We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider in the Ocean tower. Excellent views from the lanai with the most relaxing sounds of waves in the morning.

A very clean hotel with plenty of space. Parking across the street at the Sheraton wasn't so bad.

We loved to sit out in the back on the sun chairs in the evening and listen to the entertainment from the Banyon tree lounge while enjoying the ocean rhythms. \

Definitely will be going back.

P.S. Next door is Duke's.....and they have an awesome breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdn_daddy_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and are already looking forward to returning. Lounging on the beach chairs as the sun sets on beautiful Waikiki Beach is a highlight for many of our guests. On your next visit, we highly recommend the breakfast buffet at the Veranda for an energizing start to your day. We appreciate your review and await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,305 - 2,311 of 5,379 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is definitely the most majestic and best located in Waikiki. We experienced great service. Rooms were clean and had everything you needed. Restaurant, pool and beach are great. It's probably overpriced but so is everything in Waikiki. Free wifi in rooms. No breakfast provided. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trumble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha,
Mahalo for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. At the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we take pride in exceeding guest expectations with outstanding service and aloha. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay at the “First Lady of Waikiki”.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I loved this gorgeous historic hotel but it's way overpriced and the service is lacking. I feel you could enjoy this historic building without booking a room. The historical tour held there is free even for non guests, I would recommend it.
We had a really hard time checking in. We came back three times during the day and our room still wasn't available and then when they finally did check us in they told us that they had sold our room and instead of the king size bed that we booked, we were now stuck with doubles.
As a result of the check in delay I barely had enough time to get ready for the wedding we were attending there. It was a stressful experience and we barely got to enjoy our room.
My thoughts: check out the tour and go for lunch but there is not much added value by booking a room

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaylapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you faced upon check-in and regret that you were not able to enjoy your room accommodations. On a brighter note, we agree with you and would highly recommend taking our popular historical tour which starts at 11am every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. We have also recently launched a new self-guided tour for those who are not able to attend the guided tour. We would like to personally address the concerns mentioned about your booking to ensure a more pleasant experience on your next visit. Please contact us directly at this email at any time, 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence and welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel is lovely, the feeling is reminiscent of old days of royalty. The rooms are tiny, but the location and views make up for that and then some. We have returned to that hotel four times! A perfect "couples retreat" hotel. Service was great, staff was full of aloha. WE will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsNWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha,
Mahalo for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Moana’s unique Waikiki location and historical ambiance. It is also nice to hear of the wonderful service you received from our staff members – we take great pleasure in sharing the aloha spirit with our guests. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had read the reviews, so expected our room to be small (it was) but the location was perfect. We sat on the big rocking chairs to watch the street party and then retreated through the hotel to walk the beach. It was well worth the price as we also found our room to be clean, the bed comfy, and a complimentary glass of wine in the wine bar a nice touch. Tip: we stayed in the old part on an end so we didn't have the noise of the street or pay for a full ocean view but we had a more than peak a boo view of the beach and slept to the sound of the waves each night.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ggadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your comments. It is so nice to hear that you were pleased with your room accommodations and the Moana’s unique location. Many of our guests enjoy the relaxing atmosphere here, whether it be sitting on the rocking chairs fronting the porte cochere or lounging on a beach chair to watch the sunset on beautiful Waikiki Beach. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have been to Honolulu numerous times. First time at Moana. I debated the size of the rooms, but ended up booking the Diamond Wing Ocean Front Rooms. Not huge but more than big enough. The rooms are recently renovated and well done.

The hotel itself is beautiful. I like it more than the Royal Hawaiian, the Kahala, maybe even the Halekalani. It was just the right size. The staff at check-in were great. I loved the amount of entertainment they had. Piano Players were great, and the live music at the beach bar area was very nice. Now, about the Beach Bar food. Average would be an overstatement. The food is poor. The beach bar at the Royal Hawaiian is similar. Why do they need to have such bad food here.

While I did not like that charges for umbrellas were now the norm, in retrospect, I like it. It made it more fair, rather than people just "saving areas" and never using them. If you pay, you likely show up.

Did not do the other restaurants at the hotel, so can't comment there. Too many great places to go outside hotel (Alan Wong's still one of my favorite places in the world. Went to the original Side Street Inn after recommendation . Totally Hawaiian, totally delicious, and quite a value. And a fraction of the price of Alan Wong's).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bayareasportguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your room accommodations and had a chance to enjoy the local entertainment at the Beach Bar. We are disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations in regards to the quality of the food at the Beach Bar. Your feedback is appreciated as it allows us to improve our menu offerings. We also recommend dining at our signature restaurants, The Veranda and beachhouse at the moana. The newly added, Surfrider Café, also provides on-the-go meals to supercharge your day. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next visit to Honolulu.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week here in the older section, what a lovely building and superb location! The room was a bit small but the bed was great, and the staff were fantastic. We felt well cared for and met some great people while we were there. The best coffee is just out the front. The day spa was amazing and overall we can't wait to return. Not going to bother looking elsewhere:-)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ajsorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with us. We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and are already looking forward to returning. At the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we take pride in providing exceptional service and a rejuvenating experience for our guests. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Moana Lani Spa. We appreciate your review and await your next arrival to the “First Lady of Waikiki”.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,219 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £241 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing