We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“not worth it”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

rooms in the banyan wing effectively have no window since they are single pane and all noise from the street, including cars just passing by sound like they are right in your room. requesting a move, the front desk tried to upsell us. when we refused, moved into new wing, which was recently renovated although small. was awoken at 4:45 AM from construction in the room next door. hotel should never have put someone in this type of room. took several hours for them to move us, although it was back to banyan wing, but slightly away from street so noise was more tolerable. this place is not worth it for all the noise. maybe when all construction is done. hotel staff did not seem to care at all. not good westin service. the only employee who cared at all was a morning desk clerk who waived resort fee when we exchanged keys for our third room at this hotel. this was something that not even the managers were offering.

Room Tip: do not choose room in banyan wing and be sure to ask if there is construction near any room they try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carnifex1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your overall satisfaction with your room assignment at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We do appreciate your feedback, but are sorry to hear that your experience with us was less than perfect.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us as this allows us to deliver an exceptional stay on your next visit with us. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa commitment to excellent service. We would personally like to offer assistance in arranging your next stay. Please contact us directly at this email at any time, 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,557
    1,486
    585
    262
    234
See reviews for
1,446
2,262
201
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This had been our favorite place in Hawaii over the years. However we were disappointed when we stayed there in October 13. Its beautiful setting is its asset and liability, the latter being that there were weddings galore (the parties were mostly from Japan) and the lobby and facilities were overrun until near midnight. Our favorite activity was listening to the Hawaiian music at the patio bar area. However one would have to be there really early to even get a table. Just wonder if the management would consider reserving certain areas for the hotel guests. During our entire stay of 3 nights, we had to call for maid service each and every day since no one had bothered to clean our room even as late as 6 p.m. Breakfast at the patio area is always a wonderful experience. We also enjoy the beach and usually reserve a space fronting the beach , however there is a charge for this service. I would have given it a 6-star were it not for the crowding and lack of maid service.

Room Tip: Skip the top floor in the tower since the room fronting the street has only 3 little windows measuri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Aloha John,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your breakfast at the veranda and Waikiki Beach. In regards to our housekeeping department, we sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Our housekeepers are normally diligent with refreshing each of the guestrooms, so am surprised to hear that this was not the case. If you could kindly supply us with your name, dates of stay and your room number to 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com, we would like to address your concern directly. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure you have a perfect stay.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is the oldest luxury hotel in Waikiki and wonderfully situated on the Waikiki beach. The hotel has been carefully restored and is very well maintained for an older property. Having travelled to Hawaii for business and pleasure over decades, I have stayed in most of the Waikiki hotels, and this is my favorite (I am a fan of classic hotels and like to stay in the original building.) Sitting on the porch in a rocking chair and taking in the street activity, enjoying an outdoor table at the Beachhouse and the cool tropical breezes by the enormous banyan tree, or strolling the beach or nearby shops in this premier location provide a classic old Waikiki experience. We had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner and party experience at the Beachhouse at our latest stay. Note well that this is not the least expensive hotel on Waikiki Beach (but many Waikiki "beach hotels" are not actually on the beach but across a heavily trafficked street or down the block); that there are many rooms with compromised views as it is an older property developed over decades; that it may be impossible to exceed the Beachhouse tropical elegance but although the food is very good, there are better gourmet restaurants; and this is an urban tropical island experience -- there are a lot of folks sharing the beach front and pool area, but this is the reality of Honolulu.

Room Tip: If a full ocean view is critical, go for a high floor and avoid partial view rooms as you will gener...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoy historical hotels, we highly recommend attending one of our historical tours that are offered every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11am, if you have not already had a chance to do so. The history of the Moana Surfrider dates back all the way to 1901 when we were the first and only hotel built in Waikiki. The rich history of the Moana Hotel, the Hawaiian culture and Westin Brand has allowed the "First Lady of Waikiki" to become the iconic hotel that guests have come to love. We hope you will allow us to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider for another memorable stay.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Wonderful "old fashioned" hotel. Staff were friendly, good food (but pricey), and great rooms, comfy beds. It has a private deck on one of the upper floors that is great for watching sunsets.
Their pool is very small though, and lounge chairs are claimed/taken by 10am every day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your comments with us. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed the "old fashion" feeling of the "First Lady of Waikiki". The private deck you are referring to is located on the 6th floor of the Banyan Wing, it offers splendid views of Waikiki Beach. It's opened to all of our guests to use when there are no events so we highly recommend all of our guests to visit this "hidden gem" of the hotel when you have the opportunity to. We hope you will return to the Moana Surfrider for another vacation, until then, a hui hou!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We've been coming to the Moana Surfrider for many, many years now and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Honolulu. The first stay was just before our youngest daughter was born and she's now 22. Both our adult daughters still holiday with us and rate the Moana as their favourite hotel - as do we. Our last stay in December 2013 was as good as always. Our check in time was in the early hours of the morning and we were very tired. Josh on the desk was most helpful and bright and in a matter of only a few minutes we had our keys and were in our room. This time we were lucky to be upgraded so our room was larger than the one we had booked and it had a view of the beach - lovely to wake up to every morning. One of the best things about the hotel is the comfortable beds and pillows - we always sleep well here. We also love the ambience of the hotel even when it is busy - and it did get very busy as Christmas approached. The decor is beautiful and the public areas are always well maintained. One of my favourite places to relax with a good book is the verandah at the back of the hotel. My only complaint this time was that sometimes the activities taking place on the verandah meant that there was no room to just sit and chill. Regardless of this, once again we had a wonderful stay at the Moana and can't wait to get back there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony and ocean view are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha Pamela,
Mahalo for your loyal patronage of the Moana Surfrider over the years, we love welcoming back our return guests. We are happy to hear that Josh was able to assist you with your check-in and that you enjoyed our Westin Heavenly Beds. Also, we apologize that the Veranda was not available but we would highly recommend visiting the 6th Floor of the Banyan Wing which provides two reading rooms overlooking the ocean that is opened to our guests when there is no events. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the "First Lady of Waikiki" for another unforgettable stay.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had the opportunity of staying at hotel for 4 nights over Christmas in a partial ocean view, which was spacious even with 2 double beds and a rollaway plus a large balcony. The partial ocean view rooms look directly into the Outrigger Waikiki, which is like 25 meters away so be prepared that everyone can see you in on your balcony, plus partially into your room.

mypLondon’s review and summary of the hotel is spot on and worth a read. We were genuinely excited about staying here and despite feeling comfortable there is no soul to the hotel with service extremely flat, non-personable and certainly not polished.

We had booked the Christmas brunch at the Beachhouse and there was not an ounce of festive or Christmas spirit with no decorations, table setting or even a welcome of “Merry Christmas” on arrival at the reception counter. The food was cold, poorly replenished it just felt like any other day that was over-priced. It was such as shame as the beachhouse has a beautiful setting and a real sense of a beach resort.

You don’t need to stay at this hotel to experience the historical feel as all these areas are public spaces and are limited to the porte-a-cashier where sitting on the rocking chairs overlooking the hustle and bustle.

Honestly, if you are looking at this hotel and want to experience Waikiki, beachfront hotel with beach views from your balcony, option to have access to a good pool and facilities recommend you just look at the Sheraton Waikiki in a Oceanfront room for the same price and take the option of upgrading to Club and it will still be cheaper than a partial ocean view at Moana Surfrider.

If you are not too fussed on not having Beachfront then I would stay at the Modern Honolulu which is modern, hip atmosphere and without swarms of people. Get an ocean view or at least partial for the same price as Sheraton and much less than Moana Surfrider.

Moana Surfrider may be the First Lady of Waikiki but she sure isn’t First Class anymore.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OneAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is regrettable to hear of your concerns pertaining to service provided during your stay. We take pride in the training we provide to each of our associates as our main goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests. We do apologize that this was not the case during your visit. We value our guests and appreciate the honest feedback so we can improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa so you may experience the true meaning behind our credo "First Lady, First Class".

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Very comfie location in the middle of Waikiki but old room and so many people all the time.
Good to stay first time but room was old even though tower building.
And so many people all day n night.
Good to try hotel tour. Check with concierge but no need the reservation.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenient location of the Moana Surfrider. With popular shopping outlets, attractions, and the beach, guests are offered a an array of experiences all within walking distance.
Both our Diamond and Tower Wing guestrooms are newly renovated, so am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your accommodations. We do apologize and hope we can assist you with making your next reservation. Please allow us to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing