We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wishing we were still sitting on the lanai...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #61 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 20 April 2014

After a particularly harsh winter, we decided we needed to get away and remember what warmth feels like and what green plants with flowers look like! Hawaii became our last minute vacation. We wanted a hotel with a good location, reasonably priced, near the beach, a lanai with a great view, near a bus stop/restaurants/shops and that had amenities like a pool, refrigerator, coffee maker, etc... After searching and narrowing down our choices, The Queen Kapiolani Hotel ticked all the boxes.

Location: The Queen K was the perfect location for us. As many other reviewers have said -- the quiet end of Waikiki. We took TheBus route 20 from the airport ($2.50/person - no big luggage) to the hotel. The bus stop was about 1 minute walk from the hotel (stop was in front of the Starbucks). We loved the one block walk to the beach and especially loved this end of the Waikiki beach scene. About a 15-20 minute walk was a Safeway grocery store (go out of hotel, turn left, walk...past Rainbow Drive-In, Penny's Picks, a whole host of little restaurants). We shopped many times at Safeway for sushi, salad bar, wine, breakfast items, etc... If the load was too big (or we were too tired!), we took the #13 bus back. (Safeway Hint: Sign up for a free "Safeway Club Card" at the service desk - just use your home address - to immediately have access to all of the in-store deals.) We also took the bus to Pearl Harbor (use the bus stop out of hotel, to left and across Kuhio Street), Hanauma Bay (catch bus across the street from Starbucks) and into downtown Honolulu (Chinatown, art museums). We walked all over Waikiki and were always happy to come back to the quiet beauty of the Queen K.

Room: We had room 712. This was a Diamond Head View room. We booked directly on the Aqua web site (look for specials on the site). Also, keep checking back as the rates fluctuated dramatically (we rebooked and saved over $200). The room had a fantastic view of Diamond Head, the ocean, the zoo and the pool. We saw whales (well, their spray) swimming from the lanai. The room had two very comfortable almost queen size beds, table and chairs, nice sized refrigerator, coffee maker, bath amenities (shampoo, lotion, conditioner shower gel), nice towels, a refurbished bathroom, good size lanai with two chairs and table, solid glass window, new air conditioner, in room safe (needs a $50 key deposit that is returned when the key is returned at check out) and a great flat screen tv. It was not a huge room by any stretch of the imagination (and we only had small carry on bags with us), but we did not spend a lot of time in the room, and when we were in the room, we were usually on the lanai. The room was recently updated but still showed some signs of wear. Didn't bother us. And, we both slept incredibly well all 8 nights - no traffic noise, no noise from other rooms, no noise from the zoo animals...just the quiet hum of the air conditioner.

Hotel: We did not use many of the hotel facilities. We thought we would use the pool, but ended up going to the beach a lot instead. The lobby is grand in an "old-school" kind of way and we appreciated that. We did use the travel agent in the lobby to book a car for one day. It was the easiest experience ever. She arranged the car and told us that the shuttle would pick us up the next day in front of the hotel. The shuttle took us to the Alamo rental at Discovery Bay shopping center where we picked up the car and were on our way.

Staff: Delightful. Everyone was incredibly kind and helpful. We had contacted the hotel ahead of time about our room choice and the reservation agent promptly responded with good information. On our last day, we requested and were given a late check out (1pm) and appreciated that very much. We did leave our bags with the bell hop on check out and there was a small fee per bag for storage.

Bottom line: For us, a perfect choice and one that did not break the bank. We knew up front what we were getting and felt that the price was fair. Would recommend a room even higher than floor 7. If we ever get back to Waikiki, we would definitely put the Queen K at the top of the list.

Room Tip: Book a Diamond Head View room -- some have ocean views too, so put that in the request. Higher floor...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we appreciate your comment of wishing you were still sitting on the lanai...which is the magic of Hawaii. In your search for a last minute vacation, you mentioned good location, reasonably priced, near the beach, lanai with a great view, near a bus stop/restaurants/shops, amenities like a pool, refrigerator,coffee maker, etc and you selected Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Thank you and we were honored.

The location is tremendous, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park, with iconic Diamond Head in the background. Thank you for your comments that the room was very comfortable and that you slept incredibly well. That the lobby is grand and the Staff was delightful, incredibly kind and helpful.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit to our beautiful islands, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Queen Kapiolani Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked this hotel after looking at reports on tripadvisor and we are happy we did.
The hotel is aging and probably needs new carpets etc but the price was good, the location fantastic, the room size was good and it overlooked the beach. The ensuite was a good size and the shower worked well as did the airconditioning, the beds were very comfortable and the lifts were arriving promptly so what else do you need. We found the tap water had a lot of chlorine but there is filtered iced water available by the front desk so take a bottle for filling.
The pool was good with a great view of Diamond head, and whilst we did not use the breakfast room it seems nicely set up. Instead we went to "Lulu's" for Breakfast and Dinner which is close to the hotel. Lulu's overlooks the beach with prompt service and very good meals at a very competitive price.
The hotel staff were very helpful on the front desk and our requests were actioned promptly, so all in all we really enjoyed our stay.
It Is not the Hilton but it is great value and diffinitely we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beach or Diamond head seem to have the best air flow when you open the louvers...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RODERICK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and like many of our guest, the location is fantastic. Minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park.

We are glad that you found the suite to be of good size, beds very comfortable, A/C worked well as well as the shower. What we are very proud about that you mention is that you found the Staff to be very helpful and that your requests were responded to promptly.

Again, thank you, and if I may be of service during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

For those of us who can't afford the Royal Hawaiian, the Queen is an excellent alternative. Be sure to ask for a room with a Diamond Head view (it costs a little extra). We did, and the view of the mountain, park and zoo was great. And we had a lanai that even afforded some view of the ocean. We found no problem with noise after 9 pm (we were on the seventh floor). And the staff has been very well trained: each staff member we met was courteous and efficient. In fact, the bell captain saved us a lot of money by talking us out of getting a cab and suggesting an excellent shuttle to the airport instead. This is an older hotel, recently remodeled. Our room was fine, though a few things were worn. It was just a half-block walk to the beach (and less to the zoo and park). Parking is costly: $25 per day at the hotel and $1 per hour across the street at the park. The hotel provides beach towels. For the price, the Queen is the best alternative for budget-minded folk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rehoboth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we appreciate your comment of excellent choice for budget-minde travelers. As you mentioned, our view are phenomenal from our rooms, with Honolulu Zoo right across the street, next to beautiful Kapiolani Park and iconic Diamond Head in the background....breathtaking.

What we are so proud of is our Staff and your mention of every Staff member we met was courteous and efficient, brought a smile to our lips. Plus they saved you a lot of money by offering you alternate transportation to the airport.

In regards to parking, we offer Valet Service, for the convenience to our guest and the price is moderate in comparison to the other hotels in Waikiki. As you mentioned, there is alternative parking at the zoo for $1.00 per hour.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit to our beautiful Island, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is a great choice when traveling to Ohau! Just a block off Waikiki Beach, the location is great. While I first balked at the $25 a day "in/out" parking fee, I gladly paid it after trying to park in Honolulu! Trust me, just pay the money.
Rooms, staff, view, all very nice! TOP NOTCH!

El Lobo tip - if renting a car, pull the rental sticker off. The only crime I saw was rental car break ins. Not mine - I pulled the sticker off :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElLoboDePlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Aloha! Thank you for your comment of put the Queen Kapiolani on your map! As you mentioned the location is great - minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, right across the street from Honolulul Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park, with iconic Diamond Head in the background with no buildings to obstruct nature at its finest.

We certanily do appreciate the statement that sums up your stay - rooms, Staff, view, all very nice! TOP NOTCH!

Again, thank you, and if i may be of assistance in your return visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great price, hotel nicely updated. Pics from some review sites outdated. I had reservations at booking, from other pics and descrip of area. Location best part. Instead of being crammed between inter blds, hotel adjacent to Queen Kapiolani Park and zoo, & right across st from ocean (most hotels are). QK lies on outer edge of hustle and bustle, still in the action but appealingly closer to raw beauty of what south east end of Oahu offers, Diamond Head- Hanuama Bay (snorkel fine coral reefs)- Sea Life Park- people do not realize or mention in most reviews. You can rent bikes or snorkel, surf, boogie boards from hotel. You shld venture from Waikiki, Oahu has alot to explore; see guy who rents snorkel gear ($5/daily!)- he told us what no travel guide did. Catch bus 22 ($2.50! Across from Starbucks) to Hanauma Bay and Sea Life Park (lighthouse) (www.thebus.org/route/Timetables/rt22.pdf), Breathtaking. Paying double for Hilton, Mariott not worth it! Break up the trip & rent a car (Economy), navigate coastline, see Dole Plantation, Haleiwa, N Shore,Turtle Bay, Laie Pt (volcanic edge), Tropical Farms, Heeia St Park (snorkle/dive Kaneohe Bay through Bob's snorkel tour-there is no public entry point), drive through mountains tunnels (Pali, Harano)-forget tourist traps. Don't do dinner cruises! Enjoy. Food good but expensive, so if you are gna skimp, might as well get accomodations nice yet cheap!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor (above 15), ask for corner room, ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and as you mentioned we have tremendous location on the quiet end of Waikiki. Unobstructed views of iconic Diamond Head, right across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park, yet minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach and shopping/restaurants galore. Not to mention easy access to hiking/biking, Hanauma Bay for snorkeling and Sea Life Park.

Need equipment to enjoy the natural beauty of Hawaii? In our lobby, we have snorkel equipment, boogie boards, surf boards and even bicycle rentals to explore the beuatiful wonders of paradise.

Again, thank you for your comments, and if I may be of assistance in booking your next stay, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel name gives an impression that the hotel will be perfect. On arrival after midnight, being tired after a long flight, our first impression of the reception area was where is the bell boy to help carry the cases up the steps? Future days confirmed to us that all the bell boys were only interested in parking cars! The reception area looked tired and drab. The receptionist was quite efficient and the check in was well handled.
At the room on the 17th floor the opening of the door was extremely difficult as the Trade Winds were blowing in through closed louvered windows and holding the door shut. Overcoming the wind pressure, inside the room, with the curtains blowing well out into the room it looked like the reception, very tired.
Where was the coffee machine? On the very small table top fridge which was sat on the floor! Both powered by a very badly situated extension multi socket lead by the bathroom door, why was a table top fridge on the floor and not sat on a table? The carpet looked grubby and was badly frayed at the entrance to the bathroom. This was clean and functional but should have been updated years ago.
We have never stayed in such a noisy room, (not from other guests) but from the trade winds and city noise. With the wind blowing in it gave an impression that the room (badly creaking) could collapse at any time.
After the room had been serviced on the following day and in the daylight, it appeared brighter although the room colour scheme could have been better. Three rounds of coffee were supplied daily of lovely Hawaiian Kona Coffee.
The Queen size bed was always comfortable and clean, changed every day perhaps the best kept part of the room.
On floor three was the Swimming Pool which is quite small. The Breakfast Restaurant which we did not use because the cost was too high at $18 per person for a full breakfast. The bar area was spacious but had no atmosphere and the sun deck was poorly supplied with sun loungers and sun shades. Evenings at the bar were lifeless, the flares around the perimeter of floor three were only lighted on limited occasions. The bar did not give any encouragement to sit and have a drink .
We ask the question. why is it a requirement to use a room key to use the lift to the bar when an escalator although broken for the two weeks of our stay, would allow people to travel up to floor three and perhaps higher.
It was great having a supply of iced water in the reception area this was needed if you had had a long walk along Waikiki beach.
As you may understand from the above report we were disappointed with the hotel but Hawaii is truly paradise.

Room Tip: Please do not use city facing rooms especially at high levels 1703 facing north was ours wind noise...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank tonyeasdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay, and we are truly sorry that we were unable to fulfill your expectations. From the time you arrived after midnight and we did not assist you with your luggage, we did not set the correct guest experience. Thank you for acknowledging that the receptionist was quite efficient and that the check in was well handled.

Thank you for your comments regarding the placement of the refrigerator, electrical outlet, bathroom entry carpet and the noise from the winds, for we will be reviewing what can be done to improve these items. We do appreciate your comments regarding the daily supplied
lovely Hawaiian Kona Coffee and the comfortable/clean bedding.

In regards to the elevators, access from the 4th floor and above are room key controlled to
provide security for our guest. The first three floors are not, since the public are welcome, ie to the banquet rooms and restaurant/bar.

Again, thank you and if I may be of assistance in booking your next stay in Paradise, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My family wanted to have a weekend in Honolulu, we live in Maui, we know pretty much almos all the hotel and condos here, but Honolulu was a new experience for us. WHAT A WONDERFUL surprise find QUEEN KAPIOLANI, It is Beautiful, well located, CLEAN, the city view was very nice, the pool is small, but the ocean is big and clean.
If you want a nice, clean hotel with a very affordable price, Queen Kapiolani is your destination.
I will be there in my future trips to Honolulu in a heart beat.
The web site is real, the pictures are how the room looks. We were very happy and comfortable.
Thanks for made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we certainly do appreciate your comment of really nice, clean and perfect location. That Queen Kapiolani Hotel was a wonderful surprise, beautiful, well located and clean, at a very affordable price.

It was good to hear that you found our web site real with pictures depicting how the rooms look. What was especially heartwarming was that you would book your future trips to Qahu, at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel, in a heart beat.

If I may provide assistance during your next stay, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
502 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,898 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £93 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing