We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #61 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here one night to check-out Waikiki prior to visiting Maui and Big Island.

On this trip, we were more interested in seeing volcanoes than beaches, so we chose this hotel at the far end of the beach for the Diamond Head view. The view was much nicer than we expected from room 802. From the lanai, we could almost feel like we could reach out and touch Diamond Head it looked so close.

The room had been remodeled and offered a nice value for the price paid.

It's only a short walk to Waikiki Beach and the pier. In our short stay of about 16 hours, we walked to the other end of the tourist area along the beach to the Hilton, then came back along city streets. We like this end of the Waikiki because the hotels are on one side of the street and the beach is on the other side.

We were wide awake about 5:00 AM, so we walked down to the beach area for breakfast. Lulu's on the corner was closed, so we walked west. There were some people fast sleep on the sidewalk so we didn't talk too loud. The McDonald's was open, so we had breakfast outside with a nice view of the beach across the street. This could be the best McDonald's location in the world.

All in all the stay was a positive experience and we would stay there again if we wanted a room for a few days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and it was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many of our guest appreciate the wonderful location with amazing views of Diamond Head from the rooms. The walk to world famous Waikiki Beach is just a few minutes with the main street offering restaurants and shopping galore.

Again, thank you, and if I may be of assistance during your next visit to our beautiful island, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here May 8-11,2014.
Was very pleased with location.It is located across the street from the zoo and less than a block from the beach.Many good restaurants in short walking distance from hotel.Room was clean and looked like it had recently been updated.
View from pool was beautiful view of Diamond Head.Would definitity stay here again and reccomend to friends.

1  Thank 1226tam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we truly appreciate your comments. Like many of our guest have stated, the location is great - minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

It was good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and if I can be of assistance during your next visti, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We do not recommend this hotel if you want a "luxury" or "resort" type of hotel. However, if you are going to be spending a lot of time at the beach, or doing other touring things, this is a good hotel to consider. One nice bonus is that if you're lucky in which room you get, you will have a terrific view of Diamond Head.

The homeless problem is quite chronic in Honolulu, especially in the Waikiki beach area, so you can't avoid seeing them on the streets or close to this location. Other than that less than pleasant part of it, you will have a comfortable room that is in an ideal location close to the beach and some really good restaurants and shops.

Due to this being an older hotel, one thing you can enjoy is a very quiet room. The walls are so thick that you can't even tell that there are other hotel guests nearby.

The pool area is pretty nice; it's a small pool - but it's clean and there are guest towels provided right there.

There is a place for you to wash off the beach sand right in front of the hotel.

There are lots of places to eat close by. The beach is literally minutes from your hotel room.

The hotel has a very nice, open lobby area and the parking is only valet. The charge is $25 per day - so keep this in mind when you're looking at the overall price. There are unlimited "in and out" privileges with parking. The valets are very efficient and it just takes a few minutes to pick up your car whenever you want it.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor. We had a wonderful view of Diamond Head from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisverygood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we do offer great value with a terrific view of Diamond Head. Like many of our guest have mentioned, the location is ideal, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach and the main strip with many restaurants and shops to choose from.

We are glad that you appreciated the very quiet room and nice pool area, which also has a great views of Diamond Head. That you found the Valets to be very efficient, just taking a few minutes to pick up your car.

If I may be of any assistance during your next visit to to our beautiful island, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Firstly, my review is for March 2013, but for some reason the drop down bar for 'when did you travel' is not allowing me to choose that date.
After been awake for over 24 hours and flying for a total of 17 hours we finally arrived at the Queen Kap at just after midnight local time. The staff upon arrival were helpful, polite and friendly. We were checked in and went to our room, the room itself was large, it had two double beds in, which we only required one. Unfortunately, the bathroom had a couple of cockroaches in and ants around and in the sink. Having lived a cold climate and an urbanised area I wasn't exactly used to things like that, although given the climate I understand roaches and ants are a thing, but not a desirable thing for travellers.

Going back down to the front desk asking if we could change rooms the concierge told us that unfortunately all rooms were booked out, but to come speak to the manager in the morning.

We spoke to the manager in the morning and he managed to change our room, and give us a 10% discount on our stay.
Luckily we were placed in a corner room on the 18th floor which allowed for stunning views of Diamond Head/The Zoo, and also the beach and ocean, but other reviews state this isn't always the case. Our original room was next door to this one which would have have great views of Diamond Head/The Zoo.

The location of the hotel is brilliant, The Zoo being directly over the road, Waikiki beach being a couple minutes walk away; And the hotel is ever so slightly out of the main area/strip of Honolulu which only takes a short walk; probably a 5/10 minute to get too.

As mentioned previously all the staff were polite and the staff at the front desk always acknowledged us and smiled whenever we were leaving or arriving at the hotel, on top of that the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient if we requested anything, and local information was given freely and very helpfully if needed, which made us feel like valued guests

I'd like to go back to Honolulu if given the chance and if I do I'd return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanimalXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we truly appreciate your comments. It was wonderful to hear that upon arrival after midnight, the staff were helpful, polite and friendly. We truly apologize for the insects and have informed our pest control company to address this issue for they are a concern in this tropical climate.

As you mentioned, many of our guest appreciate the stunning views of Diamond Head from the corner units, not to mention the brilliant location, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach and the main strip with shops and restaurants galore.

Again, thank you, for you are valued guest and if I may be of service during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Yes the Queen is a bit dated but I found her to be comfortable, clean and welcoming. Every member of staff that I interacted with were of the highest quality you could ask. We were greeted with a smile every time we passed the reception, requests made were attended to immediately and local information given freely when asked for recommendations. We had a room with a Diamond Head view and being opposite the zoo the monkeys were heard each morning calling for their breakfast. I found it ideally located at the end of the strip away from some of the noise that Waikiki is known for but still close enough within a 5 minute walk to the beach and shops. Our room was not large but 2 double beds and shower over a bath and balcony were all that we needed and honestly who goes to Waikiki to sit in their room. The pool area was great and happy hour every afternoon very welcome after a day shopping, swimming and sightseeing. If I ever get back there i would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmaggie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we appreciate your comment of great location and great price, that you found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and welcoming. What we are most proud of, is that every member of staff that you interacted with, were of the highest quality you could ask. That you were greeted with a smile and all request were attended to immediately.

As you mentioned and most guest agree that the location is ideal, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park, with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our experience at The Queen was wonderful- Staff are amazing- very friendly and efficient, thanks Shane . Location was fantastic- Zoo end of Waikiki Beach, looking over Diamond Head and beach , not into other hotels. Third time back, Love it.....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we appreciate your comment of location, Staff, could not fault. That your experience at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel was wonderful.

As many of our guest have stated, the location is fantastic, in the quiet end of Waikiki, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

What we enjoy most hearing is that the Staff are amazing - very friendly and efficient.

Again, Thank You for your comments and if I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location of the hotel is great. It is located right by the water and near "luxury row". If you have a car you can park in the zoo parking for $1/hr vs. the $25/day the hotel charges.

The rooms are not updated and quite old. Mattresses are uncomfortable.
The staff - 3 stars. Some don't even speak English that well.

Overall 3 stars because not a great atmosphere or amenities within the hotel inclusive of staff.

They didn't do much for us in service when birds nested in our room AC and then the new room would floor when showering.

Not great but you pay what you get for!

Room Tip: stay at least floor 10 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we truly appreciate you comments. As you mentioned the location is great, on the quiet end of Waikiki, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

We do apologize for the birds nesting in the room A/C and we should have offered you the option to move to another room. In regards to the Front Desk personnel not speaking English that well, she was an intern from Korea, learning how we service our guest. For your information, the entire Front Office Staff is comprised of English speaking individuals.

Again, please accept our most humble apology for not fulfilling your expectations and assure you that we will continue to improve our product and service to you, a valued Guest!

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,934 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,750 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
660 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £100 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing