We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable priced rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We booked 4 rooms for our family as part of our wedding in Hawaii. Rooms were spacious and always clean. Hotel is close to everything and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Only downside was there are current renovations being done so only two elevators in operation however this was only a minor inconvience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel is at the perfect location with minimum noise from the street(get ear plugs if you feel it would be necessary). There is no smell from the zoo that is across the street. The beach is less than a 5 min walk. You must visit "Teddy's" hamburger place and "LULU's will be come you best friend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAM85339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

the pics posted on the hotel website looked much nicer than what it really was. We were first booked in room 817 for a 6 night stay. On the second night we noticed very tiny tan colored insects crawling on our black mini fridge and desk. Thinking that after our next maid service would clear the insect problem, we decided to wait another day until we reported it. The next day we still noticed the small insects and decided to talk to the front desk. The staff was courteous and apologetic about the situation and offered us a another room on the main floor. the front desk explained that bugs and insects are a common and normal problem in all hawaii hotels and homes, which my bf did not agree with. We decided to inspect the room on the main floor first before moving into it. Unfortunately, it was the same problem in that room as well. The next day, we notice small black ants (possibly moisture ants? ) crawling on the desk and in our bathroom counters! Again, we talked to the front desk and was offered room 617. Surprisingly the room was a bit cleaner since we did not notice any live insects ( just a few dead ants on the bathroom counter.) The insects completely ruined our experience at the hotel, as well as the slow elevator. there was only one functioning elevator for the entire hotel which took us about 5 minutes just to get down to the lobby each time. I also noticed the corners of our room and bathroom had some residue/ dust build up. i would never stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: you pay for what you get..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Aloha! We certainly do apologize that your visit to Queen Kapiolani Hotel did not fulfill your expectations, for we do make every effort to ensure that our guest have an enjoyable experience.

In regards to the tiny insects and ants, please rest assured that they are not acceptable and we
have notified the pest control company to address this concern immediately. Unfortunantely, you have been impacted, and for that we are truly sorry.

The other concern you experienced regarding elevators has been corrected. We have completed our much needed Elevator Modernization and now all 4 elevators are now providinng very fast and efficient sevice to our guest.

Again, please accept our most humble apology and if we can be given another opportunity to serve you, please give me a call so that I may assist in your booking process.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Judging by few reviews about this hotel some people expect it to be five star hotel, for some hundred plus dollars. In my opinion Queen Kapiolani is a great hotel for the price; don't get me wrong there is nothing fancy about this hotel. But expect it to be clean which it is and also this hotel is in great location, literally steps away from Waikiki beach. So far i stayed at three different hotels in Waikiki; my first pick would be Pacific Beach hotel, 2nd Queen Kapiolani, and last Park Shore Waikiki.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 777denis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My daughter and I recently vacationed in Honolulu. While staying at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel, we were scheduled to be picked up for a Luau purchased through Pleasant Tours. For some unfortunate circumstance, we were left behind by the tour bus, and was perplexed how to catch up with it, or have our payment refunded, as we were departing the following morning. In this regard, I would like to use this venue to commend Aaron Oxbatic at the Queen Kapiolani's front desk for the outstanding service he showed us in this situation. He was kind, courteous, and patient in contacting the tour company on the phone in our behalf, despite how busy it was. He later went out of his way to show us how best to seek a refund, which we were relieved to have resolved the next morning. Aaron's service alone has won me over to return to this hotel the night time we visit Hawaii.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I reserved a standard room @ $125 per night and was extremely disappointed. My standard room had 2 twin beds and not much more. It was so small that there was no chair to sit on or a dresser for clothes! Two of the 3 elevators are out of service so guests had to use the service elevators!

Never again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlewaHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Aloha! We certainly do apologize that your visit to Queen Kapiolani Hotel did not fulfill your expectations in regards to your accommodations. The standard category is 175 square feet,
so it is challenging to create a comfortable ambience. To create space, we went to a hanging closet unit for clothes and wall mounted the 42" color TV.

In regards to the elevators, our Modernization has been completed as of October 24, 2012 and we have four elevators back into service, providing fast and efficient service to our guest. This
Modernization was much anticipated since the equipment was original from 1969.

Again, please accept our most humble apology, and if I can be of personal service, please give
me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

As I live in Hawaii, there are alot of hotels to choose from...but we always come back to the Queen when we stay in Waikiki for anniversaries, birthdays, etc...The hotel staff here are without a doubt the best in Hawaii...Truly the Aloha spirit is alive and well. The rooms are always clean, the food is very good, and the location is ideal. We like it so much here, that we had a large ball/banquet attended by 230 people, and it was a resounding success, led by their catering department.

Room Tip: get an ocean view room...well worth it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,669 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#29 of 84 in Honolulu
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £90 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing