We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star for hotel itself, service is 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“3 star for hotel itself, service is 5 star”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Best parts of the hotel are the staff, especially Shane, one of the bell/valet guys, and the breakfast by the pool. They have a GREAT island breakfast buffet and the restaurant area by the pool is beautiful. Wish they had a hot tub. Staff was extremely helpful all around. Shane was always super cheery and had lots of tips on places to check out around Honolulu.

The hotel is clean but very dated even with the renovation. The bathrooms have been resurfaced and the resurfacing is cracking, and doesn't hide the age of the rooms. We were first in a Queen room and the shower head was super old and crusty and it literally hit at my shoulder level. I would have had to squat to wash my hair. Good news, they shower was leaking into the room below, so they moved us to another room that had a normal-height shower head, with a removable handle to boot. Both rooms overlooked alleys and apartment buildings. The hotel was overall just ok. I would have been pissed if we actually paid the asking price for the rooms instead of paying with miles. The good part was, it wasn't the kind of hoity toity hotel where you can't smoke on the balcony without worrying about other people reporting you. We hung out on the balcony and listened to music and had cocktails with no worries.

Location was great, out of the craziness of Waikiki and near Diamond Head. And best of all, walking distance to Rainbow Drive-In. YUM!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brokerlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Aloha! We want to thank you for sharing your experiences and apologize that some aspects of the property did not fulfill your expectations. Our goal is not only to provide great service but to
complement it with a wonderful room experience.

Thank you for acknowledging the 5 star service you received and the breathtaking view of Diamond Head as you have breakfast by the pool.

This year, we will be working on a bathroom upgrade that will address the vanity sink and bathtub. The other item you mentioned regarding the showerhead has been corrected by Maintenance.

Again, please accept our most sincere apology and if I can be of assistance in your next visit to our beautiful islands, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    593
    329
    109
    84
See reviews for
363
581
144
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Just a quick note to say how great location, quality of service and value the Queen Kapiolani was on our recent trip to Hawaii in December 2012.
Special mention fore sure to Shane and Kawika, who were friendly, helpful and always smiling.....great stuff! Thanks guys.
We'd stay there....and will....again.
Being near the Zoo was great due to being close enough for an easy stroll to everything, but just out of reach of the noise and bustle.....plus seeing and hearing the animals ( for the kids!).

Room Tip: Rooms with the views of Diamond Head and the beach are pretty cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The online photo's of lobby look nice but in reality its cheap skate  looking . The only quality looking item of the lobby was large portrait painting of queen Kapiolani. The elevator was more modern than the hotel room(  #1630). Bell staff helpful & outgoing. Reception staff just ok. Location of the hotel is at quieter end of waikiki & easy to access the zoo &  food joints.
Pros : the bed, pillows & sheets were modern & clean, large flat screen tv, old style aircon  very powerful. Cons : dingy room,  bathtub & sink was peeling, grimey dirty curtains,windows not clean, fridge the size of a microwave, tv had limited channels ( whereas other hotels have at least 15 more channels on offer). Would recommend this hotel to those that have full busy days planned & are so fatigued at the end of the day that their only need  is to sleep ( thereby sparing them the view of their  dingy / drab room).

Room Tip: don't waste money on a balcony as it will not change the shortcomings of the room or the   dingy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunflower309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experiences and we truly apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to offer a quality product with wonderful service for all our guest and we will continue in our efforts.

It was nice to hear that our Bell Staff was helpful and outgoing. While the Reception was ok, we are working on offering wonderful service thruout the property. It was also nice to hear that you appreciated our soft good upgrades and the 42" flat screen TV.

Items we are working on this year is a bathroom upgrade which will address the vanity sink and bathtub, which you found not acceptable. In regards to the limited channels, we will be adding additional channels to our lineup by the end of the first quarter.

Again, please accept our most sincere apologies, and if we can be of further service, please
give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

redwood city, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

my greatest appreciation to Shane, bell captain, and Jocelyn at registration desk, for their aloha and help, over the past years, and Nov. 2012. they never fail to offer assistance with my room location, luggage, tour @ dining recommendations, transports, and most of all, their ALOHA spirit, which makes me feel sooo at home at the Queen Kap. mahalo @ aloha! HL Ziese, #1909

Room Tip: choose according to budget. floors 17 @ above offer sunset views. all rooms very nice.staff is glad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harry z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Good value hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff. Our room overlooked the zoo on one side and a service lane on the other. We were woken at about 6.30am every day by very loud trucks.collecting rubbish and making deliveries

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GGandKEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experiences and we truly apologize for the noise caused by the trucks collecting rubbish and making deliveries. We are working with the area businesses to schedule deliveries and rubbish pick up after 10am.

We appreciate your comments regarding the good value with clean rooms and friendly staff. It is our goal to create a comfortable and memorable experience for all guest.

If I can be of further assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We deliberately skip the national or chain places for a local flavor of lodging. We found it at the Queen Kap. We were upgraded to a penthouse suite with a view overlooking the Zoo and a direct view of Diamond Head plus a view of the beach to the side. It was in renovation while we were there but work should be done by now. Front desk staff was most helpful with everything. There was expensive dining along the beach, but more modest and good food can be found by asking the desk or parking valets. We will return there when we can.

Room Tip: Get above the 14th floor if possible less street noise. Windows are single pane and allow street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spartancaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My daughter and her fiance stayed for Christmas at this hotel. I contacted the Hotel and asked could they provide a Christmas dinner for them. Despite not normally providing evening meals, the hotel went out of its way to lay a table on the terrace with a waiter solely for the couple. They then had a 3 course meal with wine and absolutely loved it - and have written to me praising the meal and the staff. To me, this is customer service at its very best and the hotel deserves every sucess in the future.

Ian Platt (father), Liverpool, England

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,645 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Property: Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing