We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Marina Inn Airport
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Old and poor location”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We needed a room for one night in Honolulu that offered a airport shuttle, so we selected this place. While the shuttle is great, the old, small room with older shower stall bathroom is not good. The staff were friendly and the pool looked nice. The deck chairs seemed updated.

However, the motel is located in a commercial district by repair shops, gas stations and some auto dealerships. You are just off of Nimitz Highway. We asked about a bus or shuttle to Waikiki or town center and were provided with a little map to the bus stop. It's about 3 blocks away, under the highway overpass. We caught a #42 bus to Waikiki ($2.50 p.p.) and took an hour ride to Kuhio hotel area (the backside of hotels on strip). Walk up a block to get to beach area. The ride back to motel was longer, 1.5 hours and dark upon return. I didn't really feel safe walking under the highway overpass in the dark. We had no troubles, though.

Sleep wise, it was noisy, so not a restful night. We enjoyed the Airport Best Western more, on a previous visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    73
    149
    75
    100
See reviews for
69
163
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Nz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It was clean (except for the worn carpet), but way too much money for the quality - hasn't been renovated in over 20 years. Mix of attitudes from the staff - some good, some not - the shuttle policies weren't clear either. It was OK but I would not stay again. Tip: wait until the last minute to book airport hotels and cars - you'll probably get a better rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank suuzinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I had reviewed tripadvisor and that was helpful. The food at the chinese restaurant was mediocre, the accommodation ware spartan. However, the people were friendly and the location could not be better. We had a 5 am flight and this served us well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anushidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The only reason to stay here would be for an early flight out of HNL. The room we had was minute with almost no facilities and a very small bed. There is a cheap Chinese restaurant on site for evening meal but it closes early. No breakfast facility anywhere in the (industrial) neighborhood. Shuttle to airport OK but we waited for ages to be tranported to motel from airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This motel is located in an industrial area. There is the airport, car dealerships, & Wendy's off Waiwai Loop. This motel was kinda hard to find considering the fact that I road the bus from Waikiki marina. On the positive side, this motel was clean, very close to airport(they have a shuttle), walking distance to gas station(light snacks for purchase), & across the street from a bar(If you need a stiff drink). This motel could use lots of updates. I booked this motel because I wanted a place to rest and shower b4 my long flight back to the mainland. Its perfect for that purpose. They have a pool, which isn't very clean. A restaurant attached to the property but has weird hours. The staff was very friendly and polite. They do their best to accommodate whatever needs you have.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miichelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Hotel located very close the the airport. I got this hotel through travelocity and didnt want to spend alot since it was just going to be a back up place to stay for me. I paid to stay 3 nights with my package but only stayed the 3rd nite (last night), and that wasnt an issue at the front desk. They even gave me a graded room with 3 beds. The staff was nice and the rooms were fairly clean. There were some stains on some of the towels...which i wasnt happy about but I found some clean ones. The walls are thin and it is an older property but what do you except for such a cheap price. For me...it was worth the price b/c it only came up to about an extra $25 on my travel package. If you dont have a rental its about $30-40 cab rife to waikiki beach. Since I was traveling alone I didnt feel that safe at night, at first but no one bothered me. Free parking was a plus. I didnt try the chinese food but i heard it was decent

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

It's an older hotel some might even say a little rundown and in an industrial park. But it's close to the airport and the staff is excellent. I agree with some other reviewers that it definitely needs some updating but staff and customer service makes all the difference I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAdives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,007 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
780 reviews
Waikiki
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
#82 of 84 in Honolulu
384 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Marina Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Marina Inn Airport

Property: Pacific Marina Inn Airport
Address: 2628 Waiwai Loop, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1938
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Marina Inn Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one Oahu hotel you can count on for convenience and value. This is the Pacific Marina Inn, five minutes from Honolulu International Airport, 15 minutes from downtown Honolulu, and 20 minutes from Waikiki, making it perfect for the business traveler or commuter. With complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle service, this hotel is a great option for those looking to spend an evening in Oahu between flights or for an affordable option that offers a location off of the beaten path. The hotel room accommodations include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen TV, and high-speed Wi-Fi connectivity. Guests may enjoy the hotel's swimming pool, a drink at the Canoe Hut Lounge, or complimentary musical entertainment and dancing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Marina Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Marina Hotel Honolulu
Pacific Marina Honolulu
Pacific Marina Inn Honolulu
Pacific Marina Inn Airport Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing