We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at the Queen!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #61 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I will start my review agreeing with everyone's Con's. One will be fixed soon and that is the elevators which are going to be entirely replaced later this year and the others is large groups of kids (Stay at a higher priced hotel with less service) if you want to avoid kids.
Now for the Pro's of the Queen, this was our 8th stay at the Queen and far and away the staff is so accommodating and have been there for many years. We stayed in a Diamond Head View Room with a balcony and love the 02 and 03 rooms. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the pool area and the bar is getting revved up so I hope they keep working on that. The free Wi Fi was a nice surprise. The housekeeping was just fine and if I needed anything I just asked.
The front desk staff is awesome Jocelyn has always been very nice and helpful and was able to arrange a later check out for us which was much appreciated. The bell staff totally rocks Shane, Kawika, and Jared are the best. When it comes to choosing a hotel in Waikiki you can choose a full service hotel and pay for the view and the all the services that these hotels offer or you can economize and stay on Kuhio Ave and walk to the beach. OR you can stay at a great hotel close to Waikiki with a an AWESOME staff that actually remembers you when you return and provides a tremendous value. That hotel is the Queen Kapioliani Hotel. We will be returning to the Queen on our next visit and cannot wait. I always book with Merl right though the hotel and I asked for an 02 room and got just what I asked for.
One quick update as of April 1st self parking at $15/day changed to valet parking at $20/ day. At first glance I was man another $5/day but it was so nice not having to park my car in some of those tight spaces.
Thanks again for another great stay staff of the Queen.

Mike and Darla Reynolds

Room Tip: Diamond Head View room are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Now a part of Aqua Hotels, Queen Kapiolani is one of the best buys in Honolulu. Excellent location but you need to book Diamond Head view - fantastic. Friendly service overall from hotel staff.

Room Tip: Upper rooms with Diamond Head and ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Second stay here since about a year ago. Wifi is now in every room and works very well. Elevators are even slower with many breakdowns. We sense a slight deterioration since my last visit. The escalators never ran during the two weeks we were there. However it is still clean and the location is great. It is still a great value.

Room Tip: Diamond head side views are great but a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here around the 7 - 14 March travelling with a group of friends. We booked separably and I went for the basic room. That was a mistake and can not recommend any of the rooms without a balcony. The room was large but was dark even with the curtains fully opened and the lights on. Also the draw was broken and it was a room that you would sleep in, nothing else. This would of been normally ok as I don't stay in the room much but the bar was out of action and it was rainy. That being said people with a balcony had a room that was sunny and light and enjoyable to sit in with a wine and a book.

My room was clean, but friends had the prior people towels left on the balcony for the entire time of their stay. Lifts are slow, partially if busy.

Groups of school kids ! (I think we had 4 different groups). We had Mothers putting tape on the doors so the kids did not sneak out at night. 60 kids in the morning are loud - needless to say we went out for breakfast every morning.

Overall I the hotel is a bit worn but it's in a good position, Also went to Lulu's and can recommend it for a meal and a drink. I would only stay here again in a room with a balcony and would not recommend a low level rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie_PAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed March 17th to the 20th of March. Pro's Great views on upper floors, easy walk to Waikiki, very clean, decent WiFi, comfortable beds, helpful staff and Bellboys we had were very nice. Con's the hotel is older but has character, the elevators do need work. There was a group of teenaged girls there during our stay that were loud at times, but hey their young and having fun. Would stay again. Very good value. We recommend walking up to LuLu's and overlook Waikiki for breakfast!

Room Tip: Higher the better we had room 1614
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oilexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago and had a beautiful ocean view from the room. The room that I had was very small but the room was mainly used for sleeping and showering so it didn't really matter. I would like to commend a few people that really made my stay enjoyable..I've stayed in numerous hotels to date and no one has standed out as much as the two people I encountered. Front Desk Agent Caren and Manager Rob both assisted me and they were very polite and attentive. They were very approachable and took some time to ensure that my stay was enjoyable. They addressed me by name and truly exonerated what Aloha really means. I look forward to seeing them again when I visit this property in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakotys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I believe she was a beautiful hotel at one time. However, the *Queen* has definitely seen better days. Housekeeping is terrible. My bathroom over the course of seven days was never cleaned properly and was dirty upon arrival. I complained three times and got no satisfaction. I do not believe my room was ever vacuumed. The toilet never flushed properly. The elevators were so extremely slow that it was easier to walk several flights of stairs. They also never worked properly and stopped on floors, skipped floors and were prone to stop completely at mid-level at anytime. There are two escalators that never worked my entire stay. Breakfast was wonderful, however, there was always a very long wait for omelettes. The main hostess is the rudest person I have ever met. I always found dirty glasses, cups and dishes. The view from the pool deck and the breakfast area, however, was lovely. The lobby floor was never clean and there are no trash cans anywhere. The entire hotel staff could use a course on customer service. I will never stay in this hotel again. The carpets are shabby and not clean and the walls need cleaning once in a while. This is a skeevy hotel and I do not recommend it at all. If you don't mind all of the above then you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Find another hotel in which to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

We sincerely apologize that your visit to theQueen Kapiolani Hotel did not fulfill your expectations. We do make every effort to ensure that our guest have an enjoyable experience.

In regards to your comments regarding cleanliness and service, rest assured that we will be working with the Executive Housekeeper and Restaurant Manager to address them. Please accept our most humble apologies, for what you experienced was not acceptable.

We do want to Thank You for your comments that "breakfast was wonderful" and "the view from
the pool deck and the breakfast area, however was lovely. We sincerly believe that the view of Diamond Head, from the 3rd floor is simply amazing.

Should you decide to honor us with the privilege and opportunity to stay with us during your next visit to Waikiki, please do not hesitate to contact me, and I would be delighted to assist you with
your reservation.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,934 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,749 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
660 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £101 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing