for your card to go up to your room.

Room service - Limited menu, expensive. Needs a major overhaul.

Maid service was a little spotty during my stay. Left a tip for extra towels each day. The maid only left towels two of the eight days.

AC unit is connected to the lanai door. If you open the sliding glass door to the lanai the ac unit will turn off.

E-mail me with any questions.

Buzz

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buzzkill1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,012 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing