We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stay Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,493)
Filter reviews
5,493 results
Traveller rating
2,760
1,575
630
284
244
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,760
1,575
630
284
244
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingbeautiful hoteloldest hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikikiour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,947 - 2,952 of 5,493 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed in a small room in the Banyan wing which was advertised as mountain view but was of an adjacent tower up real close. The shutters were needed so we couldn't look into each others rooms. I'm sure there are better rooms. I waited an hour fora single suitcase to arrive at my room. So, that's the bad side.
The good side is excellent public spaces and ground floor beach and dining facilities. It is a place where you would not linger in the room. The location is Wikiki Central, so if that attracts you..go for it. t is expensive, but a good experience overall.

Room Tip: Try to afford a beach view and specifically make sure you don't end up facing the adjacent buildings.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Moana Surfrider is one of those places where you just melt into paradise and you don't quite realize what that thing is and it's... the feeling of being absolutely carefree.
We're here right now in an ocean-view suite (rm 561) in the "old" part of the hotel which is just gorgeous. Huge old-school counter-weighted windows allow for the ocean breeze to flow in, the plantation shutters and decor create ambiance without being garish and tropical-flower-land.

There is music all the time! From the live entertainment at lunch time and dinner in the Beach House to the music piped through the speakers all througout the resort, the soft Hawaiian-style tunes just add to the huge smile that you can't get rid of on your face.

Service is impeccable. As a frequent business and pleasure traveler, I've stayed at all kinds of places and there's really nothing lacking here. No one is intrusive, it's very, very comfortable and warm.

Highly recommend breakfast brunch at the Beach House. High end foods and ingredients, super fresh and healthy choices abound. Delicious and again - perfectly beautiful atmosphere under the giant banyan tree!!! It's well worth the price per person. If you have points, consider cashing some in for a free daily continental breakfast which will take 1/2 off each buffet breakfast cost.

Beach is private and beautiful. It could use a little sand added into the built-up portion but can't complain about how clean and convenient it is to have a private beach. Recommend not renting chairs from the hotel as it's a bit exorbitant for 1 or 2 people. If you're going to be here for a few days, go to the ABC store across the street for a couple of cheap beach chairs and umbrella if you really need them.

Can't wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: If you like a little character, request a room in the old part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Moana surfrider exceeded our expectations. The service and staff friendliness, helpfulness and enthusiasm is what makes this hotel superb. It is a beautiful hotel right on the beach and in the middle of the strip in Waikiki but I've stayed at beautiful hotels before, its the service that makes a difference for me!!!! And generally Hawaiians are a very friendly bunch!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellybean2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Aloha,
We’re so glad to hear we had exceeded your expectations. Many of our associates are pure examples of the Spirit of Aloha, as you have experienced. The Moana Surfrider associates are very friendly and willing to help our guests in any way possible. We look forward to your next return to the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We got an ocean front room and the view was amazing, but the view was something the hotel didn't have to create. The room itself was run down and way overpriced, so basically we paid for the view. The hotel was crowded, but nice. My favorite part was hanging out in the open patio area where the main bar was. Staff was not overly pleasant, and our toilet leaked all over the floor in the middle of the night...kind of sucked for a $400 room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoWe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was our third trip to the Moaner Surfrider and it will not be our last.It is a beautiful property which is maintained very well and the staff are friendly and always helpful.We flew in from Sydney and arrived at about 8-30am exhausted and tired and found our room was not ready for us.To our delight we were given another room for an hour or so to freshen up with a shower and change.That was fantasic , it really made a huge difference to how we managed to push on through the jet lag.
The hotel is directly on the most beautiful area of Waikiki beach with clear water.We decided to buy a half day use of a beach chair each and umbrella which was a very relaxing experience.The bar service waitress was fantasic, always coming over asking us if we need anything.We had dinner once at The Beach House and the food was one of the most delicious meals of the vacation.The rooms were clean and the beds are soft comfortable.
The only little problem we had was as SPG Gold members staying on the SPG 35 rate we were supposed to have been given a letter at check in which informed us of all our entitlements on this rate,these were to be discounts on both the Moaner Surfrider and the other two Starwood hotels nearby restaurants.Discounts on the day spa and many other discounts.By chance I found out about these discounts when I was talking to a front desk associate one morning about my check out.He was so appologetic and gave me a little raffle which won me a cash prize which was then taken off our bill.
I love this hotel," The First Lady of Waikiki" it's Heratage entrance really gives a feel of the island. Go, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Pay extra for at least a partial ocean view and a high floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Aloha,
So happy to hear about your relaxing experience! First off, thank you for your loyalty to our Starwood Preferred Group program. Isn’t it wonderful to relax on a beach chair while enjoying the wonderful views of Waikiki beach under the warmth of the Hawaiian sun? We hope your experience has inspired you to visit the Moana Surfrider for your next vacation.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews