We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay!!! mahalo!!!”
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 10 June 2014

pagoda hotel was a nice place to stay for the weekend, the amenities were great, service was wonderful, the pool was wonderful, the people at the hotel was very nice to talk too. the rooms were great.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 977twinkie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Aloha 977twinkie123,
Mahalo to you for taking the time to post a review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. All of us here at the Pagoda hope that you visit us many times in the future and in the extremely near future!
Me Ka Hau'oli,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is old but is a good price. There are clean rooms with good location and great staff. I always stay here when I visit Honolulu. Stores are very close to walk to. The Floating restaurant is a good restaurant next door or there are other good ones close by and within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Aloha Lee T,
You captured our property perfectly in your reveiw. We are a landmark in Hawai'i, recently celebrating our 50th anniversary, with affordable rates, friendly staff and a unique location, away from the other 'touristy' section of Honolulu. It's wonderful that you always stay with us when in town when visiting from the '9th island.' Hope to see you soon!
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good place for a tight budget,close to shopping malls,local restaurants,groceries,5 min away from public transportation.
Room has microwave,refrigerator,coffee machine and toaster.You can easily make your own breakfast.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya_Ko2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Aloha Maya_Ko2014,
Thank you for posting a review! I hope you enjoyed your stay with us. (Just a note that our Moderate rooms do not have a microwave and toaster, but it sounds like you were in a Deluxe category room, which is also on a higher floor.) I look forward to having you as a return guest very soon.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Pagoda is a decent hotel for a quick stop over. I was looking for a place to sleep for a few hours after a long day of flying and a late check-in. I did not want to pay $250+ for a couple of hours of sleep, so we booked a cheaper hotel for the first night, then checked in to my real vacation hotel for the rest of the Oahu trip. Inconvenient, but I knew that going in and really wanted to save some money on that first night. Pagoda is old, and a bit out dated, but clean and inexpensive. That was what I was looking for. However, my boyfriend forgot something and we've been having a hard time getting some help having it returned. A bit disappointing, but we are still working on it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Aloha Karen K,
Mahalo for your review! Yes, we are definately an affordable alternative to the 'big box' properties throughout Waikīkī. I thank you for giving us a chance. We are an older property, but we have been continuously upgrading services, rooms and amenities and will continue to do so. Hopefully the next time you return to O'ahu you will give us more than 1 day to really impress you with our 'local' hospitality.
Have you received the item you had left? If not, please call us at 808-941-6611 and ask for me.
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great location. Walking distance to many attractions. New towels were provided each day along with the beds being remade. Microwave and refrigerator were in good working order. There is a fee for parking but the parking garage is close by and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Aloha Ann F,
Mahalo for your concise review of our property! I am happy that you found our property to be clean, affordable and with a great location. We hope to serve you again soon!
Thank You,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

As has been noted many times here, the Tower seems to be the preferred building to stay over the Terrace. First the many positives....large room, nice TV, decent # stations, good lighting, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, shampoo, moisturizing lotion, tub and shower, two lavratories, good air conditioner, convenient location, good price, parking only $10 a day in the Ross parking garage, toaster, coffee maker, nice check-in clerks, firm bed, noise level OK, water pressure good, and I left one of my car windows down just a bit and was given a courtesy call by the front desk so I could fix the issue (nothing left in car but still a nice thing for them to do). The only negatives were minor cosmetic issues on shower/tub tiles (beige paint covering peeling off in places where it covered blue tiles underneath), and the basin worn in one lavratory. The main complaint is they charge $1 for local calls and toll free calls...almost no motels'hotels do that.

Parking note: It only costs $10 a day to park in Ross garage across the street from Tower (4th through the 6th levels), BUT there are many meters around the perimeter of the hotel that are NOT enforced at night until early morning. Thus, if you are smart and don't mind a slight inconvenience, you can use meters which seem to be available and can probably park for maybe $2 a day to cover late afternoon, early morning.

Room Tip: Until the Terrace renovation is done, choose the Tower and get up several floors to help with road a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tfberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Aloha tfberry,
Thank you for posting a review. Judging by your review title and overall score of 5, I am hoping that the individual scores of 1 star are a typo...
It sounds as though you did enjoy yourself and your descriptions are very detailed. In regards to the painted over tiles in the Tower, we will be working on full renovation of the bathrooms, hopefully to be finished by the end of the year. Hopefully you will return soon to see the improvements in person!
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed for 5 nights and extremely disappointed. Everyday we returned to the room there was no room service. Everyday they failed to remake the beds, vacuum the floor, replace towels needing washing,or restock toilet paper. Every day!!! No matter how late you return. Then they charges us for a rollaway that they never brought in.

Normally, I'm not bothered by other guests, but when they are pounding their doors, party g and smoking Marijuana every night until 3 am... it's a problem. Even reporting it go the fro t desk and security did nothing.
Time to find d a new place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kawehi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Aloha kawehi11,
Thank you for brining your experience to our attention. The cleaning issues you outline sound unacceptable and you shouldn't have to pay for a rollaway if you never used it. I would like the opportunity to help make this right with you, so I ask that you contact me at 808-941-6611. I look forward to speaking with you.
Me Ka Ha'aha'a,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,589 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
491 reviews
Waikiki
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
#83 of 84 in Honolulu
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
270 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
1,840 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Address: 1525 Rycroft St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-2494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £103 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring warm island hospitality and a water garden of shaded paths, tumbling falls, and colorful koi, Pagoda Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Honolulu. Guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Situated near Ala Moana Center, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, beaches, downtown Honolulu, Hawaii Convention Center and Waikiki. With our daily convenience fee, Pagoda Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include: DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle service, daily newspaper, in-room internet access, in-room coffee, in room safe, and local & toll-free calls. You'll also enjoy an outdoor swimming pool & sundeck, a renowned restaurant, meeting & banquet facilities, ample guest parking (fee), sundry shop, self-service & valet laundry service, and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing