We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Stayed for 3 nights at this well appointed hotel. This hotel was just recently refurbished, and is well worth the stay. Rooms are large and comfy with balconies. GREAT POOL, and beach access. The only problem here is that the beach is a little rocky, and somewhat tough on your feet. They also have a hospitality room to shower and change for late PM flights. A great plus. This hotel also has a great location for restaurants, and shops. Would stay here again in the future. Staff was very nice, and helpful. Rent a car and explore Oahu. There are great beaches on the west and north shores.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asaptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,727 - 4,733 of 6,069 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2009

We're glad we splurged on a 12th floor Ocean View Suite. Everything looked brand new (which it probably was) and we had 2 long balconies. One overlooked the pool area and the other was a beach/ocean view. There was a big low building in front of us, but we could still clearly see the ocean and all the surfers out there.

Everything in the room worked and it was well-decorated. The staff was courteous, but pretty much left us alone, and that was exactly what we wanted.

My only gripe is that I'd wish they had wifi instead of only ethernet. Didn't like to be tied to a desk facing a wall when trying to get some work done.

We also noticed a lot of construction on street side of the hotel so I'd avoid those rooms if possible.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sea_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My ten-year-old daughter and I stayed here (I have stayed here before on business), and we loved it. The staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful, especially the valet parking crew who even test drove my rental to check out a weird noise it was making. We were greeted with cool washcloths and ice water with lemon and mint, which was a wonderful welcome after fighting the airport bustle to get there.

We took full advantage of being able to walk straight from the elevator to the beach and the pool. The Shorebird quickly became our favorite breakfast spot and we got there early each morning to have a beach-front table at the buffet.

The Outrigger Reef is at the end of the beach, but it is an easy walk to the International Marketplace and all the other shopping and restaurants along the beach. We opted for the least expensive "no view" room, as we didn't intend to spend much time in the room, so we looked at a construction site from our window. I could have paid more for an ocean view, but who needs it, when we could just step outside the lobby and be on the ocean.

The hotel was renovated since my last visit, and the rooms were immaculate and bathrooms much improved.

I recommend, and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorCalTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We spent two nights in Honolulu on our way to Maui. We wanted our teenagers to visit Pearl Harbor and the Arizona Memorial. We found the Outrigger perfect for our visit. The hotel arranged a inexpensive shuttle to Pearl Harbor. We spent the remainder of our time in Honolulu enjoying the beach and pool at the Outrigger. We walked to dinner both nights of our visit and loved being so close to such a large variety of restaurants and shops! The rooms were lovely - beds comfortable and the bathrooms nicely updated. Breakfast was included with our room costs. The only downside is that there is heavy construction and noise going on across the street during the work day. Definitely would stay at the Outrigger again for a visit to Honolulu.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrenchFryDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed here based on the rates and location. The hotel was clean and located at the far end of Waikiki. It was an OK stay but we would not return for another visit. We are a couple that have stayed in a five star hotels in Vegas and 1 star dives throughout the US so we are pretty well seasoned. The Reed is definitely NOT a four star hotel. Three at the best. HOWEVER, the restaraunt ShoreBird as amazing!

Here are our likes:
- Rooms were spacious and clean
- Pool area was nice and maintained well
- Shorebird!!! Great food and good atmosphere.

Our Dislikes:
- Location was HORRIBLE! Don't plan on driving there. Grab a cab. The valey staff was clueless. There was a parade shutting down the street in front of the hotel and they had no idea. Lucky we read the street signs and were able to get our car out early.
- The beach was terrible. Very rocky. The only reason to stay and play in Waikiki is for the bragging rights.
- Trying to walk to Waikiki from the Outrigger was a challenge. There is no boardwalk.

If you must stay in Waikiki, go elsewhere for less money and more central access to nightlife. Waikiki Beach is better down towards Diamond Head anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

The outrigger reef pretty much promised on all expectations.

I was a little disappointed that I got an "ocean view" instead of an "ocean front", but that's my own fault for not paying attention when booking the room. The view was fine. I have tons of sunset pictures now.

The construction of the tower next door was noisy. This problem will of course go away when it is done.

My main complaint was that I felt tricked into talking to the time-share people at the activities desk, thinking they were hotel employees.

We had the breakfast package - we ended up going to the buffet 3 of 4 times because the other menu was pretty limited/basic. But the buffet was good.
We ate dinner at Ocean House which was fantastic! We ate twice at the pool grill, which was also pretty yummy. We did not eat at the grill-your-own food restaurant.
The beach is small, but much less crowded than down more towards diamond head. In general, this area is less congested, but you are only 2 blocks away from all the stuff, so you aren't missing out. It's just a little nicer with the beach less crowded. Renting umbrellas was about $25 a day with 2 chairs.
There are some great restaurants and shops located within 2-3 blocks.
The staff was very friendly.
The spa was not open yet, so we went to the other Outrigger spa. It was wonderful.
I would return both to this area of waikiki and to this specific hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

While I didn't really enjoy Honolulu or Waikiki much, if I were planning to return I would definitely choose this hotel again! It was very clean, very up-to-date, no resort fee, right on beach, close to all the Waikiki action, and very modern yet comfortable. My only complaint: that particular spot of the beach is not as good as other spots. Some great highlights: actual lounge chairs at the pool (not flimsy plastic/vinyl), free internet, beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,219 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £203 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing