We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We bought this through Expedia as it was described as close to airport. It's not. It's about 40 bucks by cab. Although the rate is not expensive there is no excuse for a smelly room with body hair on the sheets. There are better places to stay that are a lot closer to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonethebone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Aloha T0nyL,
Thank you for your review. I am concerned to hear that your room was smell and had hair in it and I apologize. Our Housekeeping staff has been made aware of your review and stricter inspection of the rooms is in order. I will also check the wording on expedia's website regarding our property being close to the airport. Though there are 3 hotels I can think of closer, we do not advertise ourselves as an airport hotel. I do hope that you will give the Pagoda another chance during your next stay in Hawai'i.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because of the low cost but were pleasantly surprised how nice it was.

Very close to public transit, Wal Mart across the street, restaurant on site and about 10 restaurants less than a block away.

My only complaint is there is no jazzui.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank mikerbrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Aloha mikerbrant,
Mahalo for the concise review! I am pleased that you were surprised with your recent stay. We do strive to be an affordable option in the heart of Honolulu, away from the hustle and bustle of Waikīkī. All of us here at the Pagoda hope to see you again in the near future!
Me Ka Hau'oli,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The AC unit in the room is extremely loud and there's a faint smell of cigs even though the room is non-smoking. The place is older and it shows in the rooms, however it was one of the cheapest hotels in the area so understandable. Staff at the front desk was very nice and helped me book shuttles to/from the airport.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Aloha Andrew K,
Thank you for writing a review! I apologize for the loud a/c and the smell of smoke. I am not sure of where your room was located, but our Tower is completely non-smoking. Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and I hope that you will afford us another opportunity in the future to make your next stay with us exceptionally better than this previous one.
A Hui, Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Although the Terrace is undergoing renovations and will no longer be part of the hotel effective March 2014, I am both happy and sad -- happy for renovations and possibility of my owning a unit there, and sad that I won't be able to stay in the Terrace in the future as I enjoy the convenience and affordability. Then, again, happy and looking forward to staying in the hotel tower as it has been highly recommended to me. It was great, so convenient, friendly and quick service, rooms were clean, and I had everything at my fingertips that I could possibly want while traveling and meeting with family!

Room Tip: Rooms accessed through Ewa elevator, toward the end, like 321, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keani1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Aloha keani1024,
Thank you for the review! I am glad that we were a convenient choice for you when returning home. I am thankful that you are a long-time guest that has returned to see the improvements we are making. Until the next time...
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I am a senior kamaaina and like to go off island and visit Honolulu "The Big City" for three days every year. I am able to do that because of the "Lite" rates the Aqua group offers at the Pagoda Hotel. I take an early a.m. interisland flight for the first night and a late departure for the second night which gives me three full days to sightsee, shop, dine (my favorite place for dim sum, The Royal Garden, in the Ala Moana Hotel is actually walking distance). Next time I will not go to the expense of a rental car because of the hotel's proximity to public transportation, shuttle, trolley and taxi...avoiding car rental rates and $10 and up daily parking rates. Ala Moana Beach Park and Ala Moana shopping mall are all walking distance. I am comfortable in the least expensive of rooms. The rooms and furnishing are a little older but very clean. Microwave, coffee maker, small refrigerator and a window air-conditioner are in place and all worked very nicely. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. I was pleased for the security now in place with room and elevator access cards as well as uniformed security at the doors and in the parking lot immediate to the hotel entrance. Pagoda Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and, of course, the Food Court at the Ala Moana shopping center holds about 30 food concessions to meet every taste from A to Z.

Room Tip: If you are on a strict budget ask for the lowest rate and use AAA, AARP or kamaaina identification t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bjbert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Aloha bjbert2,
Mahalo nui for taking the time to post your thoughts! I appreciate that you found our property to be older but very clean and with a great proximity to everything. We truly value our seniors and kamaʻāina and are proud to be a local favorite for the past 50 years. I do hope to meet you and welcome you as a guest of the Pagoda very soon!
Me Ka Ha'aha'a,
Paul Dun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

In town for a wedding, and did not want to stay in Waikiki. Pagoda was perfect. Near shopping and restaurants. Reasonably priced. Clean, spacious room in main tower, end of the hallway. Good AC. New flat screen tv. In room fridge, coffee, iron, ironing board, blow dryer. Key card elevator and floor access. Complimentary newspaper. Friendly front desk personnel. Would've been perfect if the towels were thicker and softer, and the parking ($10 daily) was more convenient. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank konalunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Aloha konalunas,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! You summed it up perfectly...we offer clean rooms, a great location, friendly staff, and affordable prices. I am thankful that you will be returning to the Pagoda. As we continue to improve our property and amenities (hopefully thicker towels on the way...), we look forward to impress you even more!
Me Ka Ha'aha'a,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I had been a while since we stayed at Pagoda since there were other hotels in Waikiki closer. We missed the friendly service & hospitality of the people at Pagoda. You actually feel like you are at home...the renovations & upgrades are amazing!!! Will definitely be back again!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurfy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Aloha Smurfy65,
Mahalo for returning to the Pagoda and taking the time to post a review! We definitely love to serve our kama'āina (and malihini) guests with warmth and the Aloha Spirit. I am very happy that you were 'amazed' by our upgrades and we all look forward to having you as a guest again in the near future.
Me Ka Hau'oli,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Address: 1525 Rycroft St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-2494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £102 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring warm island hospitality and a water garden of shaded paths, tumbling falls, and colorful koi, Pagoda Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Honolulu. Guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Situated near Ala Moana Center, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, beaches, downtown Honolulu, Hawaii Convention Center and Waikiki. With our daily convenience fee, Pagoda Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include: DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle service, daily newspaper, in-room internet access, in-room coffee, in room safe, and local & toll-free calls. You'll also enjoy an outdoor swimming pool & sundeck, a renowned restaurant, meeting & banquet facilities, ample guest parking (fee), sundry shop, self-service & valet laundry service, and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing