We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have fond memories of the Outrigger, can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
boston, ma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“I have fond memories of the Outrigger, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The stay at the Outrigger Reef was SO good! Rooms are beautiful, nice size for a downtown hotel. I had a partial ocean view room, which includes view of the pool area--which was fine, except when there was nightly music, it can get quite loud, but the music stops around 9:30, so not that bad. The staff were so friendly :) The clothing store there (sorry, I forgot the name) sells high-quality fashion for reasonable prices. Plus there is a starbucks on-site and convenience store. It's so nice to be able to walk right to the beach, or enjoy a drink poolside. Easy walk to all the action and shopping in Waikiki. Valet parking is expensive, but where isn't it? Valet were very efficient with bringing the car around when I needed it. I would definitely stay here again!!

Only thing that wasn't so great was the spa--overpriced, so-so service, decor was dated. I would avoid.

A big Mahalo to the Outrigger staff!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMB2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,248
    1,858
    434
    122
    79
See reviews for
1,640
2,687
155
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

There's not point in me babbling on. All I need to say is this hotel is amazing. It's fab from the minute you arrive at the entrance. Fab, fab, fab. Everything; room, bar; pool; restaurants; shopping; staff, it's all brilliant. Great location too. Beach beautiful and on your door step. Shops fantastic and just a short walk. Plenty of fab restaurants to choose from too. Just book, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed for 1 week at Outrigger Reef with 2 teenagers. They brought in a roll away bed for no charge and gave us a big room meant for handicapped people. We really enjoyed the larger room and everyone was SO NICE and FRIENDLY. Staff went out of their way to help us. Rooms were very clean and serviced promptly. We will stay there again! So close to everything and so pleasant!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

My husband and I chose the outrigger reef for our honeymoon stay, and we couldn't be more happy that we did. The maid on our floor learned our names, and everyday would greet us and asked us if we needed anything. The hotel is right on the beach, and has a great view. The staff is very friendly and helpful with planning activities. It's a great location, and everything is in walking distance. We didn't rent a car, and I'm glad we didn't. We walked to the zoo, restaurants, beach, and shopping areas.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Napoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Having stayed at the Outrigger reef on the beach just over 2 years ago when the Hotel was in the middle of a major overhaul I promised myslf to return when all the work was completed.
I was not disapointed, the Hotel now has all the facilities up and running with an excellent pool bar. The only down side was the choice of Entertainment in the evening, the standard I thought was quite poor, but at least it finished at 9.00pm.
We were disapointed with 2 tours we went on, the Big Island Tour with "Grays" was a let down, we expected at least an attempt to see the Lava entering the sea, we ended up a couple of miles from it with no explanation. If it was a lack of time then why were we dropped of at the Airport for our return to OHAO nealy 3 hours before the flight was due.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gary51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pillager, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef for 7 nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. From the welcoming staff at the check in table, to the wonderful restaurants, incredible music at the Kani Ka Pila Grill each night, the beautiful comfortable clean room it was a very enjoyable stay. The location can't be beat, right on the beach and easy walking distance to the Beach walk with all the shops and restaurants. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We had booked a "city view" but we overlooked the pool area and we could see the ocean from our lanai if we looked to the right. They didn't tell us they had upgraded us, but if this truly was a city view we'll book this same room anytime. We renewed our vows with the ceremony offered free to Outrigger guests and it was a beautiful moving experience. There is a free lance photographer who takes pictures of everyone and you have an opportunity to purchase a CD with all of them and pick and print your own. Since we didn't have any other family there we took him up on his offer and for $75 we got some great pictures of ourselves so it was well worth every penny. We ate breakfast most mornings at the Shorebird buffet and the food was great - with the 50% off coupon we found in the Oahu This Week booklet we paid about $20 for the two of us each time. We also rode the Outrigger catamaran twice - it was that much fun. The shaker cocktail that is available on the ride is wonderful - riding the waves with a shaker of rum and POG juice and peach schnaps is a great way to spend time in paradise! We will definitely be back and will stay at the Outrigger Reef again - hopefully for more than a week next time...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmack50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Stayed 7 nights at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, the hotel is fantastic, very clean, we had an oceanview room and it was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable, the valet, maid and pool personnel all greeted you by your name, felt very welcome. The location is great, not on a busy street, right on the beach, and the ocean front restaurants were great. Pool was also great. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chercharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4,293 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,496 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing