We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hawaii 1950 style”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Grove Hotel
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Parramatta, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hawaii 1950 style”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Ohh it's terrible, lol going back in May. I don't want it to get too popular or it may change.
Affordable, friendly and so close to the beach and shopping. Not fancy but what you save you can spend on tours.the staff are great and the room ladies very friendly. Our room was so roomy no just having to sit on the bed, I feels like home and we are spending three weeks there this year, now who could afford to do that at other Hawaii hotels.

One last word Mr.Fong we love you. We love the entertainment on Monday night beautiful family hotel

Room Tip: We open the windows so the noise comes in, hah it's a holiday town it going to be noisy where ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    153
    41
    13
    14
See reviews for
75
122
66
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The good: Everything else. The people were extremely friendly. The sheets and towels were clean & crisp. The building has real character. It feels like it's a throw back to 60's or 70's Waikiki. The location is good -- not right on the beach, but a few short blocks away. The price is also great.

The bad: The hotel is old and generally run down. There is also some noise & seedy activity/crime from the nearby cross street at night.

All in all, I had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: There's a burger place called Teddy's Bigger Burgers nearby that is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

On my 5th visit to Waikiki, I opted for the Royal Grove. My Hawaiian friends suggested I stay there. I had an efficiency apartment on the first floor near the pool. Yes, the pool is small, but wonderful! The ocean is 2 blocks away. My apartment had 2 double beds, a full sized 'fridge, a microwave, full stove with oven and a nice lanai with lines to dry laundry. The staff was friendly and helpful. Excellent location, near grocery, sundries, banks, restaurants. I stayed for 14 nights and it cost $540!!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment or room with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kilikena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is the funky hotel that you would see in a movie thinking “wow, if only there was a place like that in real life”, well, it does exist. I have stayed a couple of times at this hotel and I have enjoyed every second of it. First of all, this is not a hotel – this is a very pleasant way of experience Hawaii in a way you will never come close to if staying at one of the other hotels on Waikiki. The staff is very relaxed and helpful, they are basically more like friends. The location is absolutely perfect if you want to explore Waikiki (300 m to the beach) and the surroundings. Just about everything is within walking distance (or a short cab ride). The standard of the rooms are ok and you will find all the necessary things you need for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Before buying any beach equipment check what is available for lending in the hotel reception. Our ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Omnidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
719 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel may not be for everyone, but it was perfect for me. It is not posh but it is warm and genuine and reminiscent of what I think Waikiki was 20-30 years ago before all the development. There is no breakfast or restaurant, there is a small pool, but what there is, however, is charm and a sense of belonging. There are people I met there that have been coming for over 35 years. There was a neighborhood man at the reception desk who had stopped by to chat with fresh cheese bread he had just made, and he offered me, a complete stranger, a piece of it. The room had a kitchen with microwave, sink, stove and refrigerator and the Food Pantry supermarket is just down Kuhio street about 3-4 blocks so you can save some money and cook in your room. The place is well-worn but clean and a block from Waikiki beach and the buses on Kuhio Street. If you are travelers on a budget, look no further for an affordable roof over your head in a central location. Mahalo to Royal Grove.

Room Tip: Ask for something on a higher floor with a kitchen (category 2 room) for $70 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flaneur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a hotel with alot of heart, lost in time....The location is ideal (2 blocks from the beach and close to all amenities). I stayed 2 months and felt very safe and secure here. The Monday jams were awesome! The pot luck holiday meals were ex! Previous guests have left air mattresses, floaties, swim goggles, wake boards, etc. and they are all available to borrow. The rooms facing the pool are less noisy than the ones facing the front of the building as the early morning traffic can be noisy. It is reasonably priced and you won't be spending much time in your hotel room as you will be out experiencing Waikiki Beach and it is Paradise!!!!!

Room Tip: Book a room facing the pool as they are quieter. Higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canadianchick003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We'll be back! It's quite dated, yes, but very well located with clean, spacious, well equipped rooms and friendly and obliging staff. There is great eating on the same block, buses to everywhere 100m away and its 200m to the beach. We loved Royal Grove.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bersond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#37 of 84 in Honolulu
764 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
1,766 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
1,500 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Property: Royal Grove Hotel
Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3297
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove
Royal Grove Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing