We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No complaints!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Sterling, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No complaints!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I think this hotel is fantastic for the value! It was very affordable, around $130ish a night. The higher the better at this hotel which is normal. We were lucky enough to get an end unit. Therefore, we got a very large room! We never had any issues with noise. We got a great balcony that overlooked both Diamond mountain and Waikiki beach. It literally was a 3 minute walk to the main strip on Waikiki Beach and this is located at the very end of the strip so I truly believe this part of Waikiki isn't as congested as the others that are clustered together. This hotel is very clean and the service was great. In fact, when we stayed there, there was a drag queen ball which was so much fun!! I really didn't have any complaints and felt this hotel was conveniently located w/in walking distance to everything we needed. I loved it and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: If you can try to get an end room, I suggest that so you have more space. Also the higher the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we appreciate your comment that we are fantastic for the value. We belive value is not only the accommodations but the service received and we truly appreciate that you felt the Hotel was very clean and the service was great.
Many of our guest appreciate being on the quiet end of Waikiki, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background. Not to mention being conveniently located within walking distance to shopping and restaurants.
Thank you for your recommendation and if I may be of service during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    561
    306
    92
    74
See reviews for
326
545
133
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SAN MATEO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Queen Kapiolani is a "hidden gem" to Mainland folks. It's at the "quiet" end of Waikiki, and is an older remodeled hotel with drop dead views and good service. The value for the Diamond/beach view rooms are terrific. We have stayed at the higher end hotels in Waikiki, and prefer the more personal and quiet aspects of the Queen. We don't need gold plated bathroom fixtures and bling.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up, and further from the Kuhio Avenue side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MELODIE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and that you appreciated the great value and service, making it a hidden gem.

Many of our guest appreciate the quiet end of Waikiki, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background, creating a wonderful view.

Another aspect we are very proud of is our employees, who bring life to the Queen Kapiolani Hotel and create a great guest experience.

If I may be of assitance during your next visit to our beautiful island, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Just returned from our 10th visit to the Queen Kapiolani Hotel, or as I call it, my Hawaiian home. From the time the cab door opened and we were greeted by Shane to the check in with Jocelyn our stays are top notch. Since we are frequent visitors to Hawaii we don't need the million dollar experience. We are looking for a place to feel at home while away and the Queen has done this each and every time for us. It is on the quiet end of Kuhio beach across the street from the zoo and easy walking distance to everything. The Queen has gone through some major renovations as of late and it is a very comfortable place to stay. The housekeeping staff is always so accommodating and do a wonderful job.
We know we could spend more money at brand name hotels but why the QK gives us all we need. The main reason we continue to return in one word is Staff! They are our Hawaiian Family with many of them being there since our first visit in 2001. The hotel honors a great Hawaiian Queen and the staff works hard to maintain that high standard. So to Shane, Jocelyn, Keala, Blaine, and Jared (and others) we humbly say Mahalo for the great service again. I would highly recommend the Queen to anyone looking for value. You will find none better in Waikiki.
Our AC unit was one of the older ones that will be replaced by our next visit so other than that not one complaint this trip. I would say do not get the standard room they are tiny as others have mentioned at the very least get a Diamond Head View you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself from standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Aloha! Thank you for the wonderful comment of another week in paradise at the Queen. Our goal is to create paradise for each and every one of our guest and it starts with our Returnees. Wow, tenth visit to Queen Kapiolani Hotel, your Hawaiian home, away from home.
One aspect we are very proud of and look forward to hearing is the service rendered by the staff. When you mentioned that the Bellman and Front Desk personally greeted you and made you feel at home, that set the tone for your Hawaiian vacation.
We, also believe that the location is very convenient, on the quiet end of Waikiki, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach with beautiful Kapiolani Park across the street with iconic Diamond Head in the background.
Yes, as you mentioned, we are continually improving the property and by your next visit, we will be completed with the installation of the split system A/C units and the refinishing of the bathrooms and lighting.
If I may provide any assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Many months before our vacation we booked 5 nights at this hotel using airmiles and cash. We had read the wide range of reviews in advance but as we are not 5* people then we figured it would be ok.

Coming from a beautiful resort on the Big Island perhaps didn't help our complete disappointment at the Queen Kapiolani. We were assigned a tiny standard room with twin beds and it wasn't the fact that the room was so small, it was the badly patched up leak in the bathroom ceiling, the stains on all the walls, the depressing colour of the rooms and hallways. We were offered an alternative, in fact we looked at two other rooms (all on different floors) after speaking to the front desk staff and then to the hotel manager. The other rooms were larger (which didn't matter) but all in need of work and still just as depressing. I've used that word twice now, it's exactly how we felt. Within an hour of arriving we knew we couldn't stay for 5 nights and we didn't, we checked out first thing the next morning and went to the Coconut which had a lower nightly rate and was a hundred times better.

We've stayed in a lot of hotels and motels, we don't need luxury, we camp and you'll find us more often than not in an Econolodge. I've complained about hotels before, but this is the first I've ever been driven to leave at the earliest possible opportunity. The Queen Kapiolani has had a bunch of 3, 4 and even 5 rated reviews lately but it isn't getting one from me. I do thank them for agreeing to refund the nights we didn't stay though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we sincerly apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations. The standard category, while being the least expensive is the smallest room we offer. From there, we offer City View, Diamond Head View and Ocean View. For those who need kitchenette facilities, we have Junior Suites and One Bedroom Suites, which additionally have phenomenal views.

It was good to hear that you found alternate accommodation for it is important to enjoy your vacation. For your information, we are continually upgrading our property and are replacing lighting in the room to create a better atmosphere. We are also changing the window A/C units to split systems, which will be quieter and more efficient.

If you do give us an opportunity to further serve you, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Steps to the beach, a view of Diamond Head, friendly valet parking guys, and a great rate from their website (better than Expedia) - these are the reasons I am giving it 5 stars. Yes, it is slightly dated and the carpet is a little old. But the price was right and the experience was great!

Room Tip: The Diamond Head view room is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we truly appreciate your comment of great value. Of course, part of the great value is the location, on the quiet end of Waikiki, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

It was so wonderful to hear that you felt the price was right and the experience was great.
For your information, we are continually upgrading the property, so during your next visit you will notice the difference for we are committed in improving the guest experience.

If we may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Honolulu and we stayed at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel for the 2nd time and would recommend it to others.
Nicely remodeled, friendly staff, and a great location.
Our room had a beautiful view of Waikiki Beach and was very comfortable.
I would recommend The Queen to family and friends and anyone who asked.

Room Tip: Pay for a beach view! Our view was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and it was wonderful to hear that you would recommend the Queen Kapiolani Hotel to family, friends and anyone who asks. That it was nicely remodeled and very comfortable with a beautiful view of Waikiki Beach.

As you mentioned, many of our guests comment on the great location, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach, right across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background. It was also very heart warming to hear that the Staff was very friendly, for we are very proud of the service our Staff provides each and everyone of our guests.

We do look forward to your 3rd visit and if I may assist in the booking process, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have stayed here multiple times for these reasons: Quiet end of Waikiki, close to the beach, very walkable to shopping and dining options, nearby bus access, comfortable rooms, friendly staff. Being on a budget, I usually book city view, which is fine, but I opted for Diamond Head view recently, and was blown away by my view every morning- it really added to my experience. I actually am happy when I have the louvered windows- the breeze kept my room comfortable and I never used the a.c. (being from NYC, I guess city noise doesn't bother me). It's not a new hotel and the hallways are a bit dim, but it is classic and well maintained- it must have been swinging here in the 70's! But don't expect any night life at the hotel today- it is the place you come home to after exploring touristy Waikiki.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseycoastNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we certainly do appreciate your comments. We certainly do agree that the location is ideal, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

It was wonderful to hear that you opted for the Diamond Head view category and was blown away by the view every morning. That the louvered windows allowed the cool tradewinds to keep the room very comfortable and you did not have to use the A/C.

Again, thank you, and if I may be of service during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Property: Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing