We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ewa Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Renew(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Waikiki Resort Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,588)
Filter reviews
1,588 results
Traveller rating
399
622
345
119
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
622
345
119
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonolulu zoodiamond headacross the streetlouvered windowswaikiki beachkapiolani parkquiet end of waikikibell deskpool deckjunior suitean older hotelcity viewcorner roomthird floorvalet parkingbit datedsmall balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
814 - 819 of 1,588 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Jocelyn & Keala at the front desk went above and beyond to make my elderly parents vacation outstanding. Jocelyn went the extra mile to carefully wrap and ship a small purchase and both girls were especially nice, courteous & friendly. This hotel is in the best location across the street from the Zoo and park. However it is their outstanding staff with their caring attitude and customer concern that keep us coming back. Everyone is very efficient and accommodating at this property.

Room Tip: Choose a Diamond Head view as it is cooler than ocean front which gets the full afternoon sun.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and it was truly heartwarming to hear that Jocelyn and Keala at the Front Desk went above and beyond to make your elderly parents vacation, outstanding. Both being especially nice, courteous and friendly.

We, too, believe the hotel is in the best location, across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park, with iconic Diamond Head in the back ground. Not to mention world famous Waikiki Beach, just minutes away with all the shopping available.

Again, thank you, and if I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We love staying at The Queen Kapiolani.
The staff are all very friendly, helpful. We have been here 3 years in a row and every experience is wonderful.
Love the location with the zoo and beach near by as my girls love to do both all the time.
We will be returning to The Queen Kapiolani.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Aloha! Home away from Home...what every General Manager wants to hear. It is also very heart warming to hear that the Staff are all very friendly and helpful and that for the past 3 years, every experience has been wonderful.

That you love the location with the zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park across the street and world famous Waikiki Beach just minutes away, with iconic Diamond Head as a back drop.

We look forward to seeing you again and if I may be of assistance during your next visit,
please do not hesitate to call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

First off, the front desk agent, Keala, was wonderful to work with. She offered exceptional and efficient customer service in a professional and fun manner. Hotel was great, perfect location and super close to beach. Clean and quiet room. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pacifica4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and that you had a great first time visit with Front Desk Agent Keala being wonderful to work with. That she offered exceptional and efficient customer service in a professional and fun mannter.

It was wonderful to hear that the room was clean and quiet and that the location was perfect.
World famous Waikiki Beach just minutes away, beautiful Kapiolani Park across the street and iconic Diamond Head as a back drop.

We will definitely welcome your return and if I may be of assistance, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed here with my husband and kids. It was very clean, comfortable and the location was great. The entire staff is always very helpful. The valet guys are super courteous and friendly. Our room overlooked the zoo and the beach, it was an extraordinary view and location. We were on the 17th floor, so street noise was minimal. Our only comp,in was the lack of water pressure on the shower and the cold pool. Would have been perfect if it was heated. Other than that t was a great hotel to stay at and we would return there if we went back to Honolulu.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best, you here the street noise less.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we are glad to hear that we are a great location and friendly staff. That it was very clean, comfortable and that you had a extraordinary view. In regards to the water pressure, we will have Maintenance analyze and correct the problem.

It was so wonderful to hear that you found the entire Staff to be always very helpful, with the Valet guys to be super courteous and friendly. We are very proud of them, for they treat everyone with Aloha.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights. Had to switch rooms as noisy a/c. Decent beds. Nice staff. But in need of updating. Worn shower and bathroom sink. Decent bath products. Nice flat screen and small fridge. Good valet parking. OK choice in very good location.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Brooklyntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we truly appreciate your comments. We sincerely apologize for the noisy A/C and the worn shower and bathroom sink. For your information, we are addressing both items and our refinishing of the vanity and bathtub with lighting improvements over the sink should be completed by the end of this year. We are also
replacing the A/C units to split systems, which will be quiet and efficient, leading to less electric
consumption.

Thank you for mentioning the beds, nice 42" flat screen TV, and small refrigerator in every room.
One thing we are very proud about is your comment regarding nice staff and good valet service, for we are very proud of our staff.

If I may be of service during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews