We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and value”
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location
Walk to Ross / Walmart /ala moana
Shopping mall
Also many good nearby restaurants
I took I bus from the airport here
2.50 and got off at the ala moana shopping center n walked abt 15 mins n found the place
Nice easy check in and friendly
The room in the tower is totally acceptable
Nice big room n clean bathroom

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank frickyhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Aloha frickyhongkong,
Mahalo for writing a review! I am pleased that you were happy with our awesome location in the heart of Honolulu and am glad that you enjoyed your clean room and bathroom. Please visit us again in the near future, we would love to have you.
A Hui Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Room was much nicer than the last time we stayed there. Very clean and all rooms are no smoking. Saw a lot of people there from the island that we are from. Nice to see familiar faces. Very convenient location for us locals. $10 parking across the street from the tower where we were is not too bad. Staff was very helpful at the front desk and all the staff in general were very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Aloha John S,
Mahalo for taking the time to post a review! It is wonderful that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff. I am also pleased that you saw many familiar faces from Moloka'i while you were here. We definately pride ourselves on serving kamaʻāina and malihini alike. Since you are a returnee, I trust we will see you very soon at the Pagoda. We look forward to it!
A Hui Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

PLEASE HIT THE LIKE BUTTON IF THIS REVIEW IS OF USE TO YOU, THANKS IN ADVANCE.

1. Booked a kitchenette room but was next to the building site so were quickly and smoothly moved to a superior room in the main hotel block.
Kitchenette room was basic but ok to sleep in. TV was the older type and made a humming sound when on.

2. Superior room was clean, had very nice beds with memory foam mattresses which had protectors on them. Aircon was good in the room.
Toaster, fridge with small freezer section and microwave were included.
Front desk provided us with plates and some plastic cutlery.
Plenty of hot water in bathroom, towels, shampoo, soap.
Hair dryer in room. New flat screen tv with good choice of programs.
Very sadly no free wifi which was upsetting, this should be a given in any hotel, even hostels seem to have it free....

3. Pool looked nice, we did not use, it was unheated and had nice sunbathing area around it.

4. There is a restaurant but did not use it.

5. Staff are exceptional, nothing is too much trouble and they genuinely want you to enjoy your stay.

6. Easily walkable to large shopping mall with all the top names, McDonalds, restaurants , waterfront.

7. Near the mall are bus stops which take you where you need to go.

8. We walked to Waikiki beach, around 45 mins.

ALL IN ALL A GOOD STAY BUT THERE WAS NOISE EARLY MORNINGS FROM LORRY REVERSING ALARMS, IT DID DISTURB US BUT WE MANAGED TO PUT UP WITH IT.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rosielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Aloha rosielamb,
Thank you so much for the detailed review! I am so happy that you seemed to enjoy your stay, with our clean rooms, great location and friendly staff despite the early morning noise from the traffic. This is especially encouraging since you come from half-way around the world! We hope that you are able to return to Hawai'i and the Pagoda Hotel in the near future.
Me Ka Hau'oli,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We found the front desk staff to be friendly, thoughtful and helpful. They stored our bags when we arrived very early and again after we checked out. The restaurant service and breakfast was delightful, plus, the garden is beautiful and we took many pictures of the waterfall and fish.

Room Tip: Top south floors let you see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kermit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Aloha Kermit S,
Mahalo for posting a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the service of our staff and the beautiful landscaping of our property. I hope to meet you as a guest in the near future!
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I find Pagoda Hotel always a very convenient hotel to stay at because of its location. I love the new renovations being done at the hotel to upgrade it. New hotel management is very friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located at very secure and safe environment. Maids are very are very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Aloha Paulo S,
Mahalo, for your review! It seems that you are a returning guest of Pagoda and we thank you for that. We very much appreciate that you see we are constantly trying to improve - our rooms, our property, our safety and our service, and hope to continue impressing you in the future. Until we meet again...
Me Ka Hau'oli,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We often plan a short island get away and we like the convenience of staying here. It's easy to walk to all the neighboring eateries and try something different. Ross and Don Quijote are just across the street as well as some other big box stores. It's easy to get on/off the freeway without much of the traffic jams. We've always found the staff friendly and accommodating. It's nice to see that they are continuing to upgrade the facility. We just got back and the room we had was clean, neat and wonderful! We'll be back for sure. Mahalo from Maui

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kramer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Aloha Kramer G,
Mahalo for taking the time to post your thoughts of our property. We are proud that we are your first choice when venturing from Maui and hope to continue to be the 'go to' accommodation for kama'āina and malihini alike. We are also excited that you have noticed and loved our improvements that we are making. The Pagoda staff look forward to your next staycation with us in the very near future.
A Hui Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you are just looking for a decent place to stay, Pagoda Hotel is a good one. We stayed in a room with a kitchenette, so we were able to cook a quick meal if needed. Everything that you need is all close by the hotel. My sons visited the Koi pond and fed the fish . I recommend the hotel if you just need a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maestra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Aloha maestra2014,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I am so pleased that you were able to enjoy our location, kitchenettes, and all of the koi that frolic about at our restaurant. We eagerly await your return to the Pagoda Hotel.
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
263 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,427 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
765 reviews
The Polynesian Residences
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Address: 1525 Rycroft St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-2494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £104 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring warm island hospitality and a water garden of shaded paths, tumbling falls, and colorful koi, Pagoda Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Honolulu. Guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Situated near Ala Moana Center, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, beaches, downtown Honolulu, Hawaii Convention Center and Waikiki. With our daily convenience fee, Pagoda Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include: DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle service, daily newspaper, in-room internet access, in-room coffee, in room safe, and local & toll-free calls. You'll also enjoy an outdoor swimming pool & sundeck, a renowned restaurant, meeting & banquet facilities, ample guest parking (fee), sundry shop, self-service & valet laundry service, and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing