We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Queen Kapiolani”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #59 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Queen Kapiolani”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My wife and I and our two daughters stayed at the Queen for 9 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was amazing! Anything we needed to enquire about was taken care of and we even upgraded our room midway through our stay and it was seamless. Location of the Hotel is perfect for quiet venings and incredible views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. We will definitely be returning next January and highly recommend it for price and experience. A special thanks to our Front Desk gal Keala! See you next year.

Room Tip: Choose the "18" series rooms for the best view and a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    583
    325
    107
    77
See reviews for
351
574
140
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

17 year resident of O‘ahu, but stayed here twice. Also my mother flew in from Europe and stayed here as well on a third occasion. As one of the other reviewers noted, this grand old lady shows her age. But the staff always make up for it if you can't live with whatever minor thing might be wrong, and it's usually an upgrade too. Bed is comfortable; little fridge useful for snacks, sandwiches etc. It's not a loaded one, so BYOB. There's a pool, but I've never used it, preferring to just cross the street and go in the ocean (Note: hanging a quick right, then left and heading up to Sans Souci is well worth your few steps. Less noise, people, and there are functioning showers to wash the grit off after you've indulged in beach time.) It's quiet enough I once saw a baby shark, not much more than 14 or so inches. Beach lookout helped head poor lost creature back away and out to sea where he belonged.
So, you're in a perfect location at the Queen Kam. Close enough to Waikiki, but just a step back - perfection. My preference is to face the zoo. There is somewhat less traffic noise, but you'll hear the animals instead., especially the peacocks. The Gandhi statue is right there on that busy corner, too. Buses aplenty or you can walk up Kapahulu Avenue to seek out antiques, meals, belly dancing and whatever else may be of interest to you. A golf course is right there on left side of the Avenue.
If you're like me and what you can do and get to is more important than the room, this is the hotel for you. I can't remember if there wasn't a TV or if I was just too busy to bother watching. I'm thinking it came without said appliance.
Staff are helpful & charming. Tons of local knowledge available right with them, so find out what you want to know and have yourselves a wonderful time practically at the foot of Leahi/Diamond Head. What's not to love!
P.S. I stayed before Feb 12, but there was no option like 'earlier' to check off. Frustrating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiianArtWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Aloha! We stayed in an ocean view junior suite on the 10th floor during our stay in Honolulu in January of 2013. Although the hotel is clearly a bit older there is a charm about the Queen Kapiolani that catches you as soon as you walk in the open aired lobby. You can picture what this beauty must have been like in it's heyday. The hotel over-exceeded our expectations in almost every way and you can see the management and staff go out of their way to make your stay a very happy one. There are many amenities right in the lobby such as an Ice cream shop, a car rental store (which we used to drive around the entire Island), a surf shop and an Expedia tour shop. The room was a bit dated but very clean and nicely laid out. The view of Waikiki beach, the ocean and Diamond Head is breathtaking! Absolutely breathtaking! There wasn't a morning we didn't watch the sunrise over Diamond Head on our patio before starting another amazing day in paradise. The room also overlooked the Honolulu Zoo, and to hear a lion roar as the sun peaks over the crater, and then to hear the birds come to life was a treat to start our day. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. The beach is a five minute walk away, the main tourist strip and International Market Place is a ten minute stroll. As a gay couple it wasn't hard to find a bar to go to as Hulas (a very popular gay establishment) was right next door. Although we only had breakfast at the hotel once we thought it was very well done. The buffet gives you a large variety of food and the views of Diamond Head, again, amaze. I would definitely recommend the Queen Kapiolani Hotel to anyone staying in Honolulu. If you get an ocean view room you won't be disappointed! Mahalo Queen Kapiolani, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvrjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed in two rooms on the 16th floor for 6 nights as part of a family trip - and the Queen proved a five star budget experience. Keen pricing on the two rooms made it worthwhile upgrading one to a corner junior suite with views - wonderful outlook, aspect and spacious though the bathroom's superficial renovation was the only downside, and the negative was the teeny bath which was in fact a high-sided shower tray! If upgrading to a view room at this hotel bear in mind the additional noise of being street-side (where the view is). The Kids' room was a City View and much quieter at night and still generous in size.
The high point of our experience at this hotel was Mai our Housemaid. I accidentally left a $100 bill as part of a housekeeping tip one morning (the $100 and $1 USD look soooo alike!!!) and she left a note with the same $100 bill to say she assumed I had made a mistake with the tip. We were most impressed with Mai's honesty - and her housekeeping standard was great too.
The reception and bell staff were also great and seemed unfussed about tips, quite a change of the attitude of staff in more upmarket hotels we have stayed in around Honolulu over the years. Kawika and Shane on the bell desk were a great example - I sheepishly thanked them for their help as we left the hotel, having no cash left for tips, and Kawika gave me a big hug and an Aloha! No wonder people like us keep coming back to Honolulu and the Queen Kapiolani has to be top of the list for a hotel with position near the beach, good accommodation for the money and excellent service.

Room Tip: High floor, Ocean or Mountain View corner rooms with views unless you have trouble with noise at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank more63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel in December 2012 and loved every minute of our stay. This was our first visit to the hotel as we generally stay at a more expensive hotel. If you want 5 star accommodation, then this is not the place for you, as the rooms need a little upgrading, however, if you want 5 star service, you've come to the right place. Upon arrival we were met by Shane and Kawika at the bell desk. Shane greeted us like friends and after getting to know him, he felt like family. Shane is very knowledgeable, helpful and welcoming. Kawika has a permanent smile on his face and the ability to make everyone smile. He was helpful and welcoming.
The hotel is walking distance to everything Waikiki offers, yet is far enough away to be away from it all. As I said, the accommodation is in need of upgrading, but we weren't in Hawaii to spend our days in our room, so for us, it was fine.
Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for rooms that face diamond head, otherwise you're looking at the rooftops of bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSnMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Best parts of the hotel are the staff, especially Shane, one of the bell/valet guys, and the breakfast by the pool. They have a GREAT island breakfast buffet and the restaurant area by the pool is beautiful. Wish they had a hot tub. Staff was extremely helpful all around. Shane was always super cheery and had lots of tips on places to check out around Honolulu.

The hotel is clean but very dated even with the renovation. The bathrooms have been resurfaced and the resurfacing is cracking, and doesn't hide the age of the rooms. We were first in a Queen room and the shower head was super old and crusty and it literally hit at my shoulder level. I would have had to squat to wash my hair. Good news, they shower was leaking into the room below, so they moved us to another room that had a normal-height shower head, with a removable handle to boot. Both rooms overlooked alleys and apartment buildings. The hotel was overall just ok. I would have been pissed if we actually paid the asking price for the rooms instead of paying with miles. The good part was, it wasn't the kind of hoity toity hotel where you can't smoke on the balcony without worrying about other people reporting you. We hung out on the balcony and listened to music and had cocktails with no worries.

Location was great, out of the craziness of Waikiki and near Diamond Head. And best of all, walking distance to Rainbow Drive-In. YUM!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brokerlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Aloha! We want to thank you for sharing your experiences and apologize that some aspects of the property did not fulfill your expectations. Our goal is not only to provide great service but to
complement it with a wonderful room experience.

Thank you for acknowledging the 5 star service you received and the breathtaking view of Diamond Head as you have breakfast by the pool.

This year, we will be working on a bathroom upgrade that will address the vanity sink and bathtub. The other item you mentioned regarding the showerhead has been corrected by Maintenance.

Again, please accept our most sincere apology and if I can be of assistance in your next visit to our beautiful islands, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Just a quick note to say how great location, quality of service and value the Queen Kapiolani was on our recent trip to Hawaii in December 2012.
Special mention fore sure to Shane and Kawika, who were friendly, helpful and always smiling.....great stuff! Thanks guys.
We'd stay there....and will....again.
Being near the Zoo was great due to being close enough for an easy stroll to everything, but just out of reach of the noise and bustle.....plus seeing and hearing the animals ( for the kids!).

Room Tip: Rooms with the views of Diamond Head and the beach are pretty cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
492 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
275 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,805 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Property: Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing