We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent place. Very good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Descent place. Very good location”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

One great location. Walking distance from Ala Moana BLVD and many more important places. Wall-mart is a whisper away. Rooms are average and the bed is comfortable. No free wifi is a big disappointment. You need to pay $9 and $.40 tax per day for internet via a cable. You need a laptop for that. if you are only on a smart phone or tab, good luck.

The location is the reason to select this venue. Rooms will get road noise!

Room Tip: Higher you go lesser will be the noise. So pick a room on top most floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark135904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha mark153904,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed our awesome location...we are uniquely located in the Heart of Honolulu near Ala Moana and it's easy to get around. You will be happy to know that we are very close to installing wifi capabilities in our Tower and eagerly await that to happen soon. (Unfortunately, there will continue to be a charge. As a Lite Hotel, we offer value through affordable rates with no mandatory resort fees (that some of our competitors charge) with a la carte amenity fees for certain features.) We hope to welcome you back to the Pagoda in the near future!
Me Ka Ha'aha'a,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    128
    107
    58
    80
See reviews for
145
73
66
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We live in Hawaii and needed a place to stay while home repairs were being done. Pagoda Hotel was the perfect solution for us. It's conveniently and centrally located in Honolulu near shops, various eateries; yet also minutes away from Waikiki. Great value and service, very friendly and helpful staff. It was like our home away from home for us. We stayed in a Tower Deluxe room; it met our needs (comfortable queen beds and pillows, also loved the room's layout). We enjoyed our stay, would stay there again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iokuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha iokuda,
Mahalo Nui for taking the time to post such a wonderful review! We pride ourselvse on welcoming both malihini and kamaʻāina alike. I am thankful that you loved our location and that the rooms met your needs. Also, I am overjoyed that you will continue to recommend us to your friends and family! All of us here at Pagoda hope to see you back very soon.
A Hui Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were given a room in the Terrace. It was really horrible, with old damaged furniture and depressing colours. When I rang the front desk, we were moved straight to the Tower (building with reception in it). Our room was refurbished, similar to the one pictured above, clean and had a view. The staff were extremely helpful, they made up our room every day, gave information and change and twice when I rang for maintenance a man arrived in about 5 minutes. The location is good, close to many restaurants and walking distance to the Ala Moana shopping centre for gifts, food and transport. There was usually at least one taxi waiting outside the door too.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieAdventurer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Aloha AussieAdventurer50,
Mahalo for posting a review. Though I am sorry that you did not like your Terrace room, I am delighted that we were able to accommodate you in the Tower and that you were pleased with it. Thank you for pointing out our great location and helpful staff. All of us here at the Pagoda look forward to you returning to our little slice of Honolulu in the near future!
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Bedroom had fist holes in the door. The upholstery was worn through so badly you could see the foam padding. The carpets were badly stained. The aircoditioning unit in the bedrrom had leaked and stained the carpet. The air conditioner from the room above had leaked through the ceiling and the plaster had fallen off. The veneer had fallen off the coffee table. We arrived after 11pm and were told our room was not in the main block but up the street and across the road - no offer was made to help with bags or escort us to the room - not very comforting for 3 women late at night.

Room Tip: Website images are not a true repesentation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parky462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Aloha Parky462,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize for the worn state of your room. Currently, we are renovating the units at the Terrace, including new carpeting and upholstery. I am also sorry that we did not offer assistance with your luggage. Though we do not have a Bell Department, we could have had someone assist you. I do hope that you afford us another chance in the future, with perhaps one of our newly refurbished Tower rooms? Until next time...
A Hui Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great accomodations in a very convenient location. Close to Ala Moana Center (5 min. walk), Waikiki (15 min. walk or 5 min. bus). Fantastic on site restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Near lots of shopping including Walmart and Don Quiote. All the employees, especially the front desk and restaurant were wonderful. Had a room in the tower on the 12th floor. When you stay here, forget about renting a car, no need. We look forward to returning to be a part of the Pagoda Ohana (family) again. Mahalo to all.

Room Tip: Room in the tower, high floor a must. Street peolple do loiter, but they also loiter in Waikiki in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ichiban2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Aloha ichiban2013,
I very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review! I am thankful that you found our service and location a great value to you and your family. Our 'ohana will be proud to welcome you back to the Pagoda very soon.
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We spent one night at this hotel before leaving Hawaii. The Hotel is way different from what is shown in the website photos. The rooms are not well kept although not dirty. Extremely old fashioned and overpriced. In the corridor there was an hawful smell. The personnel was very friendly anf helpful.

Room Tip: I would definitely choose this hotel only if nothing else is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoca79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Aloha Nicoca79,
Thank you for your comments. We will be addressing the strange smell you encounted in our corridors. Though some of our rooms have older furniture, I appreciate that you saw that they were not dirty and that our staff was helpful. Hopefully in the future, you will stay with us for more than 1 night and we can show you the improvements we have made with renovations and the new amenities and fixtures we will soon offer.
Me Ka Hau'oli,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipukurau
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in our room for about two hours - which was the time it took us to organise accommodation elsewhere. The curtains were stained as was the carpet and the room smelled awful. The plaster was falling off the ceiling and the bathroom was grotty. Even our shuttle bus person commented - please let us know if you decide to change!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosheen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Aloha Rosheen P,
Thank you for posting a review. I would very much appreciate to know what room you were in, as I am sure you informed the front desk. Our Tower rooms were recently refurbished and the majority of our reviews and comments have been extremely positive. We are continuing on our Tower rooms and have begun renovations at our Terrace. I do hope you consider coming back to the Pagoda as we are always trying to improve.
Me Ka Ha'aha'a,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,604 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
1,433 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
1,859 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
526 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Property: Pagoda Hotel
Address: 1525 Rycroft St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-2494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring warm island hospitality and a water garden of shaded paths, tumbling falls, and colorful koi, Pagoda Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Honolulu. Guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Situated near Ala Moana Center, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, beaches, downtown Honolulu, Hawaii Convention Center and Waikiki. With our daily convenience fee, Pagoda Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include: DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle service, daily newspaper, in-room internet access, in-room coffee, in room safe, and local & toll-free calls. You'll also enjoy an outdoor swimming pool & sundeck, a renowned restaurant, meeting & banquet facilities, ample guest parking (fee), sundry shop, self-service & valet laundry service, and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing