We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Currently staying at Moana Surfrider. It is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location on the beach.
We are staying in a king room overlooking the ocean. Room is lovely but bathroom in tiny you can hardly move. There is also no room to put anything which is annoying.
Bed and pillows are very comfortable.
Cocktails and drinks downstairs at the beach bar are great. Food is not the best. Haven't tried the verandah restaurant so can't comment.
Biggest issue with our stay was check in. We arrived late at night and were very tired after traveling. We were booked with a Starfriend rate through a friend of mine. This usually means better discounts off food at the hotel. The man at check in argued that I was not booked as a Starfriend and did nothing to assist. The next day I had to contact the Sheraton offices in Honolulu to clarify the matter which was annoying for me and the front desk could have offered to follow it up.
Only other problem was housekeeping. They had to be asked to replace used items. Not a big deal but if something like shampoo is empty they need to replace it.
All in all a good stay. The banyan tree outside in the courtyard is a must to have a sunset drink at.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chubbyhubby14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Westin Heavenly Bed and the amazing views of beautiful Waikiki Beach from your guestroom. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you faced upon check-in. As a Westin, we hold high standards for the customer service of our associates, and we apologize that this was not the case during your stay. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa so that you can experience the true meaning of our motto, “First Lady, First Class”. We would like to personally assist you in arranging your next stay. Please contact us directly at this email at any time, 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,201 - 2,207 of 5,228 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our first stay at the Moana, though we have been to Hawaii regularly for the past 30 years. The Westin offers wonderful beachside dining, a beautiful Veranda, a good downtown location and great service. it does not however provide much breakfast opportunities, the costs are high, even for renting an umbrella and chairs ($50.00 a day) and we found our spa experience to be disappointing. The beach club they offer for special hors deuvers was $80.00 per person per day, yikes! The need to order your car up 15-20 minutes before needing it was not the best experience either. However, the ambience, quality of service and it s regal accomodations were a major plus for anyone looking to rest and be pampered. In our 7 night stay I think we saw 8 Japanese weddings, it is a beautiful old traditional venue for that. The pool is small and outdated, there is no spa tub outside. It is a better place for a couple than for a family with children.

Room Tip: Do not take any rooms street side on the Kalakaua Side for the noises are loud and continue late int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 305jackanddebbie305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the historical features and ambiance of the Moana – we take great pleasure in maintaining the beauty of the “First Lady of Waikiki”. At the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we take pride in providing exceptional service and a rejuvenating experience for our guests. In addition to the Moana pool, guests may also utilize the sauna, steam room, and whirlpool within the Moana Lani Spa by purchasing a Day/Night Pass. We hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is my second stay at the Moana. It is undoubtedly the most beautiful beach front property in Waikiki. The service is also excellent. When you arrive, they present you with lays and you walk into the gorgeous front lobby area. Since I was there during Christmas and New Years 2013, there were lovely decorated christmas trees all over. They really put an effort in. The hotel was at capacity. The front desk needs to bring more staff to help. You can often find lines waiting to check-in or simply to ask questions. I was orginially provided a double room, which I requested. However, the room lacked the window seat and had a balcony instead. Well, there were 3 adults with me (all family) so I requested to switch rooms via calling the front desk. I was told that I couldn't switch rooms. However, i decided to ask again the same day but this time I walked downstairs and spoke to someone face to face. To my pleasure, they accomodated me and switched my room. Smile. For the next 19 days, I enjoyed walking to all the close restaurants and partaking in the first lady's tea at the Beachhouse restaurant. The burger in the Beachhouse is much better then the room service burger- fyi.

When you want to get a beach chair, you can reserve it one day in advance for $60.00 or same day for $50.00. This was nice to do on the busy days of Christmas and New Years. The beach service was wonderful. They have a waitress staff and provide you an umbrella and waters. I'm not a fan of their food at the beach. If you want a pool chair, you can get up early and get towels when the desk opens at 7am. You put your towel on your chair and come back after breakfast to layout. If you waited longer than 3 hours, they would move your stuff so others could use it.

The rooms are cleaned adequately. However, I stayed in the Banyon part of the hotel and it's LOUD. The rooms are modern but the walls are extremely thin. You will here street noise and courtyard noise depending on where your room is located. If you want quiet, I suggest staying in the Tower.

Otherwise, best vacation and hotel!!

Room Tip: Choose the Tower if you want quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atavistic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear you had decided to return to the Moana for your 2nd stay and that the Front Desk could assist you with your room accomodations. With reserved oceanfront seating and an umbrella, we are happy to hear you have found our Beach Chairs to be of value. Many of our guests enjoy being able to relax and rejuvenate on the sands of Waikiki Beach with all-day food & beverage services. We look forward to welcoming you back to the "First Lady of Waikiki" for your third visit soon.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed from Dec.15 -22, 2103. It was our 10th anniversary and we married at their hotel. This time, we brought our two daughters there and showed them where we married and all the places they seen on our pictures and DVD. Staff were all great, very helpful and friendly. this hotel is faced on the beach, so you don't have to across the street which is nice. This hotel is very traditional and old and expensive, too. You can see most of the guest are kind an upper class and there is Japanese Wedding every single day! Swimming pool is outdated. Very small and not much functional. It is a great hotel for a romantic gateway, but with small kids, not recommended.
we had a fantastic time in there, but next time, I will try another hotel.

Room Tip: Banyan side is older building. Rooms are smaller, some rooms doesn't have a balcony and a tub. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaymoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your review with us. We would like to extend our congratulations to you and your other half as you celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary! We are delighted to hear you could relive the moana memories you have created during your wedding with your children. We are disappointed to hear that you did not find the hotel of value for your children. We do offer a list of cultural activities ranging from flower lei making, hula lessons, ukulele lessons and more that your keiki may be interested and our Concierge Desk would be happy to assist in arranging any future activities for your next stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the "First Lady of Waikiki" on your next family trip to Waikiki.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

arrived 17-12-2013, stayed 6 nights, this is a very well maintained hotel situated on Waikiki beach the hotel provides a great breakfast, great bar ( under the banyan tree ) the service was second to none the staff are helpful and nothing was a problem they made our stay very enjoyable, we had a room in the tower with partial ocean views, ,we found the room to be excellent, the rooms were cleaned by 11 AM every day this hotel is fantastic in more ways than one you will not be disappointed during your stay,we will stay again on our next vist

Room Tip: ocean view or partial ocean view in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casinomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Moana Surfrider. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our dining venues and the service provided by our associates. Our associates are very friendly and willing to help our guests in any way possible. We are excited to hear you will be joining us again on your next trip to Hawaii. Please let us know if we could assist you with booking your reservation. A hui hou for now!

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

rooms in the banyan wing effectively have no window since they are single pane and all noise from the street, including cars just passing by sound like they are right in your room. requesting a move, the front desk tried to upsell us. when we refused, moved into new wing, which was recently renovated although small. was awoken at 4:45 AM from construction in the room next door. hotel should never have put someone in this type of room. took several hours for them to move us, although it was back to banyan wing, but slightly away from street so noise was more tolerable. this place is not worth it for all the noise. maybe when all construction is done. hotel staff did not seem to care at all. not good westin service. the only employee who cared at all was a morning desk clerk who waived resort fee when we exchanged keys for our third room at this hotel. this was something that not even the managers were offering.

Room Tip: do not choose room in banyan wing and be sure to ask if there is construction near any room they try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carnifex1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your overall satisfaction with your room assignment at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We do appreciate your feedback, but are sorry to hear that your experience with us was less than perfect.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us as this allows us to deliver an exceptional stay on your next visit with us. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa commitment to excellent service. We would personally like to offer assistance in arranging your next stay. Please contact us directly at this email at any time, 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This had been our favorite place in Hawaii over the years. However we were disappointed when we stayed there in October 13. Its beautiful setting is its asset and liability, the latter being that there were weddings galore (the parties were mostly from Japan) and the lobby and facilities were overrun until near midnight. Our favorite activity was listening to the Hawaiian music at the patio bar area. However one would have to be there really early to even get a table. Just wonder if the management would consider reserving certain areas for the hotel guests. During our entire stay of 3 nights, we had to call for maid service each and every day since no one had bothered to clean our room even as late as 6 p.m. Breakfast at the patio area is always a wonderful experience. We also enjoy the beach and usually reserve a space fronting the beach , however there is a charge for this service. I would have given it a 6-star were it not for the crowding and lack of maid service.

Room Tip: Skip the top floor in the tower since the room fronting the street has only 3 little windows measuri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Aloha John,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your breakfast at the veranda and Waikiki Beach. In regards to our housekeeping department, we sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Our housekeepers are normally diligent with refreshing each of the guestrooms, so am surprised to hear that this was not the case. If you could kindly supply us with your name, dates of stay and your room number to 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com, we would like to address your concern directly. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure you have a perfect stay.
Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £244 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing