We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This place saved my trip. As my air b and b cancelled on me two days before my trip & I couldn't find any place to stay in the same price range (last minute) except the Queen Kapiolani. I do NOT recommend Air B and B. With this hotel my reservation was secure. The staff kind and helpful. The pool deck is nice, though it closes sometimes by 8pm. The beds are really nice, though the bathtub needed replacing. Comes with nice TV, fridge, and coffeemaker. The cleaning staff were also great. It's a nice location for Waikiki. Though be informed Waikiki is a kind of a loud and noisy place. You come to realize those back up beeps on trucks should be banned!
Nice hotel for the price. Try to book a room on the diamond head side/ min two beds - as per lonely planet website.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and it was wonderful to hear that Queen Kapiolani Hotel saved your trip when your Bed and Breakfast cancelled you, two days before your trip.

It was wonderful to hear that the Staff was kind and helpful, the beds really nice with 42" flat screen TV, coffee maker and free WIFI. Also, the cleaning Staff were great.

We do agree it is a nice location, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park, with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

In regards to the bathtub, we are in the process of refinishing the vanity sink and bathtub with replacement of the vanity light, which will greatly improve the bathroom experience.
This project is scheduled to be completed by the end of March 2014.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    572
    312
    101
    75
See reviews for
336
558
137
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Queen Kapiolani is not a particularly modern hotel but it is clean, well serviced and the staff are friendly and obliging. The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to parks, Diamond Head, Waikiki Beach and the restaurants on Kapahulu Avenue which seem to have a more local than tourist feel about them.

Room Tip: If you like views get a room that looks onto Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we appreciate your comment that we are unpretentious and great location. It was wonderful to hear that you found the property to be clean, well serviced and the staff are friendly and obliging.

Yes, we also feel that the location is excellent, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach and the main strip with its numerous restaurants and shopping. Right across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park and Honolulu Zoo with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The staff are amazing, friendly, and helpful. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful. Our room was clean but nothing fancy. The bathroom had been remodeled but the sink counter-tops had not been. I would have thought if doing an upgrade they would have been replaced too, they were old, cracked, and dingy looking. The air-conditioner was loud, you could hear the water pour out of it and it sounded like it was raining outside. We only needed our rooms for one night so we tried to find a place that was nice but cost less than others. Again, the hotel was nice, the staff would go out of their way to help you, and the location was great so you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2laugh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and it was so wonderful to hear that the Staff was amazing, friendly and helpful. We are so proud of our employees and their ability to share "aloha" with our many visitors.

We were happy to hear that you found our Lobby beautiful and the room was clean. That the location was great, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach and the main strip with restaurants and shopping galore.

We certainly do apologize for the bathroom and we are in the process of refinishing the vanity counter/sink and bathtub with replacement of the vanity light to improve the bathroom experience, which will be completed by March 2014. In regards to the A/C unit, it is being replaced with a spit system which is very quiet and efficient and also scheduled for completion by March 2014.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit to our beautiful island, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Queen Kapiolani Hotel is located on the east end of Waikiki across from the Honolulu Zoo. The accommodations I received were good. Depending on the location of the room, you may hear the noise from the ballrooms. The room appeared a little older but clean and well-kept. I did find an occasional bug but the hotel staff were prompt in taking care of it. The parking fee is reasonable and valet only. Every hotel will charge for parking and I did like that fact that I had in and out privileges with the valet parking.

Since the hotel is on the edge of Waikiki, there are good road running trails around the Zoo and towards Diamond head. Plus being located on Kapahulu, you can walk to several restaurants on Kapahulu and away from the busy Waikiki area. If you are adventurous, Leonard's Bakery is about a mile walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Lainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Aloha and thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. Yes, we do have a very good location, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach, right across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park with amazing Diamond Head in the background. It was wonderful to hear that the accommodations received were good, clean and well kept. That any concerns you had were taken care promptly by the Hotel Staff.

As you mentioned, for those interested in walking and running, since we are on the edge of Waikiki, there are good road running trails around the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park and towards Diamond Head, which is part of the Honolulu Marathon route.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit to our beautiful island, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was my third trip to this hotel in 3 years, and I was looking forward to the updating by Aqua hotel chain. Love that there is no resort fee, but the room rate was almost double my last stay. My room this time was the shabbiest and smallest one I have had there. Beautiful view of the beach, but the old carpet and furnishings(and bath) were not what I had expected for the dramatic price increase. The new bed and tv were appreciated. Street noise was minimal with the a/c on. The staff is delightful, professional, and accommodating.
The pool area, with its spectacular view of Diamond Head and Kapiolani Park, is a gem. The new a la carte menu for breakfast was appreciated, but at my table, we had two different menus with different prices and sides. I'm certain that will be corrected. The staff at the pool/restaurant was efficient, but they had a difficult time keeping up with the AM rush.
I love this hotel and want to return, but I hope they will update more rooms and attempt to keep the prices reasonable. The location is perfect for access in and out of Waikiki by car and bus. It's a real oasis on the edge of Waikiki.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 741lolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we truly appreciate your comments, especially since you are a returnee. Yes, there is no resort fee and we are glad that you had a beautiful view of the beach from your room, with a new bed, 42" flat screen TV, refrig, safe and complimentary WIFI. It was wonderful to hear that the staff was delightful, professional and accommodating.

We certainly do apologize that you booked a smaller room category and we do offer larger rooms with balconies. In regards to the bathroom furnishing, we are in the process of refinishing the vanity sink and bathtub with replacement of the vanity light to improve the bathroom experience. This project will be completed by the end of March 2014, with replacecment of the A/C window unit to a split system, which will be more efficient and quiet.

Our commitment to you, is to continually improve the product, for we have the perfect location, a real oasis on the edge of Waikiki, as you mentioned.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed in at Queen Kaopiolani over the newyear period. The hotel is Beautiful! They foyer is spectacular, the staff are very helpful and the rooms are very nice. We were on the 18th floor with a mountain and beach view - lovley!
The zoo is next door- though it was noisy on the first night, we didnt hear it after that.
Waikiki beach is a couple hundred meter walk from the hotel and its in walking distance to shopping, bars and restaurants.
Rooms are very well kept.
I have to say i was a bit concerned by some comments on here about the hotel, however when we arrived my concernes vanished.
This is a great hotel if you dont have the need to be in the middle of Waikiki, and are happy walking around to get to places.
Some of the tours do pick ups put the front of the hotel which is also another bonus.
In the foyer if the hotel is the expedia group so you can book all different things - this is great also! take advantage of this as we did and couldnt have asked for more!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we truly appreciate your comment that it was "impressive." That the Hotel is beautiful, the foyer is spectacular, the rooms are very nice with lovely views of the mountains and beach. Not to mention that the rooms are very well kept.

We agree that the location great, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, right across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park, with amazing Diamond Head in the background.

Again, thank you for your comments and if I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Expensive, however we had an amazing view of Diamond Head. This was ideal to relax with a drink on the balcony. The pool was almost unsuitable, mainly due to the cold period Hawaii experienced. Very few pools here are heated. It made us look for the next hotel with a hot tub. Not that this is any fault to this hotel. I found that the pool closed too early.
cons
- A/C was old and very noisy,
- Carpet was stained
- Out-dated room
- Pool was too cold, however exceptionally cold period for Hawaii.
Pros
- Bar near pool
- Location
- Balcony

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we truly appreciate your comments.It wonderful to hear that you had a amazing view of Diamond Head from your room...and to enjoy the view with a drink on the balcony is the ideal way to relax. We do agree that the location is ideal, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach with beautiful Kapiolani Park right across the street.

In regards to the A/C, we are in the process of replacing the window units with a split system, which is more efficient and quiet. This project will be completed by the end of March 2014. We are continually improving the rooms and the vanity sink and bathtub are being refinished with new vanity lighting, which will greatly improve the bathroom experience.

We believe that upon your return visit, you will notice many new improvements that will make your stay more enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to give me a call, if I may be of assistance in booking your reservation.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Property: Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing